We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Earn 500 BPS
Ranked #71 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Just 15 min by tram fro. The city centre and a short distance from Schiphol, this is a good hotel for business travellers. The executive rooms are spacious and have a nice view. The hotel has a no frills approach- no mini bar, you need to buy drinks in the lobby.

The top floor bar is nice, however I did not understand that whilst they had a lot of staff only 1 seemed to take orders.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Kurswa,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre on TripAdvisor.

The executive rooms are indeed very spacious, but should also include a minibar. Please do contact the hotel upfront in case of any future stay so we can make sure one will be in your room.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding Floor 17, I will definitely discuss this with my Restaurant Manager to prevent this from happening again.

Again, thank you very much for taking time to write us a review and I do hope to welcome you back in the future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    465
    130
    42
    35
See reviews for
117
523
42
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A bit outside the center but a very nice hotel with good, but small rooms.
Everything in this hotel is run very well.
Gym is the size of a toilet but besdies that everything is up to par.
Good breakfast, good restaurant with a great view and friendly staff.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bob L,

What an amazing review! Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre with the rest of the world.

The fact that you would strongly recommend this hotel is one of the biggest compliments we can get. I will definitely share this among my team.

In case of any future stay, please do contact our reception team who will point out a close located gym centre. I do hope, this will make your stay even more memorable.

It was a pleasure welcoming such an appreciating guest and I do hope to do so again!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ramada Apollo is situated at the prime location. You have an access to Tram, Bus, Taxis, Scooters n even Cycle to roam around in the city.
The rooms are compact and give you a cozy feeling n has all the regular modern amenities. The best part is the huge fluffy and comfortable bed. English breakfast is complimentary and has lot of varieties.
Another great thing is the restaurant situated at the 18th Floor, the view is mesmerizing. You can see half of the city from there enjoying your bottle of beer or a glass of wine.
Staff is courteous and is willing to help at all times.
There is also a souvenir shop at the ground floor, which is not expensive and you can buy gifts for family and friends.
Overall, Hotel Ramada Apollo is a luxury hotel in your budget.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice scenic view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Yashs22,

What a beautiful review to read back on TripAdvisor! Thank you very much for sharing all these positive feedback with the rest of the world.

I will definitely share your kind words regarding the service delivered and your excellent experience on Floor 17. Since a high service level is one of our main focus points, you 5 star rating is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team!

I’m also very thankful with your compliments towards the beds; I do hope you had a well-deserved rest by night.

Again, thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor and I do hope to welcome you back anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived at the hotel early and left our bags in the storage locker. Upon late registration we found that our room smelled like an old diaper. We asked for a change and were given an identical room on the same floor but facing the sunny part of the hotel. The new room smelled like old food from a broken refrigerator. We requested to be given another room but were told that there were no other options. While we were on the phone with expedia.com the hotel staff offered the use of the shuttle to transport us to our new hotel only to withdraw the offer a few minutes later. They also told us that we could not get a refund but eventually agreed to give a refund after speaking with a representative from expedia.com. It was not a good experience. And the location was very out of the way from town with absolutely nothing to do or see around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear In757,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I am however, very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

As I do recall, we tried everything in our power to provide you with another hotel within the city centre of Amsterdam. I’m very sorry this has not been enough. I do certainly hope to speak to you in person to discuss this serious matter.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is filthy starting with the reception area. When you get to your room you might find that it has not been dusted in months and check out the carpet that is just full of hair not to mention the other stuff obviously visible. The rooms are TINY with barely any room between the bed and desk and with two small pillows. The bathroom floor had not been swept. There was a really rotten foul smell in the bathroom. Above all, the staff at this hotel are not friendly at all. In contrast to any other lodging across the country this place was easily in the cellar all alone.

Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear 44Colo,

I’m very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Please do contact me in person so we can discuss this serious matter.


With warm regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon. We were on the 14th floor and our room had a fantastic view as well as being very comfortable. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was varied and good food. The tram is only a minute walk from the hotel and takes you to Central Station in just 20mins. Everything was clean and well kept. Very pleased with our choice!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear MrsEPF,

Thank you very much for leaving us such an amazing review on Tripadvisor!
The fact that we were able to provide you with such a pleasant honeymoon is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team.

The views from our high rooms and rooftop bar are indeed amazing, I’m very glad you have enjoyed this as well.

It was a pleasure welcoming you and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Have stayed at the Apollo twice now and stayed the second time because of experience the first time. The Apollo Ramada had only just opened the first time we stayed and got both trips as deals on line, including the flights. Stayed 3 nights the first time and 2 nights the second time.
The rooms are clean and modern with excellent views if you're on the right side of the Hotel, which you can ask for and all air conditioned. Floor 17, restaurant and bar and the roof terrace also offer exceptional views of Amsterdam City, if the weather is good. We chose a hot weekend this last visit and spent 2 very pleasant late afternoons on the roof terrace, lively and with music.
A shop has opened in the hotel foyer and you can purchase your tram tickets here. They work out 7 Euros for 24 hours, but we got a 72 hour tickets for 14 Euros. You can use the ticket as many times as you like anywhere in the city. The tram stop is a very short distance from the hotel and runs frequently into the city centre (number 13).
The hotel is not situated right in the centre of Amsterdam if that's what you want, but a 12 minute tram ride into the city. Trams run till midnight and then a bus takes over and you can yes your tram pass on the bus.
A hotel shuttle bus picks you up from outside the airport (every 40 mins), free of charge and it costs 5 Euros per person for the trip back. An excellent service and well worth using.
Check if breakfast is included, it was the first time we stayed and was good, but not the second time, which I hadn't realised, so was a little disappointed.
Overall would recommend this hotel and stay again, if we visited Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: There is a Sauna and/or spa but did not use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear LynneCook56,

Thank you very much for this extended review on Tripadvisor, the fact that you have returned to the hotel is a big compliment to the whole team!
The fact that you would recommend this hotel is one of the biggest compliments we can get and I will definitely share this among my team.
It was real pleasure welcoming you for the second time and I do hope to so again anytime soon.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.