We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow! The attention to detail in every aspect is superb. Good quality all around us, and spoilt with wonderful foodstuffs! Greet was generous with her personal time too, we had places suggested to us to visit that we would not have considered. And what fun we had in the bikes we rented from her!! A must! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
44
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Greet and Niels. The bed and breakfast is amazing and we really felt at home.
The kitchen had everything we needed, including coffee, tea, bread and nutella!
The bed was amazingly comfortable, we slept like logs! The art in the bathroom was also incredible, everything done by Greet, and we couldn't have been happier.
Greet and Niels are the sweetest people ever, they helped us in everything we needed!
We will definitely stay at Amphora again when we go back to Amsterdam!

PORTUGUÊS
Nós tivemos uma estadia incrível com a Greet e o Niels! O bed and breakfast é incrível, e nós realmente nos sentimos em casa!
A cozinha tinha tudo que precisávamos, incluindo café, chá, pão e nutella!
A cama é extremamente confortável, a gente dormiu como pedra! O banheiro é lindo, todo feito em mosaico pela própria Greet, e não podíamos estar mais felizes.
A Greet e o Niels são as pessoas mais legais do mundo, eles nos ajudaram em tudo que precisamos.
Quando voltarmos para Amsterdam, definitivamente vamos ficar lá de novo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband, 17 yo daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the apartment to be tastefully decorated and well thought out. Neils and Greet offer that something extra by stocking you with ample provisions (breakfast and nibbles), welcome wine and good toiletries. The apartment is well equipped in all areas with plenty of space. The only criticism was the pull out sofa bed for our daughter was not that comfortable - not that she complained but if you were an adult, it could be tough on your back. Hosts Neils & Greet were friendly and helpful offering advice on restaurants and assistance to book cabs etc. The location of the apartment was fantastic - on a canal, walking distance to restaurants, many attractions and to tram stops. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I've just returned from a long weekend and stayed here will my family. We were made to feel very welcome by Greet and Niels who recommended places to eat and visit . The apartment was immaculate and made life very easy and flexible:easy to get to all the main tourist sites and flexible to be able to make your own snacks in the kitchenette.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have recently spent two nights at this fantastic B&B. The studio apartment is spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and so well equipped. Fresh ingredients for breakfast are provided each day as well as a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival! In addition, the B&B owns bicycles which you can hire out at a very reasonable rate and there is free use of a landline telephone for making external calls to places within the city (very useful for avoiding the high cost of using our mobile phones abroad).

The apartment is very private, secure and in a great location. The proprietors Greet and Niels were so welcoming and provided us with much information about the city and things to do. In addition, they were very willing to answer any questions and help with any problems - including when we managed to get locked out of the apartment quite late at night!

Overall, we couldn't have expected any more from this B&B and will definitely return on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a weekend staying here and you couldn't ask for more from your accommodation! It was clean, beautifully decorated and had everything you could need including a fantastic selection of food. Our hosts were so lovely and gave us great information about where to go. They were happy to help if you needed anything (Handy for us as we couldn't work out how unlock the bikes we hired from them!) You even get a souvenir from them at the end of your stay. Hoping to return to Amsterdam in the near future and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

After spending few weeks at Amphora B&B, I feel the great pleasure to HIGHLY Recommend it! The B&B is in the beautiful Jordaan area, great location -walking distance from tram\bus halte, the city center, and from cafe's and resturants. The appartment itself is designed and decorated beautifully, it is spacious , clean, and the kitchen is well equipped. The house owners - Niels and Greet are so kind and generous, and available for any question\request, and can suggest great resturants or special activities in the city. To keep short, if you are looking for a great place to stay during your holiday - this one is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam.Amphora Bed and Breakfast is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous nine streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.