We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free wine and Apple Pie
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed @ Amphora for 3 nights (April 14th)
Great communications from Greet & Niels who e mailed with key code for door.

Walked in after a long journey to find nibbles and bottle of wine left out, both were very welcome. Fridge was stocked with ham,cheese,milk,butter and jam. Fab coffee maker,kettle and lots of different flavour tea bags. Nice loaf of bread and Danish pastries. Two canisters of cereal and even a drawer full of noodles and soup sachets. All supplies were most inviting and saved a lot of time and money ,especially in the morning as could have a nice breakfast before going out for the day

Apartment was a great size with a double bed and pull down sofa bed. Both were amazingly comfy. Bathroom was great,nice shower with some complimentary toiletries. Also a mosaic filed wall which was amazing and done by the owners. Separate toilet next to bathroom.
Switch on wall to control the heating,worked well and was boiling hot when turned on, as it was was quite cold when we visited.
There was a small wardrobe for clothes,TV and plenty of games in the drawer if you had children. Lots of leaflets also some with maps that were handy. There was a cute bench outside where you could sit in the morning and watch people going to work and the canal was opposite.

Apartment is in the Jordaan area just down the street 5 min walk from Anne franks house. About a 20 minute walk to Dam square. We didn't use the tram as we walked everywhere. May be a little bit out of the way for some people but very quiet and nice to stay away from the busy areas.

Best of all was the owners Greet & Niels. They made sure everything was ok when we arrived and knocked during our stay to check on things. They were extremely friendly and always on hand to recommend restaurants etc. On our final morning Greet arrived to see us off and even brought a pastry fresh from the oven for our journey home which we ate on the train. Also gave us a little souvenir of a mosaic that Greet makes in her gallery. Thanks Greet.

Would not hesitate to visit again if in Amsterdam. All in all a great stay. Apartment spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Just one minor point - the towels in the bathroom were not replaced. But I think if we had asked it would not have been a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just had the pleasure of staying at Amphora for 5 nights. What a lovely way to experience Amsterdam. The apartment was gorgeous and the attention to detail was incredible. Everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. Greet is such a wonderful host, and very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Amphora to anyone wanting a home away from home experience in Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holzgerlingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Amphora Bed and Breakfast over Valentine's Day weekend (February 2014). Our experience was outstanding! Even before we arrived, the communication with Greet and Niels was outstanding. Things only got better upon our arrival as their attention to detail was spot on. The bed and breakfast is really amazing inside and out. The mosaics in the bathroom and shower are beautiful! The kitchen was well supplied, and the bed was superb!

Location, location, location...I felt the bed and breakfast was in a wonderful area of Amsterdam. It's near the Anne Frank House, which is a must see. More importantly though, my wife and I walked all over Amsterdam during our stay and never felt things were too far.

Greet was awesome! She spent time just chatting with us. After talking for some time she invited my wife and I to her art studio and plotted some highlights along the route for us to venture to (Another art studio, the best apple pie in Amsterdam, etc). She really is a wonderful person to know!!!

I will definitely stay at the Amphora Bed and Breakfast again. I highly recommend anyone heading to Amsterdam to stay here if you want a truly outstanding experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in february and it was wonderful right from the start. Greet met us early because we needed to store our baggage prior to official check-in. She gave amazing advice on where to go to get food and entertainment. The apartment was very comfortable and felt just like our home. The location is perfect for wondering all around Amsterdam. We had a blast and can't want to go back to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow! The attention to detail in every aspect is superb. Good quality all around us, and spoilt with wonderful foodstuffs! Greet was generous with her personal time too, we had places suggested to us to visit that we would not have considered. And what fun we had in the bikes we rented from her!! A must! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Greet and Niels. The bed and breakfast is amazing and we really felt at home.
The kitchen had everything we needed, including coffee, tea, bread and nutella!
The bed was amazingly comfortable, we slept like logs! The art in the bathroom was also incredible, everything done by Greet, and we couldn't have been happier.
Greet and Niels are the sweetest people ever, they helped us in everything we needed!
We will definitely stay at Amphora again when we go back to Amsterdam!

PORTUGUÊS
Nós tivemos uma estadia incrível com a Greet e o Niels! O bed and breakfast é incrível, e nós realmente nos sentimos em casa!
A cozinha tinha tudo que precisávamos, incluindo café, chá, pão e nutella!
A cama é extremamente confortável, a gente dormiu como pedra! O banheiro é lindo, todo feito em mosaico pela própria Greet, e não podíamos estar mais felizes.
A Greet e o Niels são as pessoas mais legais do mundo, eles nos ajudaram em tudo que precisamos.
Quando voltarmos para Amsterdam, definitivamente vamos ficar lá de novo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband, 17 yo daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the apartment to be tastefully decorated and well thought out. Neils and Greet offer that something extra by stocking you with ample provisions (breakfast and nibbles), welcome wine and good toiletries. The apartment is well equipped in all areas with plenty of space. The only criticism was the pull out sofa bed for our daughter was not that comfortable - not that she complained but if you were an adult, it could be tough on your back. Hosts Neils & Greet were friendly and helpful offering advice on restaurants and assistance to book cabs etc. The location of the apartment was fantastic - on a canal, walking distance to restaurants, many attractions and to tram stops. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique, City...
Show More
The Toren
The Toren
#3 of 343 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
Vondelpark
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Condominium, In...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Furnished Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam.Amphora Bed and Breakfast is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous nine streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list