We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal & Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant

Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant
Haarlemmerstraat 50 | 1013 ES, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant, what a great find. The food, service & price were all very good. Would certainly recommend for a relaxed bite to eat. You can only pay in cash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    35
    29
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The food is divergent and unique. And eating is an experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place has the feeling of home. And just like home, there is warm and good food as well. You can sit and simply ask for what is best to eat, and you will be served with delicious food. Being Tibetan, the food is divergent and unique. And eating is an experience. The service is good, and people are kind. It deserves 5 stars because it nourishes you also inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant, nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited here after searching for vegan friendly restaurants in Amsterdam. It doesn't open until 6pm though in case you turn up for lunch! The staff were friendly and when you order your food, they ask you how hot you would like it... if you like spicy food, you are in for a treat but their spice rating scale is probably on the top end of the scale as my mild to medium request was quite hot! It was still lovely though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident on our first night in Amsterdam and it was the best meal we had during our whole stay.

The service was great. The waitress was quick and very friendly. She asked how spicy we would like our food, and regularly checked up on us. She even brought us more rice free of charge when we ran out!

The food was absolutely gorgeous. We had some kind of cheese pastries and dumplings for starters which were both nice. The Tibetan curry was possibly the nicest curry I've ever had. My partner's curry was lovely too though. So much food we couldn't finish it!

Very reasonably priced for the amount and quality of food, and of course the service.

Would recommend this to anyone and will definitely be going back if we're ever in Amsterdam again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Super Service Super Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Rerservation made by our hotel ( no website) for 5 adults and 1 infant. Small, spotless and quaint. Waitress gracious, helpful and spoke English well. She went out of her way to help us with the baby providing a high chair and a toy. Made thoughtful suggestions about the menu. Everything we ordered was great. Tasty spring rolls, spinach and goat cheese dumplings and beef and coliander dumplings. Chicken curry, deep fried eggplant, sizzling prawns and rice noodles all flavorful and well prepared. Side of homemade chili sauce provided spiciness for dumplings. Washed it down with semi sweet rice wine. Great meal, nice service, interesting food. You should give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.