We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, but good steak and nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Argentinian Grill II

Rancho Argentinian Grill II
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 36, Amsterdam 1017 RC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 625 0007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #842 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, but good steak and nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've been at this place a couple of times and when you walk in you see that the place looks pretty nice. Food takes about 20-30 min to arrive, i guess thats somewhat fair in a busy restaurant but it still feels a little too much. If you have a problem with your stake though you should be prepared to wait the same amount of time it seems. I didnt have any problems but i know someone who did. When paying there is a complete chaos, the waiters we had spoke poor/average english and didnt understand how to calculate the bill when we needed seperate checks. In the end i had to ask how much they needed in order to pay and get out of there. The steak was good and the meal was nice but because of so much problems with the waiters i dont feel like going back, and neither does my friends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    46
    71
    26
    7
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This restaurant scores high points on look and feel. It's very cozy and friendly, the staff is great and helpful, the decor is nice, the music is truly Argentinian, but the food... The only thing I liked was the hot chocolate. Other than that, the soups are average and everything else is as bad as the classic British pub food.

I would recommend this place if you're in the area and you only need to have a drink.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good special offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were in this restaurant few hours ago and ordered their special offer for two. It included two meat meals, bottle of wine, salad and fries. All is near 50 euro. Very nice)) Totally recommended for couples)))

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a delicious steak in Amsterdam, here's the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We came across this restaurant just by chance, but didn''t regret it, the food was excellent - especially their speciality: succulent delicious steaks, fries, and backed potatoes. If you want to eat good meat, and be pampered by the excellent service, Rancho Argentinian Grill is a place you cannot miss out on on your trip to Amsterdam. The only drawback would be the table wine which I wouldnt particularly recommend, but if you do love wine with meat, then try the Malbec on the wine list - it marries well with the food they serve. Bon apetit fellow tripadvisors!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal :o)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate here on Sat 15th Dec and loved it!The staff were great, the food was fantastic and was reasonably priced.
I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Argentinian Grill II also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rancho Argentinian Grill II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Argentinian Grill II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.