We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South over New Year. The hotel doesn't scrimp anywhere in quality and the level of customer service exceeded our expectations.

To begin with the hotel is easily accessible to the city centre and the airport. We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am, therefore decided to go to Grand Centraal Station, leave our luggage in the lockers and explore the city before checking in at the hotel. After visiting Anne Frank's House, Dam Square and the Bloemenmarkt we headed to the hotel.

The 51 metro goes direct from Grand Centraal to Zuid (South) where the hotel. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the station and can be seen as soon as you exit it.

Check in was swift and pleasant. One of the managers was at reception greeting a large group of visitors. We are a member of the Priority Club which gave us perks like free WiFi in our room, free late check out (up to 2pm) and a morning paper delivered to your room.

We stayed in 1013, which is on the tenth floor. The room was pristine, with robe and slippers, toiletries and English television was on. There's even little touches like a pillow spray to help you spray and a temple balm to help you unwind. The room was a comfortable temperature, tastefully decorated (with a Manhattan vibe) and floor to ceiling windows.

When heading out, you can also get the tram or bus into the city centre. Again this is only a 15 minute journey and located at the opposite side of the rail station. We headed to Museumplein for the New Year party and had a great time - the Dutch sure know how to party!!!

Would definitely stay in this hotel again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South hotel and for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor.

It was very motivating for the entire team to read your feedback about your positive experience in our hotel. Compliments like these will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests like you. Especially while being a newly opened hotel in a highly competitive market, we are very pleased to have met your expectations.

It was great to read that you were able to experience the ease of travelling by public transport between the hotel and the centre of Amsterdam. This shows that, despite our location in the southern business district of Amsterdam, we are indeed a good location for guests on leisure stay.

We are honoured to note that you are a member of our Priority Club Rewards. Being a Priority Club Rewards member you earn points or miles every time you stay at any of our brands, in over 4500 locations worldwide and can easily redeem them for great rewards. Therefore it is wonderful to read that you have experienced some of those benefits.

Crowne Plaza has worked with sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr. Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy on getting the best night’s sleep. We are happy that you were able to enjoy this and the other features of the room.

Thank you again for expressing your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    168
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
174
26
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Became my second home there in amsterdam, a safe relaible place! So close to everything through the substation a few meters away, pretty perfect, been all over amsterdam and I wish I would return:-) Zuid station

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

It was very motivating to read that you considered the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South a safe place that felt like a second home. As a hotel ideally should feel like your home away from home, we aim to create that feeling and experience. Having succeeded in that is a great compliment and will stimulate us even more to continue to improve our product, service and hospitality.

We absolutely hope to have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice during your next stay in Amsterdam. Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any information or assistance in the meanwhile.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The only problem is that is kind of far away from the city.The staff was kind and helpfull though.I wouldn t reccomend it as a first choice because of the placement

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

It was unfortunate to read that the location of the hotel was not convenient for you. We are aware of the fact that, due to our location in the business district in the south of Amsterdam, we probably are not the first choice for guests visiting Amsterdam for leisure purposes. However the public transport options at the Amsterdam Zuid station, do give you the option to be in the city centre within 20 minutes and on Schiphol Airport in less than 10 minutes.

Still I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. It was very nice to read that you considered our staff to be helpful so we do hope to have the pleasure of receiving you as our guest again in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just came back from a four night stay and the hotel is lovely and the staff are more then willing to help on places to go and cheaper ways to get out and about..The hotel was about a 15 minute tram ride (tram 5) to the square 7 euros for a 24 hour ticket the tram stop is just a five minute walk from hotel also there is a little supermarket petrol station and train station with in this five minute walk tip if your thinking of staying here and dont have the 40 euros to pay for a taxi to and from airport get the train 3 euro and drops you in the airport..i dont have anything bad to say apart from all the white bits from the towels so take a lint roller also no information in rooms about local things to do room service menu wasnt great to me room service is like pizzas and chicken burger and chips fudge cake ice cream. the mini bar in the room has room for your own bits like milk juice etc.all in all we had a great time dont be put off by the 15minute distance to the square plenty of trams and the peace and quite might be a blessing after a night in dam square.... the place where no one judges you
Be back soon M

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are delighted to read that you had a good stay at our hotel. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments with the entire team.

It was great to read that our location and the facilities in the surrounding area were satisfactorily for you. As you mentioned, our quiet location outside the city centre in combination with the many public transport options at the Amsterdam Zuid station, are definitely a reason to choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for a business or leisure stay in Amsterdam.

