We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Schinkelhaven

Cafe Schinkelhaven
Amstelveenseweg 126 | 1075 XL, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6710951
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #509 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, Bar, Café
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a pleasant surprise was this place, in fact went there twice during our stay in Amsterdam.
The first time it was for a late lunch and we got a brilliant burger, just nicely done with all the trimmings and very flavoursome.
Then we went the second time in the evening after a long day of trekking he city and we had a proper meal: an excellent roasted cod very well garnished and a roasted poussin Mediterranean style. All very good and washed down by pleasantly cold Amstel!
Make no mistake this is a cafe pub, but they are the top of their game, I forgot to mention the staff there are excellent, nice and helpful and also very careful with their clientèle, worth going there everytime!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

visited here while on business and was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and standard of service, which was attentive without being overbearing.

The steak was of very good quality and I would recommend a visit if in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best steak I have had...and I've tried a few !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderful steak in this great restaurant/pub in Amsterdam. After a walk through nearby Vondelpark I drifted into this pub early on their Trivia night but the staff were great and seriously the best steak, perfectly done on a small bed of al dente veg, with 'friet' as a side, just wonderful. Complimented the chef and the bar staff could not be more helpful...a lasting memory in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice crew & location, bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located next to the park and the crew is friendly. Mostly shade though, and a bit overpriced. A nice selection of various beers and a decent place to sit if you don't feel like being surrounded by kids (on the other side of the street in the bar in the park).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, well presented, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Last night my friend and I both had a lovely meal each here. She had fish, cooked beautifully and served on asparagus, green beans, tomatoes and carrot with new potatoes and vinaigrette. Very tasty. I had steak served with same vegetables except for lovely chips instead of the potatoes. Friendly service, a pleasant ambience and all for less than 40 euros. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schinkelhaven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Schinkelhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Schinkelhaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.