We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free wine and Apple Pie
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an excellent place to stay. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located and in a very quiet and safe area. Breakfast in the morning was a huge bonus! You could walk everywhere! The bed was extremely comfortable. Greet is a very good host, it felt like visiting a good friend. I would definitely recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in Amsterdam at the end of March for 3 nights and if I ever went back- Amphora is THE ONLY place we would stay. Our boys ages 7 and 5 absolutely loved it. We had fresh food in the kitchen, games and toys for the kids to play with, and it was an excellent location. Pictures of the bathroom mosaic do not do it justice. It was amazing in person. The design of the whole place was fantastic. It was truly our own apartment in Amsterdam- our own entrance from the street and everything. Even more amazing were the owners. They made sure we had everything we needed, and even baked us homemade goodies to snack on. They knew that where we currently live, we can't get fresh milk- she made it a point to bring us fresh milk daily, and even more when the kids drank it all. What a fantastic place, all at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9 April to 13 April of this year with mom and sister. Greet and Niels, the owners of Amphora B and B, were very welcoming and kind. They gave us a lot of information about the city and were available for any queries/concerns. Walking distance from Anne Frank house and other landmarks. Do ask Greet about her art gallery. She'll be happy to have you visit to take a peek. Room for rent has an artistic touch (see shower mosaics). Atmosphere is warm and inviting and will make you feel at home. Thank you Greet and Niels for helping make our European trip extremely memorable and fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Amphora b&b for 3 nights in the easter holydays and we can say it was perfect! The B&B is fantastic: very quiet, beautiful, with everything you can need to stay confortable like your home, near to the dam square and to a lot of good places for eat.
The breakfast was amazing! the owners gave us every day a very big and delicious breakfast, and you can find also different things to eat in the B&B (everything is for free).
The owners are very friendly, helpful and kind, they gave us a lot of important informations about Amsterdam (before we arrived and when we were here) and for easter they gave us a little gift and some chocolate eggs just to make us feel like home...we really appreciated that and if we come back to Amsterdam we 'd like to stay again here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thanks again Greet & Niels for a terrific stay in Amsterdam!!! We would not hesitate to stay at Amphora again if we return to Amsterdam (from Australia!). The plentiful breakfast provided/bathroom mosaic/attention to detail in the Apartment and the actual Jordaan area were all lovely. Would recommend to anyone, it was more than we could have hoped for for our stay (as a family of 4) in Amsterdam ;)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the amphora BB. Not only it was perfect, clean and very cosy but also, the owner was extremely kind and careful to my coeliac disease.
I had fresh bread, all the stuff for a tasty breakfast and even a wonderful soup.
I really advice this place for coeliac (and not coeliac) tourists!!!


Sono stata 5 notti in questo BB. Pulito, accogliente, bello! Ma soprattutto la proprietaria è stata gentilissima e attentissima al fatto che sono celiaca. Pane fresco senza glutine, cereali per colazione e anche zuppa calda al rientro!
Consiglio vivamente questo posto a celiaci e non!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchenette, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam.Amphora Bed and Breakfast is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous nine streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels", unlimited use of your own kitchenette provided with breakfast supplies for at least two days, little extra's like instant soup, noodles, etc. There will be no extra charges afterwards!for our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine and a dutch applie pie on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.