We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Brilliant :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, Amsterdam 8272, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Generally Brilliant :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my partner visited this hotel twice last year, once in September and again in December and both times it has felt like a second home for us. The facilities are fantastic, the rooms are spacious and we enjoyed a really great 3 course meal in the 17th floor restaurant; probably the only negative thing I have to say about the place is that the windows of our room were quite dirty; such that it stopped me from taking a picture of the amazing view (my cameras lens kept focusing on the dirt rather than the view) and the buffet breakfast was a big let down, mainly because it was predominantly a continental breakfast and did not have the features of the full English breakfast I am used to here in the U.K; and at 40 euros my expectations were high. Apart from that though the place is fantastic and during our December trip they had decorated the hotel lobby with the most amazing Christmas decorations ever - hopefully this is something they do every Christmas as I will probably be back in December again this year if not sooner :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    426
    118
    40
    33
See reviews for
101
481
37
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is not in the city center, if you want to be right in the midst of the action this is not the place for you. It is, however, a short train ride away and a stop is right outside the hotel. The rooms were a bit small, that was expected, but very clean. The hotel staff was kind to us and we had no challenges with customer service. It is a standard business hotel, the kind of place I would probably stay for a conference. It was acceptable for the price we paid and I would stay here again. Coffee and tea in room and in lobby. We did not make it to the continental breakfast, but it was offered to us when we checked in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, today
Dear D J,

Thank you very much for providing us with a lovely review on TripAdvisor!

I’m very glad to read the you would stay with us again when visiting Amsterdam, this is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team. The tram does indeed bring all our guests to the Dam square in just 12 minutes. Tickets can even be purchased within the hotel in our travelshop.

It was a real pleasure welcoming you at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again any time soon.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I booked this hotel as part of a BA package, to attend a family wedding in Amsterdam. When we booked-in around mid-day and asked about lunch, we were told that all eating facilities in the hotel were closed as they were preparing for a major event on the 17th (restaurant) floor in the evening; no alternatives offered, including any nearby eateries ! The receptionist also said that we would be given a room on the 13th floor so as not to be too disturbed by the revelries that evening, but that it would a lovely room with good panoramic views. Throughout our stay, the reception staff were invariably polite and helpful.

In the event we were shown to a room on the 13th floor overlooking a vista of tower-blocks and motorways; if the room had been on the other side facing Rembrant Park, then indeed it would have had panoramic views.

The room was comfortable as per standard 4* international hotel; excepting only missing toiletries (shampoo, creams etc) in the bathroom. The design of the room (#1312), however, was very poor; my teenage son could have designed it better: wasted storage space, dangerous sharp edges near the bedhead etc......though still tolerable for a 4 day stay.

After settling-in to the room, we asked reception about eateries and shops in the vicinity, and I was told that these were available just a 5-minute walk away in a little local square. Indeed they were; comprising a supermarket, some lovely delicatessens, bars etc. and, with a local immigrant community, some interesting budget shops nearby.

In the evening we asked about food again and were told that only a chargeable ad-hoc buffet would be available in a ground floor 'corporate meeting' room. Indeed it was: a limited selection of dishes rather-hastily assembled with bar-bench chairs/tables. A fellow (American) resident complained that, like us and others there, he had not been told of the evening event or lack of restaurant facilities at any time until check-in. Poor communication or just lack of attention to Hotel guests??

On the last day of our stay, we went up to the (now open) 17th-floor restaurant to have lunch. The bartender said that only a bar snacks menu was available, he wasn't sure about any other food being available, and that some aircrew were having a special lunch in another part of the restaurant. He and the only other (lady) person on duty didn't seem interested in serving any customers; just in bantering among themselves.

When I asked to speak to the restaurant manager, a Mr Melle Schellekens appeared. He introduced himself as the F&B Manager...to which I said that I was an F&B (Fed Up and Bored) Hotel Guest; he didn't get the irony !! He - ALL THE WHILE LAUGHING AND SMILING !! - listened to my complaint about the terrible level of service, the lack of knowledge of staff, and the lack of food in the whole hotel, including the night-before experience.

I pointed-out that I didn't find all this very funny, also "Do you think this is the way to treat your Hotel Guests?"......no response, just a boring account of how he had worked in hotels across the world and knew his job !! He then asked the name of the male staff member who had given me the information about food. I reminded him that there was only ONE man (=bartender) on duty in the restaurant, he seemed not to know that ! When it became apparent that he wouldn't/coudn't appreciate the point being made or intended to take any action, I left him to "deal with my complaint in whatever way you feel fit, but I will make a formal complaint to the Hotel Management". He seemed totally disinterested.

