We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location & Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Highly recommend Amphora B&B for its:
> Location in the Jordaan district -- cafes, shopping, Saturday market, Anne Frank House.
> Close to tram stop for quick transit to museum district and easy walk to major shopping area.
> Nice accommodations -- quiet studio apt. on a canal with queen bed, kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi.
> Charming, warm and attentive host Greet -- she is delightful, informed, and dedicated to her guests' happiness. Thank you, Greet, we hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and everything was perfect. Family of four with 2 teenagers. The apartment was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my Son and I are both 6 feet tall and slept comfortably on the pullout couch. Greet spent time with us to make sure all of our questions were answered including how to get to 2 windmills, 1 which is a 5 minute walk that we would have never have found on our own. We visited most of the city but spent the most time in Jordaan, which is where the apartment is and which is close to all the good shops, cafés, restaurants and where our favorite Pizza (La Perla) and ice cream places (across the street) were. We were so glad that Greet recommended getting Anne Frank tickets in advance, which we ordered months ahead when we booked the apartment, as we were able to walk right in and the line for people without advance tickets was always a mile long at all hours of the day and night when we walked past. Coffee was amazing and they stoked the fridge with juice, milk, cheese and ham and gave us baked goods and eggs too. This is not a cooked breakfast B&B which was just fine with us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainkingcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed there for one week. It was just like home away from home. Thank's to Greet and Niels we found everything and even more than we expected. They even had toys for 8 months baby and many different games for our 8 years old daughter, chair and bed for baby. We could cook meal, rest and play. Location is very good, near the center.
We had never felt so good away from home!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ievarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Amphora Bed and Breakfast in the Jordaan area of Amsterdam. We highly recommend this lovely ground floor studio apartment and the even lovelier hosts, Greet and Niels. They anticipate every little thing a guest might need or want, from a bottle of wine, snacks, and stroopwaffels to maps, guidebooks, and clear directions for getting around town. The refrigerator and breadbox were kept well stocked with yogurt, eggs, milk, meat, cheese, cold cereal, and a delicious assortment of breads and pastries. The coffeemaker made great coffee each morning and there were more than enough coffee pods (and teabags if you are so inclined) and fixings supplied. The bed was quite comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Greet made recommendations for nearby restaurants (Try Moeder's for authentic Dutch food. If you bring a photo of your own mom they will put it on the wall. We ate delicious apple pie at Winkel's and bought fresh stroopwaffels at the Lindengracht Market on Saturday.) While the apartment is within walking distance of just about everything you will want to see in Amsterdam, we found using the nearby tram to be quite easy and it saved time (and our feet) so we could do more in the time we had for sightseeing. We loved everything about our stay here at the Amphora!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Not only the appartment itself but the position of canal house is impressive. We have spent 7 days in Amsterdam and we were more and more appreciating the Jordan neighbourhood where house is located. Majority of monuments are in walking distance but you can also rent a bike from Niels&Greet to fulfill the experience of Amsterdam, as the "city of bikes". We liked the coffee from the coffee machine. And tips from Niels (what else to see, how to reach, where to eat) are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Primoz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We loved this apartment in the heart of Amsterdam. It was close to everything we wanted to do, was very well equipped, and the 'bread basket' that was left each morning always had a pleasant surprise in it. In our case it was donuts!

Greet and Niels were very good hosts and helped to make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam. Amphora Apartments is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous Nine Streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing