We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #63 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We booked very last minute and all was fine with our booking when we arrived.
The hotel is close to a tram stop and far enough out of town to get away from it all at the end of the night! We found the rooms clean and large enough for us - we were out, not spending time in the room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Lola86Dorset,

Thank you very much for all the positive and friendly words towards your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I’m very glad; we were able to provide you just a comfortable stay as expected. I will definitely share your comments among my team.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    659
    177
    53
    45
See reviews for
166
734
62
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Terrible service, after booking and paying for two rooms we arrived to discover the hotel was 'overbooked' and had to wait for 45 minutes whilst they found us somewhere else to stay. Awful, especially after already paying!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sally-Norris,

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience suffered during your recent visit at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I do absolutely agree that this is not the level of service we want to deliver.

Please do contact me in person so I can make sure any future visit will at least make up just a little bit!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I visited for our silver wedding and booked a deluxe room. Single beds and two cardboard cups for a coffee each seem to add up to deluxe accommodation. Location is good and the decor is designed for ease of cleaning. Apart from that not much to write home about. Of particular note is the policy to stop guests taking drinks from the bar to the bedrooms in case the glasses are used as weapons.

We won't be back

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time leaving your comments on tripadvisor.
I’m very sorry to hear about your rather negative experience in our restaurant. Please do contact me in person to discuss this serious matter.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Whats good about this hotel is that it is a bit isolated. but perhaps its isolation can be both great and an inconvenience. To get to the city center, you can hop on a tram and that typically takes around 15 mins (the tram stop is right outside the hotel). But if you are out late at night, you will need to hail a cab back which can add up. I guess if you are in amserdam to sight-see for the first time, something closer to the city center would be preferable. But at the end of the day, it'll all come down to the room rates and availability.
Comfy bed and clean rooms with a great view. CHECK. Well heated and sound insulated.
What i didn't like about the rooms was the size, if you are two people staying in the same room, there isn't enough closet space for 2 people let alone two suitcases. The spaces all around the bed were very narrow.
The sky bar on the top floor was nice for a pre-going out drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear AhmedElGamal,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on tripadvisor. Your feedback can be used for our constant seek to improve our services and facilities.
The Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is indeed located just outside the heart of central Amsterdam. The airport however, is reached in just 15 minutes.
Again, thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having missed our plane, live in this hotel was the surprise. The room in 13 floor was a dream. The restaurant in 17 stages a magic moment. A staff completes in view of the late hour of our arrival, and very thoughtful. The staff did what's necessary to supply us an unlimited buffet 1 hour after the end of the service. The room was completed.

One thank you to you to have allowed us to rest in the peace.

Room Tip: Room 1311^^
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Danny S,

Thank you very much for these wonderful words towards our staff on tripadvisor. I will definitely share your compliments among my team.
Even though your stay wasn’t planned, it was a pleasure welcoming you and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.

With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Hotel is a little outside Amsterdam but easy to get into the city as a tram stops nearby. It takes about 10-15 mins. We also walked into the city. It took around an hour but was very interesting. We arrived quite early, around 10 in the morning and our room was ready. They require a deposit per night on the room, which isnt always made clear. They can put iit on your credit card, then refund it, but if you don't have a credit card they require a cash deposit. Make sure you check before you go. There were several people at the reception desk who were very angry about this. Breakfast on the 17 floor is really good. Make sure it is included in your hotel price and not pay extra as it works out expensive. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as we had dinner in Amsterdam. The room was modern and clean. We would have had a reasonable view but it was obsecured by a Ramada Hotel Banner in mesh hanging on the building. There is a lovely park very nearby, but we didn't see many restaurants or cafes. To be fair it is a little out of the main city of Amsterdam if you want to pop back to your hotel for something.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear JILLE810,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a useful review on tripadvisor.

As mentioned in you review, the city centre is about 10 minutes away by tram. The tram stop however is just around the corner.

I would also like to thank you for providing our future guests with such useful information regarding the nearby park and our own Floor 17.

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed here with 3 of my girlfriends and we had an amazing time. The hotel was very clean and lovely modern decor. Our room had a lovely view and the bar on the top floor was very chic with amazing views. The location was ideally located a short tram ride to Dam sq with a tram stop right outside the hotel. I got a really decent price when we stayed here as it hadnt long been open, i think it worked out at about £30pp but i have recently priced it up to go again and found the prices have dramatically increased. Although a lovely hotel, i wouldnt be prepared to pay more than £50pppn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear key1982,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review online.

I’m very glad to read that you have enjoyed you stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. The roomrates do indeed change on a daily basis. In case you would like to know our best available rate in case of any future stay, please do contact our reservation office.

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and I do hope to welcome you back any time soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.