We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique apartment in the Jordaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique apartment in the Jordaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Greet was very helpful when we arrived. We came a bit earlier. The flat is very well located. Rich Breakfast ist provided, as well as wine, fresh fruit, makes you feel welcome at once. We liked especially the bench in front of the house. The beds are very good. The interior is very tasteful and stylish. Greet gave us valuable information about the surrounding area, the galleries, Westerpark, a special Museum exhibition, so our short trip to Amsterdam was really interesting, also for our teenage daughters. Greet is an inspiring, lively person and we would definitely recommend her flat in the Jordaan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) had a great stay at Amphora for a few days in July. Great location and the weather was fantastic as well. Greet and Niels made us feel home and we felt spoiled with all the little Dutch treats they had provided. Lovely and clean place, also the communication was great. I Highly recommend this B&B, hopefully we are able to come back soon again. Dank jullie wel :-)

Fam Bult, New York, USA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Words hardly capture the gorgeous and well appointed studio apartment that is Amphora B&B.

Well located on a canal in the appealing and very walkable Jordaan district, close to everything interesting, the studio is completely equipped, down to the espresso maker, Nutella, fresh bread, fruit and wine, cable, fabulous WiFi. Comfy duvet, pillows, the works!

The host could not be more helpful and welcoming, from the first communication recommending advance tickets (to avoid a five hour wait at Anne Frank house-- walked right in).

But more remarkably, since Greet is an artist, you are surrounded by great design and gorgeous art-- mosaics surround you in the bath and kitchen. The photos do not do them justice.

I was here solo but a family would be comfortable with the sofa bed for extra space, and certainly a couple would fine it ample.

Highest recommendation!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We loved Amphora for our 3 night stay in July! I think I would have booked it just for the fantastic mosaics in the bathroom and kitchen, but the location was perfect and we walked everywhere. Just 7 min to the Anne Frank House and about 25 to the Rijks Museum. Thanks Greet for the tip to buy Anne Frank House tours at least 3 weeks in advance online - avoided a 3 hour wait in line. Also for the tour of your studio/gallery. We loved the recommended restaurant "Foodism", just a couple blocks away. All booked the first night we tried, so reserved for the next night. Greet also arranged a taxi pickup to the airport and found a coupon that made it a great deal!

There were 3 of us (one 13 year old boy) and we had plenty of room. My only suggestion would be a shower curtain or door so water didn't get all over the floor by the bathroom sink. And maybe a floor fan, as there is no AC and it was pretty warm at night when we were there. The small fans did a good job though and we all slept great. It is quiet at night there, which is important to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed, they go over and above to make you feel welcome.
Although its in the city you don't hear any of the outside noise inside the unit.
The coffee they provide was fantastic, the only good coffee we had in Europe.
I would love to stay here again and definitely recommend Amphora.

Thank you Greet and Neils

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Highly recommend Amphora B&B for its:
> Location in the Jordaan district -- cafes, shopping, Saturday market, Anne Frank House.
> Close to tram stop for quick transit to museum district and easy walk to major shopping area.
> Nice accommodations -- quiet studio apt. on a canal with queen bed, kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi.
> Charming, warm and attentive host Greet -- she is delightful, informed, and dedicated to her guests' happiness. Thank you, Greet, we hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and everything was perfect. Family of four with 2 teenagers. The apartment was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my Son and I are both 6 feet tall and slept comfortably on the pullout couch. Greet spent time with us to make sure all of our questions were answered including how to get to 2 windmills, 1 which is a 5 minute walk that we would have never have found on our own. We visited most of the city but spent the most time in Jordaan, which is where the apartment is and which is close to all the good shops, cafés, restaurants and where our favorite Pizza (La Perla) and ice cream places (across the street) were. We were so glad that Greet recommended getting Anne Frank tickets in advance, which we ordered months ahead when we booked the apartment, as we were able to walk right in and the line for people without advance tickets was always a mile long at all hours of the day and night when we walked past. Coffee was amazing and they stoked the fridge with juice, milk, cheese and ham and gave us baked goods and eggs too. This is not a cooked breakfast B&B which was just fine with us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam.Amphora Bed and Breakfast is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous nine streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.