We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent accommodations, friendly staff, amazing view, close to centre (tram to Dam Square-10 min, the stop is just across the street). Would definitely recommend it and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mari_Dragomir,

Let me start by expressing my gratitude to you for taking the effort in writing this review.

I am happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel again, so that next time we will be able to exceed your expectations!

Kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    442
    123
    40
    35
See reviews for
102
496
38
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for four nights and while booking the hotel, we were a little apprehensive about the location. On the day of the check-in we reached the hotel around 1230pm and the front office manager was super helpful and courteous. We got a lovely room on the 14th floor with the city view. The rooms are very nice even by Asian standards - large, upscale and very classy.
The best thing about the hotel was the reception staff. Everybody went out of their way to be helpful and always smiling.

The location: The tram stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and there is a tram (#13) that stops every 5 - 10 mins and takes you to Dam Square in 10 mins. So you are in the middle of the action within 10 - 15 mins. Yes, the only concern area here is the last tram runds till about 1145pm after which there is a night bus that stops at the same stop. I didnt try it out though.

Overall, a great hotel which makes up for the very slight disadvantage of the location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear rahulge1980,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We will share your lovely comments about the staff with them.

Although guaranteed check-in time is only after 15:00, we indeed try to be flexible when it comes to requests such as yours. Thank you for sharing these kind words with other travelers.

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback on our location. Indeed, public transport gets you from the hotel to the various hotspots in an instant! And although not as frequent as during the day, the hotel is indeed very reachable during the night through bus transport.

It was great to read that you found our hotel to be perfect for your needs. That is actually more than we could hope for. Thanks again for writing the review. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the entrance and the friendly welcome by the staff until the amazing rooftop terrace, everything in this hotel breaths class and a high service level.
The rooms don't just have an amazing view over the city of Amsterdam but also give you all the comfort you can ask for. Great bed by the way!!
The bar on 'Floor 17' is awesome! If you're lucky and the rooftop terrace is open, do have a drink and enjoy the great atmosphere and priceless view. Don't hesitate tot make reservations for the restaurant on the 17th floor. Not only is the food sublime and from a level you don't experience very often in a hotel, also the service and again the view over Amsterdam makes this an experience that will make you come back. I know I will!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear PanHuyzen,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

It is exactly these kinds of guest experiences that my team and I strive for day in, day out!

Many thanks as well for the kind words you spent on our rooftop terrace. We have only recently opened this outlet; such reviews only make us more confident that it was good we did!

The printout of your review now has a nice spot in our canteen; there it serves a motivator for the entire team!We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Warm regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel has class, style and most of all it has a very very classy bar on the top floor!
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and my room had a great view. The staff are friendly and the mojito's are truly divine! The only thing I missed on the breakfast buffet was the bacon, but I would love to stay there again if I have to spend a night in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Try having a corner room between the 10th and 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Heschipoe,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5.

Many thanks for your positive comments in regard to the facilities our floor 17 restaurant provides. I will pass your words on to our staff!

We very recently opened a rooftop terrace as well. I bet that, with the sun on your face and with the view being even more spectacular, your mojito will taste even better!

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The room was very modern and comfortable but quite small. The bed was good enough and I could sleep well. The toilet was not huge but ok... The shower was big and functional. Everything very new, in good shape and in nice colours. The cleanliness of the room was amazing!
I was missing a wardrove in the room, it has only a very small facility to hang clothes and it is not very practical. The Restaurant/Bar at the top floor is very nice and you can have a drink until 01.00 AM or so... The satff is very friendly and they gave me a very professional impression. Nothing extraordinary, I wouldn't come on vacations but for a business trip is quite good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Adrian R,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

The hotel opened its doors in august 2012; therefore one could indeed say our room as well as the rest of the hotel is still very new and modern. Thank you so much for sharing this with other travelers.

In addition we would like to express our gratitude for complementing our staff. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service every day again and guest compliments are the best motivation to strive to improve continuously.

In the event you were ever to change your mind and would consider visiting us for a holiday; we do provide executive rooms for our guests as well. These are larger and even provide a bath next to the large shower that you already mentioned.

Thank you once more for sharing your comments, we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is lovely, really nice rooms and bathrooms. very clean. Also very busy. Has a topfloor bar/restaurant open in the evening which is ridic expensive. If you miss dinner there isn't anywhere nearby to eat as its quite a secluded place, we ended up gettin takeaway via reception. The breakfast runs out of food and takes a while to be replenished and there are queues to get to the food. Sometimes can't find a seat at breakfast. China Airlines takes over part of the restaurant.
Other than the fact its mega busy its a nice place to stay just a little bit out of town when it comes to sightseeing. The I Amsterdam card gets you free travel included with the price so as long as you don't mind a 20 min half hour tram ride its not so bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear WKD811,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.

I’m however quit surprised regarding your comments towards the location of the hotel. Within a 5 minute walk, there is a lovely square with multiple restaurants and the tram ride should only take 12 minutes to the Dam Square.

Your constructive feedback towards our restaurant and bar area, are however highly appreciated. We will absolutely use your comments to improve our services and facilities.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us your comments.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fantastic hotel, very clean, huge rooms, clean bathrooms, really modern and superbly designed.

Staff are really friendly and helpful. Had one slight issue of a light flicking on/off and this was fixed immediately.

One girl (I believe her name is 'Fleur') I want to say extra thanks, really helpful and just brilliant at the front desk!

Easy one tram access in/out of town. Would return for sure

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Rourke24,

What an excellent 5 bullet rating on Tripadvisor! That fact that you were over the moon about the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is a big compliment to the whole.

In particular, I will share your comments with my colleague who is mentioned. Thank you very much for these wonderful words!

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.