We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #71 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ihtiman, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not so bad..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel is called Amsterdam Centre, but it is quite far from Dam square! Still there is convenient tram transport. Rooms are okay but little worn-out which is quite far away from the Ramada standard. Restaurant on the 17th floor has a good view, but it's extremely expensive!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Blondeskiller,

Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback regarding your recent stay in Amsterdam.
The hotel is indeed located right next to the heart of Amsterdam. By tram however, you will reach the Dam square in just 15 minutes.

I am glad you have enjoyed the views from Floor 17. In case of any future stay, please try our bar menu or buffet which are less expensive.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Just 15 min by tram fro. The city centre and a short distance from Schiphol, this is a good hotel for business travellers. The executive rooms are spacious and have a nice view. The hotel has a no frills approach- no mini bar, you need to buy drinks in the lobby.

The top floor bar is nice, however I did not understand that whilst they had a lot of staff only 1 seemed to take orders.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Kurswa,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre on TripAdvisor.

The executive rooms are indeed very spacious, but should also include a minibar. Please do contact the hotel upfront in case of any future stay so we can make sure one will be in your room.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding Floor 17, I will definitely discuss this with my Restaurant Manager to prevent this from happening again.

Again, thank you very much for taking time to write us a review and I do hope to welcome you back in the future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A bit outside the center but a very nice hotel with good, but small rooms.
Everything in this hotel is run very well.
Gym is the size of a toilet but besdies that everything is up to par.
Good breakfast, good restaurant with a great view and friendly staff.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bob L,

What an amazing review! Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre with the rest of the world.

The fact that you would strongly recommend this hotel is one of the biggest compliments we can get. I will definitely share this among my team.

In case of any future stay, please do contact our reception team who will point out a close located gym centre. I do hope, this will make your stay even more memorable.

It was a pleasure welcoming such an appreciating guest and I do hope to do so again!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ramada Apollo is situated at the prime location. You have an access to Tram, Bus, Taxis, Scooters n even Cycle to roam around in the city.
The rooms are compact and give you a cozy feeling n has all the regular modern amenities. The best part is the huge fluffy and comfortable bed. English breakfast is complimentary and has lot of varieties.
Another great thing is the restaurant situated at the 18th Floor, the view is mesmerizing. You can see half of the city from there enjoying your bottle of beer or a glass of wine.
Staff is courteous and is willing to help at all times.
There is also a souvenir shop at the ground floor, which is not expensive and you can buy gifts for family and friends.
Overall, Hotel Ramada Apollo is a luxury hotel in your budget.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice scenic view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yashs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Yashs22,

What a beautiful review to read back on TripAdvisor! Thank you very much for sharing all these positive feedback with the rest of the world.

I will definitely share your kind words regarding the service delivered and your excellent experience on Floor 17. Since a high service level is one of our main focus points, you 5 star rating is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team!

I’m also very thankful with your compliments towards the beds; I do hope you had a well-deserved rest by night.

Again, thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor and I do hope to welcome you back anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived at the hotel early and left our bags in the storage locker. Upon late registration we found that our room smelled like an old diaper. We asked for a change and were given an identical room on the same floor but facing the sunny part of the hotel. The new room smelled like old food from a broken refrigerator. We requested to be given another room but were told that there were no other options. While we were on the phone with expedia.com the hotel staff offered the use of the shuttle to transport us to our new hotel only to withdraw the offer a few minutes later. They also told us that we could not get a refund but eventually agreed to give a refund after speaking with a representative from expedia.com. It was not a good experience. And the location was very out of the way from town with absolutely nothing to do or see around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ln757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear In757,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I am however, very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

As I do recall, we tried everything in our power to provide you with another hotel within the city centre of Amsterdam. I’m very sorry this has not been enough. I do certainly hope to speak to you in person to discuss this serious matter.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is filthy starting with the reception area. When you get to your room you might find that it has not been dusted in months and check out the carpet that is just full of hair not to mention the other stuff obviously visible. The rooms are TINY with barely any room between the bed and desk and with two small pillows. The bathroom floor had not been swept. There was a really rotten foul smell in the bathroom. Above all, the staff at this hotel are not friendly at all. In contrast to any other lodging across the country this place was easily in the cellar all alone.

Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Colo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear 44Colo,

I’m very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Please do contact me in person so we can discuss this serious matter.


With warm regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon. We were on the 14th floor and our room had a fantastic view as well as being very comfortable. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was varied and good food. The tram is only a minute walk from the hotel and takes you to Central Station in just 20mins. Everything was clean and well kept. Very pleased with our choice!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear MrsEPF,

Thank you very much for leaving us such an amazing review on Tripadvisor!
The fact that we were able to provide you with such a pleasant honeymoon is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team.

The views from our high rooms and rooftop bar are indeed amazing, I’m very glad you have enjoyed this as well.

It was a pleasure welcoming you and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing