We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel wth a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #63 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel wth a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel to be in...Jus becoz we r indians we r use to a lot of service free of cost...
A nice garden nearby where kids had loads of fun and a good place for cycling too.
A good property to explore and a connecting tram is jus a wal away. Just that the resturant was a little tuff task for us.But a good indian hotel made life easy thr by delivery of food at the reception,

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    657
    177
    53
    45
See reviews for
166
731
61
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My group stayed at this hotel for 4 days; the hotel was nice, clean, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel was close to tram going to Amsterdam city central where tourists usually go. Walking distance to some ok shops & restaurants though the city central has more selections. Buy the whole day tram ticket to make life easier.
The shuttle to/from Shiphol-hotel is very convenient, nicer still- it's free.
I would use and recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel as some aspects are very good and others leave a lot to be desired. First impressions are favourable as the desk staff are helpful and there are plenty of lifts to quickly transport you to your room in this very large hotel.
The rooms are of ultra modern design but very impractical with open plan shelving to store ones clothes and belongings, the highest shelf was however about seven feet off the ground, a ladder was not provided and as I am only 5'7" tall, I could not utilise all of the space provided. My wife is only 5'2" so she did not stand a chance!
First impressions were good as everything looked freshly cleaned but after finding the soap dispenser hanging off the bathroom wall we decided to investigate the room in depth (yes we do watch The Hotel Inspector on tv). Looking under the bed at the head end there was a large amount of dust and grime as the bed had obviously never been pulled out for ages to clean behind. On looking under the sheets, the washable mattress cover was dirty and covered in stains although the mattress itself was immaculately clean as were the sheets and other bedding. Between the mattress cover and mattress we found a rather scruffy duster which had been left there at some stage in the past. On checking further there was a discarded safety pin left on the window ledge so our general impression was that cleaning is superficial in the most noticable areas but the hidden areas rarely get cleaned at all.
The TV is excellent, modern and gives lots of channel choices, some English speaking. The wi-Fi is also very good with a strong signal and provided free.
We decided to give the restaurant a try but on arriving were interrogated by a rather hostile member of staff who told us that we could not have a menu as the choice of food was decided by the chef called 'Chef's Surprise'. As I am on a diet and my wife has some food intolarances I explained that the surprise might be a nasty one and we wanted a say in what we ordered. We were directed to the bar where food is also served and whilst the choices were not extensive, the food was beautifully cooked, nicely presented and good value. The bar staff were extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. The views from the bar were impressive as it is situated on the 17th floor and must be one of the higher spots in the whole of Amsterdam.
Getting around was very good as there is a tram stop just down the road from the hotel and trams seem to run every few minutes right through Amsterdam as far as the main railway station.
We stayed here on an organised coach trip and talking to our fellow travellers was interesting, as one couple had been refused entry to the bar by the same female who interrogated us. When we went there on our second evening, she had tried to stop us entering the bar saying that it was full, which it wasn't! Our travelling companions however gave way to her aggression and had to make do fending for themselves in their room.
On a lighter note the breakfasts were very good as the hotel catered for all nationalities although on my first morning I was deprived of sausages when the container holding then was whipped away from right under my nose. Perhaps it was just as well as I already had a large plateful of food but I didn't feel happy at the time.

Overall, this hotel has both good and bad points but if I could change one thing, that would be to get rid of the aggressive female who interrogates you when you get off the lift on the 17th floor during the evening as she alone is sabotaging the friendly atmosphere the the hotel management is trying to create.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pretty decent four star hotel, not too far away from the city.
Rooms are pretty big, neat and clean and was fully equipped with TV, Study table, Tea Making necessities, Iron, etc.
Only two flaws in the hotel:
No porter service
Room Service does not have too many options to choose from and is charged 10 EURO's extra per order. (However, the reception helped me to order food online which was quiet refreshing and had a lot of options to choose from from nearby restaurants willing to deliver food even at 12 AM in the night).
They have shuttle service to the airport but charges around 5 EURO per adult.
The tram station is just behind the hotel which provides a lot of convenience.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the higher floor to get better view of the surrounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my friend booked online for a "queen room" now the pictures showed a lovely big room however when getting to our room it was just a basic double room.. Wouldn't like to see what the actual double rooms looked like! Felt very cheated as the pictures showed a gorgeous room. Also on arriving I was then asked for €50 up front.. (Wasn't bothered however would of liked a warning before hand!!.) I didn't have it in cash so had to pay by card which then meant I would be charged for doing so (€7) so I paid the €50 as a deposit for the room to make sure we didn't trash it then lost out anyway and only got €43 back! Take it in cash so you don't have to pay the travellers tax!

The hotel and rooms are very nice and very clean, staff are very friendly and very happy to help with anything.

There is no shampoo ect in the rooms however if you call down to reception they will give you some! You just have to go and get it!

The hotel is not in the city centre and we decided to walk from the train station in the centre to the hotel taking us just over an hour was nice to see the city, however with suitcases wasn't the best idea.. there is a tram stop right outside the train station jump on tram 13 and it takes you through the city and to the hotel. There's a tram stop right outside takes about 15/20 mins. We didn't realise this till getting there..

Apart from the above we did enjoy our stay the beds are soo comfy!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reasonably-priced, modern high-rise hotel close to the airport, but 10+ minute train ride to downtown Amsterdam. Free wifi was included with the stay. Conveniently-located power outlets as well as several English-language TV channels.

Room was fairly clean, but beds were very soft. Had issue with bathroom faucet, but management repaired quickly.

Offered cheap shuttle ride to/from airport.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Tatraveler,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and leaving us with your much valued feedback!
Our hotel rooms are indeed equipped with a large number of power outlets, a USB charging socket, fast Wi-Fi and about 90 international channels. I am very glad to hear that you got to enjoy these facilities.

Regarding the beds, as special matrasses and box springs were specifically designed for all Apollo Hotels& Resorts hotels, our full focus is always at the quality of our beds. If you do find the time, could you please be so kind to send an e-mail to us, informing us with the room# you stayed in?

Such would enable us to double check- and if necessary act on your feedback.

In any case, I would like to thank you again for visiting the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam. I do hope we will have the honor of welcoming you as our guest in the (near) future again!


Best regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were on the small side but clean and well equipped, ketlle, iron etc. only thing is the rooms could have done with a fridge. also had a nice view.
The location is a fair distance away from the city center but easily reached by trams which are situated a short distance away.
The surrounding neighbourhood is nice and has a long main road with plenty of shops and is nice to just walk around and I would recommend Hotels in Amsterdam that are just out of the city center as most people don't get to see the areas surrounding these hotels and the way the real Dutch live.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the lounge at the top of the hotel has nice views, would recommend this hotel.
Cant stress enough the need for a warm coat if anyone is going to Amsterdam anytime except summer.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.