We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Schinkel Haven

Cafe Schinkel Haven
Amstelveenseweg 126 | 1075 XL, 1075 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 671 9509
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cafe Schinkel Haven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #966 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Café, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Cafe Schinkelhaven enjoy a delicious lunch, dinner or drinks. Come and relax on our comfy couch, ma ak use of the wifi network and order a cup of Fair Trade coffee Bocca. Come watch sports or browse through one of the many magazines, or newspapers. In addition, we organize every Monday exciting pub quiz. Drum friends or colleagues and fight against other teams. We start at 20.30 And at 23.15 You know who is the winner. You stand also refreshed the next day. Goodbye, team Schinkelhaven!
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a pleasant surprise was this place, in fact went there twice during our stay in Amsterdam.
The first time it was for a late lunch and we got a brilliant burger, just nicely done with all the trimmings and very flavoursome.
Then we went the second time in the evening after a long day of trekking he city and we had a proper meal: an excellent roasted cod very well garnished and a roasted poussin Mediterranean style. All very good and washed down by pleasantly cold Amstel!
Make no mistake this is a cafe pub, but they are the top of their game, I forgot to mention the staff there are excellent, nice and helpful and also very careful with their clientèle, worth going there everytime!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

visited here while on business and was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and standard of service, which was attentive without being overbearing.

The steak was of very good quality and I would recommend a visit if in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steak I have had...and I've tried a few !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderful steak in this great restaurant/pub in Amsterdam. After a walk through nearby Vondelpark I drifted into this pub early on their Trivia night but the staff were great and seriously the best steak, perfectly done on a small bed of al dente veg, with 'friet' as a side, just wonderful. Complimented the chef and the bar staff could not be more helpful...a lasting memory in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice crew & location, bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located next to the park and the crew is friendly. Mostly shade though, and a bit overpriced. A nice selection of various beers and a decent place to sit if you don't feel like being surrounded by kids (on the other side of the street in the bar in the park).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, well presented, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Last night my friend and I both had a lovely meal each here. She had fish, cooked beautifully and served on asparagus, green beans, tomatoes and carrot with new potatoes and vinaigrette. Very tasty. I had steak served with same vegetables except for lovely chips instead of the potatoes. Friendly service, a pleasant ambience and all for less than 40 euros. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schinkel Haven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Schinkel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Schinkel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.