We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristafel time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon City

Dragon City
Damstraat 18, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 623 1529
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,229 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ristafel time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We 1st ate here when we visited around 10 years ago- could not remember the name, knew it was dragon something! Chuffed when we found it, was just as delish as I remembered though the prices are a lot higher than when it was the Dutch guilder. Recommend for a Ristafel!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a dinner and I really enjoyed. The food is very good service is perfect. Staff is friendly and polite and I liked the white wine too. Price is reasonable. I would recommend it and would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's all About the Roast Duck.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I felt the same way as most of the other reviewers. Inexpensive, ordinary, hearty food, good service. And then I had the roast duck and noodle soup. That was in 2002. And I have been back for the duck, especially in the winter months, over two dozen times. The last time, this year in April. The skin crackles, with the meat cooked perfect, and most, but not all of the fat rendered off. It is set on top of a huge bowl of broth and noodles. It is to die for! Cold, cheap beer to go with it, or a glass of plum wine. The other food is ok, but this is a duck place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Good food, and very good service. Could very well come back! However, drop the dessert, may be desserts arent a Chinese tradition?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Quite authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is near the Dams square which is very famous for being an expensive area. I was craving for some Chinese and decided to try Dragon city even though from outside it looks like a usual tourist trap. The food was pretty good and the prices were quite low as well. The service and ambience was just alright.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dragon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.