We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best plasce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free wine and Apple Pie
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best plasce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed there for one week. It was just like home away from home. Thank's to Greet and Niels we found everything and even more than we expected. They even had toys for 8 months baby and many different games for our 8 years old daughter, chair and bed for baby. We could cook meal, rest and play. Location is very good, near the center.
We had never felt so good away from home!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Amphora Bed and Breakfast in the Jordaan area of Amsterdam. We highly recommend this lovely ground floor studio apartment and the even lovelier hosts, Greet and Niels. They anticipate every little thing a guest might need or want, from a bottle of wine, snacks, and stroopwaffels to maps, guidebooks, and clear directions for getting around town. The refrigerator and breadbox were kept well stocked with yogurt, eggs, milk, meat, cheese, cold cereal, and a delicious assortment of breads and pastries. The coffeemaker made great coffee each morning and there were more than enough coffee pods (and teabags if you are so inclined) and fixings supplied. The bed was quite comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Greet made recommendations for nearby restaurants (Try Moeder's for authentic Dutch food. If you bring a photo of your own mom they will put it on the wall. We ate delicious apple pie at Winkel's and bought fresh stroopwaffels at the Lindengracht Market on Saturday.) While the apartment is within walking distance of just about everything you will want to see in Amsterdam, we found using the nearby tram to be quite easy and it saved time (and our feet) so we could do more in the time we had for sightseeing. We loved everything about our stay here at the Amphora!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Not only the appartment itself but the position of canal house is impressive. We have spent 7 days in Amsterdam and we were more and more appreciating the Jordan neighbourhood where house is located. Majority of monuments are in walking distance but you can also rent a bike from Niels&Greet to fulfill the experience of Amsterdam, as the "city of bikes". We liked the coffee from the coffee machine. And tips from Niels (what else to see, how to reach, where to eat) are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We loved this apartment in the heart of Amsterdam. It was close to everything we wanted to do, was very well equipped, and the 'bread basket' that was left each morning always had a pleasant surprise in it. In our case it was donuts!

Greet and Niels were very good hosts and helped to make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed @ Amphora for 3 nights (April 14th)
Great communications from Greet & Niels who e mailed with key code for door.

Walked in after a long journey to find nibbles and bottle of wine left out, both were very welcome. Fridge was stocked with ham,cheese,milk,butter and jam. Fab coffee maker,kettle and lots of different flavour tea bags. Nice loaf of bread and Danish pastries. Two canisters of cereal and even a drawer full of noodles and soup sachets. All supplies were most inviting and saved a lot of time and money ,especially in the morning as could have a nice breakfast before going out for the day

Apartment was a great size with a double bed and pull down sofa bed. Both were amazingly comfy. Bathroom was great,nice shower with some complimentary toiletries. Also a mosaic filed wall which was amazing and done by the owners. Separate toilet next to bathroom.
Switch on wall to control the heating,worked well and was boiling hot when turned on, as it was was quite cold when we visited.
There was a small wardrobe for clothes,TV and plenty of games in the drawer if you had children. Lots of leaflets also some with maps that were handy. There was a cute bench outside where you could sit in the morning and watch people going to work and the canal was opposite.

Apartment is in the Jordaan area just down the street 5 min walk from Anne franks house. About a 20 minute walk to Dam square. We didn't use the tram as we walked everywhere. May be a little bit out of the way for some people but very quiet and nice to stay away from the busy areas.

Best of all was the owners Greet & Niels. They made sure everything was ok when we arrived and knocked during our stay to check on things. They were extremely friendly and always on hand to recommend restaurants etc. On our final morning Greet arrived to see us off and even brought a pastry fresh from the oven for our journey home which we ate on the train. Also gave us a little souvenir of a mosaic that Greet makes in her gallery. Thanks Greet.

Would not hesitate to visit again if in Amsterdam. All in all a great stay. Apartment spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Just one minor point - the towels in the bathroom were not replaced. But I think if we had asked it would not have been a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just had the pleasure of staying at Amphora for 5 nights. What a lovely way to experience Amsterdam. The apartment was gorgeous and the attention to detail was incredible. Everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. Greet is such a wonderful host, and very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Amphora to anyone wanting a home away from home experience in Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam.Amphora Bed and Breakfast is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous nine streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list