So...If you go to this hotel, (which claims to have awards within the owner Wyndham Group), do ask about any events going-on during your stay; and be prepared for stone-walling from the management (sic) if you try to make a complaint or get redress!!

On the plus side, the hotel has a free shuttle from the airport, has the lovely Rembrant Park next door, is half an hour from the Central Station by tram, and has some interesting local shops and bars nearby.

Room Tip: Take a room on the other side of Room 1312. Although comfortable, the view is depressing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel last week (27th June 2014) as part of a hen do of 10 girls. When we arrived at 10am, to our surprise our rooms were ready for us! We were just expecting to leave our luggage there and go out for the day. Our stay overall was great, the hotel and rooms were lovely with great facilities. The bar upstairs was very nice as were the cocktails! Unfortunately on our trip I fell very ill with a viral sickness bug on the last day of our stay there, and we were supposed to be checking out of our rooms at 12pm. The staff were literally amazing, they said not to worry about checking out and I could check out whenever I wanted (our flight was at 9pm that evening). They sent up 2 members of staff to my room to check if I was ok, they were lovely and said if I needed anything like water or food just to ask. They recommended getting a doctor out to me which they organised and he was there within about an hour. The staff kept checking on my progress with my sister (who originally reported the problem) throughout the day. Even with staff changeovers, they had obviously liaised with each other as new members of staff at the reception were aware of the problem. I cannot fault how they dealt with me, I was extremely poorly and they could not do more to help me. I would like to say a heartfelt thank you to all of the staff there for helping me as falling ill in a foreign country can be a scary experience and they really made me feel a lot better about the situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, today
Dear Feebee 1989,

I have just read your wonderful review regarding your recent stay in our hotel and I would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words.

I am very glad that my staff was able to assist you in such a positive way. I have passed on your kind words to the whole Ramada team. Really, a bigger compliment than this is hard to imagine!

We do certainly hope that when visiting Amsterdam again, we will have the honor of welcoming you in our hotel!

With warm regards,
Boudewijn Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was quite average business hotel. Rooms very tidy and professional, service at front desk was partially poor. Poor meaning not customer focused, complicated, unaccurate information given and responses to email were slow or not given at all. Location next to park is good for jogging and access to city with tram excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, today
Dear MatkaajaJouni,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor!

I’m very sorry to read about your rather negative experience with the Front Desk. Due to the fact that service is one of our main focus points I will definitely discuss this with the repsonsible Manager and employees to prevent this from happening in the future.

Please feel free to contact me in person by calling the hotel on your earliest convenience.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel recently and was very impressed with both the service and the hotel itself. I was on a stag weekend at the time but enjoyed my stay here so much I decided to return to Amsterdam and book the Ramada Apollo this time with my fiancé by my side. I liked the fact that even after check out the staff there allowed us to use the shower facilities on site as we had a late flight that day. I'm looking forward to returning to the Ramada on the 25th of this month for two nights and showing my partner how beautiful Amsterdam is. If you read the previous reviews everyone mentions how much of a great view you get from the sky bar. Unfortunately the only way your ever going to understand what they are talking about is by booking into the Ramada and seeing it for yourself.

B.Campbell

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, today
Dear Brad C,

Thank you very much for providing us with such an amazing review TripAdvisor!

The fact that we were able to fulfill all your expectations is one of the biggest compliments we can get! I will definitely pass on your kind words to the Ramada team.

I’m very glad to read that we were able to provide you with such a succesfull stag party is a real honor to me.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here last month for 2 nights and I can honestly say its a really great hotel. Service from every single member of staff was great, the room was beautifully decorated and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The skybar on floor 17 is a must see as the views of Amsterdam are amazing, not far to the centre of Amsterdam and I would recommend hiring a bike from the hotel to get there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, today
Dear Alex 784,

I would like to express my gratitude to you for leaving us such a wonderful review!

Thank you for selecting us to be your preferred accommodation in the city of Amsterdam, we are all very delighted to provide you with such a comfortable stay.

In addition, thank you so much for leaving such kind words for the facilities the hotel has to offer; Floor 17 indeed boosts lovely views over the city of Amsterdam. If you are ever to visit us again please have a look at our rooftop terrace as well; from the 19th floor the views over Amsterdam are even more impressive!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.


With warm regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, Amsterdam 8272, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.