In addition I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the quality of our towels and the lack of in-room information about the area. As we are a recently opened hotel, we appreciate the feedback of valued guests like you, in order to improve and maintain the level of our product and service.

Your feedback regarding the room service menu has been forwarded to the F&B Manager, who will be more than happy to review the menu and look for any adjustments or additions in order to make the menu appealing for all guests.
Again thank you very much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward to having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I found this hotel very quiet and comfortable with good food and friendly staff. i sincerely hope they can contain this level of service as the hotel matures. On bad point is the car parking charges 41 Euros to park overnight is extortionate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South; it will help us to further meet and exceed our customer’s needs.

It was very motivating for us to read that you are so positive about the comfort, food and staff of the hotel. As we are passionate about delivering high service and hospitality we will definitely do whatever possible to maintain this in the future.

We are however concerned to read about your comment with regards to the parking charges. Indeed it is totally understandable that you consider these charges too high. As Amsterdam is one of the busiest cities of the Netherlands, the parking pressure is very high. In order to keep the city reachable and stimulate the use of public transport, the local authorities keep the parking fees very high.

Should you prefer to come to Amsterdam by car it is an option to park at one of the Park & Ride areas and travel from there to the hotel by public transport. For more information please refer to http://www.amsterdam.info/parking/park-ride/

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a new hotel close to the Zuid station. The location is very good for a business traveller but wouldn't be a first choice for a holiday visit as there are better options near Amsterdam central. There is very little to do near here except work in the offices near by or use the train station to travel further in to the city.

The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms were standard Crown Plaza class (which is very high compared to most hotels). The bed was comfortable and the staff were very polite.

The downside was that there were a few minor problems. The bathtub wasn't clean when I checked in, the TV wasn't working and they billed my credit card twice after I checked out. I did fill out their survey and the hotel was quick to apologise for the mistake.

The other problem I see with this hotel is that they don't offer long term rates for frequent business travellers and there are many who come from all over to work in the nearby world trade center. As a result, I prefer other hotels in the area now.

If they fix the minor issues and be more price competitive then this hotel would deserve a higher rating. Its certainly an excellent hotel in most respects but as the title says - it could be better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

It was very motivating to read that you enjoyed and recognised the Crowne Plaza standards of the rooms and that you considered our staff polite. On the other hand you had some negative experiences for which I would like to offer you my sincere apologies.

The cleanliness of the room is a crucial point for each traveller so your remark about the bathtub has been forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager in order to prevent this from happening again. Also your feedback regarding the double charging of your credit card is taken very serious and will be brought under the attention of the Reception staff. Please be assured that we are always aiming to satisfy and impress our guests and that this is certainly not representative of the usual service excellence here at the hotel.

With regards to the not functioning television, I would like to inform you that the telephones in the guestrooms have a Manager on Duty- and an Instant Service button to help you with whatever needed. If you will return to our hotel, which I do hope, you can report any malfunctions or requests through these buttons so we can be of service to help you immediately.

Our location within the business district is indeed perfect for business guests. Even though we probably are not the first choice for leisure guests, there are several public transport connections that bring you in downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

Finally I would like to inform you that the hotel does offer long term rates; please contact our sales department on amspc.sales@ihg.com for more details and information.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel has recently opened. Located in the south, the business center of Amsterdam. Easily reachable by car and public transport. The rooms are very nice. Excellent sleeping quality,large bathroom. Some things were missing but they are working on it. A guest directory, writing paper and a pen was missing.
The service in the bar is great. Nice staff with a good knowledge of the hotel, area and food & beverages for sale at the bar. Also the Manager on Duty was very kind.
Breakfast staff is very friendly. Eggs were made fresh by the kitchen staff upon request. Truly great.
Service at the front desk needs improvement. Not well known in the area. We were going to a restaurant close by but they didn't know the location. The Manager on Duty helped us out. The strange thing was when I returned home and I noticed I forgot some medicine. As I needed the box I called the hotel and found out they located the box. When I requested it to be sent they weren't ready for it as there was no procedure for it yet and they didn't have any boxes to sent it in. The next day I travelled by car to pick it up. So this part of the hotel service needs definitely improvement.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSPC, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. All feedback that we receive is taken very serious and immediately discussed within our teams.

I would like to apologize sincerely for the fact that our service standards were not up to your expectations. As a recently opened hotel we still suffer from start- up inconsistency and some of our procedures and standards are not yet at the level where they should be. But thanks to the highly appreciated and constructive feedback of valued guests like you, we are working hard to improve this.

Your kind words with regards to the staff members and service in the various departments were very motivating to read and have been shared within the hotel.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future and to prove to you that we can provide true hospitality and great service.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.