We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break but dont visit the sky bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Whaley Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break but dont visit the sky bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

i have just come back from a 3 day break, where i stayed at the Ramada Apollo,Amsterdam.

this a lovely hotel, clean and bright hotel, the staff were extremely freindly and efficient .

Our oom was gorgeous , it was clean and well decorated and we were situated overlooking amsterdam so our view was spectacular especially in the evening watching the sun go down.

I suppose if i was to be really finiicky i would say the shower was not the best, the head didnt stay in place and it leaked all ove rthe floor, but apart from that it was amazing , we absolutely loved it and would recommend anyone to stay here, the bus and met links to get to into the city were great and really convenient, the tram stops are located right outside the hotel.

My only concern was the sky bar, I was with y husband and two friends and we thought as an early night we will go and have a relaxing evening in the sky bar, NO , that wasnt to be the case, we found it over priced, pretentious and not welcoming at all, we wrer actually relieved to be out of there after paying 34 euros for 3 drinks.

apart from that great stay and would recommend it,

Room Tip: we stayed in 1320 with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear EM ANDMOKE F,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on tripadvisor!

I’m very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The fact that you would recommend this hotel is a big compliment to the whole team.

On the other side I’m sorry to hear about your experience in Floor 17. Please do contact me in person via e-mail or during your next stay so we can discuss this matter.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    537
    148
    46
    39
See reviews for
135
601
46
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here in the dead of winter, with snow drifts piling up all around, and it was so warm and inviting to come into the beautiful lobby with fireplaces blazing! It is a bit of a trudge to the snow to get to the tram station (of course, that is only a problem in the winter!) and even then it is not too far. I didn't venture out too much around the hotel other than to get to the tram (because of the snow).
The room was

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear mrcurtis08,

Thank you very much for these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I’m sorry to hear that you had to visit Amsterdam during the only real winter days this year. Tram 13 however, is indeed located right behind the hotel.

I do certainly hope to welcome you once again in Amsterdam, possibly in summer time!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ramada Apollo is out of the main town, about 10 minutes on the tram which stops just outside and is very easy at 7.50 euros a day for as many trips as you like. We had an executive room which was large with 4 great big windows on the 14th floor. On the 17th floor was the bar and restaurant - lots of cocktails by quite expensive. Continental breakfast with extras such as scramble eggs, mushrooms, sausages all very good. Staff could not do enough to help you, hotel mini van picks you up from airport for free but to return to airport you have to book for 5 euros but well worth it. We got a really good deal for this hotel but it you weigh up the cost of the trams and taxi it may be worth paying slight more to get nearer the centre. We went to two great restaurants, Lion Noir (not that cheap but really worth it) and Maxx (Thai/Indonesian), you have to book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high view for a good view. Executive rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Frances66,

Thank you very much for all these useful words to our future guests. I’m glad to read that enjoyed the service provided to you since this is one of our main focus points.

The hotel is indeed located just 10 minutes from the Dam Square. With the 24-hour public transportation ticket you can reach each destination in Amsterdam within 30 minutes.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us a review and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is very clean and modern. Good choice for breakfast with fabulous views but it can get very busy. Not much nearby, apart from KFC but the tram is on the doorstep for easy access to the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Angel2010Uk,

Thank you very much for your 5-bullet rating; this is a big compliment for the whole team!

I would also like to thank you for sharing such practical information for our future guests. This can be from great importance.

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Visited march 2014 and for the most part everything is very nice, staff are very friendly and helpful. The standard panoramic rooms are on the small size but the bathroom make up for this with it nicely set out and the large shower area. Limited space and storage for any lengthly stay. Very disappointed with the sky lounge, found it over priced and quite pretentious with no atmosphere. Stayed for 1 drink and was very relieved to leave. For a city break this is an ideal hotel but not suitable for a longer stay or for a Family especially in the standard rooms, panoramic view is very good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Susan P,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor!

Your comments are used to constantly improve our level of service. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience in Floor 17. Please do contact me in person in case of any further questions regarding this experience.

I am however, very glad with your compliments towards our staff. These words will definitely be passed on to the team.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We found this hotel for our first stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is well-appointed. The rooms (single bed) was small (just enough room for one person to walk around the bed at a time) but tastefully decorated. The staff was friendly and obliging. There is a park across the street (Rembrandt Park) with small animals like a pony, pot-belly pig, chickens/rooster, etc. Access to City Center was easy enough by means of a tram 200m away. Rates were very reasonable for what you get. Breakfast was good and satisfying so that you were not starving come lunchtime. The dinner buffet was overpriced, though, for what you are getting; pasta. All in all, I would recommend this easily.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing City Center (facing east). Otherwise, you risk opening you curtains to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Nick F,

Thank you very much for writing us a review online!

I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback regarding the dinner buffet. This can be used to improve our facilities and services in the future.

The fact that you would ‘easily’ recommend the hotel is a big compliment to all my colleagues and I will definitely share your comments.

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my partner went here at the beginning of Feb and had a great time! Hotel is in an ideal location only a 15 min tram ride from the centre. Hotel have a free mini bus from airport to Hotel and driver was really nice and friendly on the way and way back. Also had a few drinks in the bar both nights and were served by very attentive staff and in comparison to the rest of Amsterdam the bar was reasonably priced!. All staff we dealt with were more than happy to help with any questions we had. Very comfortable nights sleep too! I highly recommend staying here if visiting!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jack M,

Thank you very much for rating your recent stay with 5-bullets. This can be seen as a big compliment to the whole Ramada team!

Since the service provided by our employees is one of our main focus points, I’m very excited to read that you have enjoyed this service!

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.