We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Earn 500 BPS
Ranked #67 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“5* quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We only stayed here for 3 nights but it was a really nice hotel! On the 17th floor was a bar which did the nicest mojito's and there was a lovely view of the city. The only thing that was disapointing was that it was a little out of town. Although the tram stop was close by and very cheap would have been nicer if it wasnt so far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear findmyway,

What an amazing headline! If will definitely show your review to my teammembers!

The hotel is indeed located right next to the Amsterdam city centre. As mentioned in your review; tram 13 does take you there in just 15 minutes.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us a review and I do hope to welcome you back once more.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    565
    152
    48
    40
See reviews for
140
633
49
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I booked the hotel for my boyfriends birthday and it was a nice hotel. Had a lovely view and loved the rooftop terrace. Only thing that I didn't like was the price! For two orange juices it cost us €10.50!! Also we pre paid for breakfast and on the last day we arrived to the breakfast hall for 10am we asked previously what time it finishes and was told 10:30 and it also said that in our info we had but when we arrived a snotty woman said 'breakfast is closed' we said no it's not we have it written down right here what time it's open until she then got some one else to come out and she said our name is not on the list we need to pay €35!! We said we have had breakfast for the past 3 days and now u want us to pay extra?! They obviously didn't want us going in maybe there shift was finishing? Nice hotel but not the best staff and a absolute rip off like the whole of amsterdam! Would not return

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Kaylea S,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am however quit surprised with your comments. As I understood for the Duty Manager, all the charges have been deducted and we did even provide you with a free upgrade to one of our finest rooms.

Please do contact me in person so we can discuss this rather negative experience.


With king regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were in this hotel for 2 nights and was a beautiful experience to us. hotel is in perfect location rooms are clean however, small but enough to stay in. skybar floor 17 is another plus point. Apart from this recently opened rooftop terras in the hotel is fantastic. definately going back to this hotel on my/our next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear transformer1982,

Thank you for much for granting us with a 5 out of 5 score on TripAdvisor! The fact that you were over the moon with the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is one of the biggest compliments we can get!

The fact that you definitely come back to this hotel is something to be proud of! I will definitely share your comments among my team.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Clean, modern and airy feel to the hotel. My room was clean and air quality and temperature perfect. Bed was comfortable (although I was exhausted and could have slept on a park bench!!). Breakfast buffet was acceptable with a great view from the top (17th) floor. However, when busy, it felt a little "overcrowded" and not particularly relaxed.
Hotel run a good shuttle service to the airport, a special mention for the friendly bus driver who was chatty and helped to calm many of the stressed out passengers who had missed their connecting flights.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide a good view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BoxJarv,

Thank you very much for leaving us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. The fact that we were able to make your unpleasant day a little more positive can be seen as a big compliment.

The breakfast can indeed, especially in case of a stranded flight, be rather busy when many guests decide to go at once. I’m very sorry if this made you feel uncomfortable.

I do hope to welcome you once more when visiting Amsterdam again.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel appears very fancy & swanky at first glance and for the price it seems like a steal, but once you spend a few hours here you'll see that it's not. Our room wasn't fully prepared. My bed was missing a sheet and the day they came in to "clean" their idea of making my bed was leaving the sheet all bunched up as I left it after sleeping and just tucked the comforter in over top. We also got "upgraded" to two single beds pushed together which kept sliding apart making it difficult for us to get close in bed.
There was no guest services book in the room so we had no idea about any of the amenities at the hotel. A couple things were listed on their tv but hardly anything or any detail. You can't eat in the lounge, only the restaurant side, then there's a buffet but it doesn't say who is welcome in what areas and what is even being served.
My boyfriend was asked to remove his hat in the lounge, had we known there was a dress code...
We wanted to call a cab and the woman behind the desk told us that she didn't know how.
The staff are unhelpful, unfriendly and act like they're inconvenienced by your presence. If you want service then you need to ask and god forbid they might have to actually work for their paycheck. It wasn't just at the hotel but Amsterdam in general. The people are very impolite towards tourists.
The only thing I enjoyed was that it was located away from the hustle and bustle in a more relaxed area.

I would never recommend for someone to stay here. I never write these things but this one was worth writing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Pairuss,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback. I am however, very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

In every room we have the service book provided at our television (your starting screen when you entering the room). Even though all hotel information is provided in this service book, we will definitely double check this.

You’ll find our Floor 17 restaurant at the top floor of the hotel. Here, we do serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. On top of this we do serve lunch on the rooftop terrace as well. On top of this we serve a full range buffet during the weekend days for just €25,-. We do indeed have a dress code for the floor 17 restaurant. However, I would not call this dress code very strict. We only ask our guests not to wear any jogging pants or caps. I believe this is a commodity in almost every fine dining restaurant, I am very sorry you were not informed about this up front.

Please know that we discussed all of your feedback with all the responsible departments. The first and main focus is always on the service we deliver to our guests, we find it extremely unfortunate that this is not what you experienced.

If, after this response, you have further questions or remarks please contact me in person.

Warm regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room may have been small but it was spotless, and fitted with modern interior and really comfy bed. Cracking views of the park next door and Amsterdam. Definitely check out the rooftop bar if only for the views. Hotel isn't central but the (no 13) tram stop is outside and the service is super efficient to the centre and attractions. Recommend the travel cards for economy and convenience. Suggest that although breakfast buffet was nice it was overpriced and you will find better value and tastier food if you go out. NB. Hotel's Airport shuttle will collect you for free, but will charge for a return trip.
Don't forget the city tax on check out, wasn't expecting it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Corinne109,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure it is, to read such wonderful comments regarding the hotel. The mentioned travel cards can even be purchased within the hotel.

Regarding the city tax I would like to inform you that everybody visiting Amsterdam pays an amount of 5% to the local government. I am however, very sorry that you were not inform about this matter up front.

Once again, thank you very much for writing a review and I do hope to welcome you back once more.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and 3 days recently, the room was very comfortable (unbelievable comfortable beds) and clean with a great view of the park, bathroom very spacious so could not complain, it made the stay a very satisfying one.

Staff were very helpful and polite at all times and gave us information when required.
There is a seating area outside the hotel which was nice and peaceful should you want to be at the hotel and not in the room.

Location wise it's not exactly city centre (where all the bars and attractions are) which is walk able if you really fancy a long walk, however it is a peaceful area so this has to be a benefit if you want to get away from the noise of the bars and tourist areas.
There is a tram stop directly outside of the hotel (only 1 tram stops here though number 13) so this was useful and with a great fare price, you can purchase 24 hr or 48 hr tickets on here which was really helpful for us and covered us for our stay, this enabled us 2 jump on a number of trams and only pay a very very small fee compared to UK prices.

If i was to visit again i would indeed look to stay at the Ramada again, however if you want to stay out to the early hours, i wonder how much taxi fare would be from the centre as it is a reasonable distance!

If you have never been to Amsterdam it is very easy to get around with the tram links so again i would definitely consider this hotel as a viable option.

The room had free WIFI which most do now but the reception was perfect all of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Smithy Adam K,

Thank you very much for writing such an extended review on TripAdvisor!

I’m very glad to read that you are so enthusiastic about the service at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I will definitely pass on your kind words to the team.

Regarding the mentioned taxi fares, these are around €15 to the central station. The distance to the Dam square is only 3 kilometers. However, since Amsterdam is a rather small city it does indeed look much more.

I and my team do certainly hope to welcome you once more in Amsterdam!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.