We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay would definitely stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Earn 500 BPS
Ranked #73 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay would definitely stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in feb and we thought the hotel was great! Getting from the airport to the hotel was very easy and the driver was lovely, showing us around. Check in was good however, we didn't know we had to pay a further 50euro per night. This was really annoying and people should be informed before. We were lucky we had this otherwise it would of came out or our spending money. They also told us it would be refunded into my bank within 48 hours and I'm still waiting for it and we have been back over a week! I think this is terrible as I am In Need of this and can't get to it. I have rang the hotel and they said there is nothin they can do. Very frustrating! But the rooms are clean and the bed is comfy, the staff are nice and very helpful. There is a tram stop right out side where you can reach dam square in less than 10mins! Get the number 13 there and back. If you want any food for in your hotel then get it while your out as the hotel doesn't have much and it's pricy. We did like the hotel and we got a brilliant deal with British airways and I would definitely stay here again, I would just pay the deposit cash so I get it back when I leave!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Chloe0721,

Thank you very much for taking time writing us such a detailed review on tripadvisor.
With regards to the deposit I can inform you that we always ask a credit card or cash deposit upon arrival to guarantee incidental costs like bar and restaurant. We have this policy, like most hotels, in place to allow guests to charge incidentals to their room and to avoid that guests leave without paying their invoice. Unfortunately this happens a lot without this policy. Please do contact me in person so I can look into your missing deposit immediately.

Next to this I’m very delighted with your compliments towards the hotel, and its service, in general. Reading that you might be coming back is one of the biggest compliments we can get!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    483
    132
    42
    36
See reviews for
123
537
43
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at the Apollo recently as a birthday surprise from my partner. We were picked up from the airport by the hotel shuttle and on arrival at the hotel the friendly reception staff made us feel very welcome. We had a room on the 15th floor overlooking Amsterdam. Unfortunately it was raining so the view was not that great. All staff were very pleasant and happy to help.

The room was clean modern and functional as was the bathroom. We dined in the bar on the 17th floor the first night opting for a light salad which was fine and the staff were attentive and the wine was good.

Breakfast was good - plentiful hot and cold food- with all round views of Amsterdam from the breakfast restaurant.

We used the tram both days to get into central Amsterdam - about a 10-15 minute tram ride from a stop almost outside the hotel.. It costs 7.50 Euros for all day travel and well worth it. We crammed a lot of sightseeing and walking into our two days and were very pleased to get back to the Apollo and our restful room at night. One slight niggle - the pillows were very plump and I prefer a slimmer pillow but am probably in the minority. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear BBTrisha,
What a fantastic review regarding your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre! Next to this I would like to thank you for this 5 bullet review! This really means the world to me and my team.

Your comment regarding our beds is from a high importance to me, also your positive experience regarding the service and dining facilities are highly appreciated.

Regarding the pillows, please do inform us in case of any future stay so we will be able to put different pillows in your room. My colleagues are to your disposal 24 hours a day!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future and we will do our outmost best to make your next stay even more memorable.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely perfect stay, was mine and my partners second stay at the hotel and it was amazing. Staff are so friendly and welcoming and the driver who picked us up from the airport was so helpful. Dined at floor 17 two out of three nights because the food was that delicious. The sirloin steak was that good we had it on both nights. Great location and can't wait to come back :) thanks again x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jquinn18,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We will share your lovely comments about the staff with them.

Next to this it is wonderful to read that this was already your second stay. Hopefully many will follow in the future!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
1 review
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Well-designed rooms.location is pretty good.staff are very friendly and helpfull,tv room in the lobby free internet provided breakfast is at top floor with amazing view this hotel absouletly highly recommended......

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Ozhan K,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. What a compliment you were over the moon with our hotel. We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great hotel, clean and modern great bar on the 17th floor, really friendly staff will definitely stay there again. Being just out of the centre makes it great value for money and it's got a tram and bus stop right outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Graham S,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

The hotel is indeed located right next to the city centre, with tram 13 you will be at the Dam square within 12 minutes.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us such a positive review and I do hope to welcome you back once more.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

So impressed with this hotel, I cannot say enough good things. A party of 8 of us stayed for 2 days and the hotel was perfect. Great location, 10 mins on the tram to the Centre, tram stop right outside. Airport shuttle, handy and efficient. Great service, lovely rooms, fab hotel all round. Didn't eat here so cannot comment on food but the 17th floor bar is stunning. Great atmosphere, views over Amsterdam are great. Perfect place to start your night before heading into centre. Will 100% be visiting Amsterdam again and will 100% be staying here again when we do. I could go on about how impressed I was but not enough superlatives. You will not be disappointed staying here

Room Tip: High floors offer fantastic views over Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear MrsAbrahams,

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5 bullet rating, this really means the world to us!

As mentioned in some previous reviews, I’m really delighted with the compliments regarding our staff. I will definitely share your review during our employee meetings.

The fact that you would not hesitate to stay with us again is definitely one of the biggest compliments we can get!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just been away for a valentines weekend in Amsterdam and was well pleased with our hotel. Started off at the airport with the free shuttle from stop A9. There was only the two of us in the bus and the driver welcomed us to Amsterdam and chatted away as much as he could. When we arrived we were checked in efficiently and shown to the lift as our room was on the 14th floor. When we reached the room it was dark so we had to wait till morning for the great view. Very small wardrobe area to hang clothes up, but I did like the automatic light it had. Shower was massive and the room in general was neat and tidy. To get to the centre take tram 13 and get off near the Dam, or anywhere you like really as they are very regular. I think about every 10 minutes. In the morning we had breakfast and there was a great selection so you would not go hungry. We did not eat in the restaurant at night, but seen a buffet advertised in the lift for 25 euros a person. The views from the 17th floor restaurant were superb and I would definitely recommend trying to get a window seat and if you look to the far right as you enter the football stadium is visible. The centre maybe walkable in the summer, but we opted for the trams with a 48 hour pass for only 12 euros each. Checkout was slightly confusing as the girl told us we had already checked out. We wanted to store our luggage in a room until we were getting the shuttle to the airport, but were told it was full so the bags were being put in a meeting room. This seemed secure enough as the room was locked and we were given a numbered ticket. The shuttle back to the airport left bang on time and the trip seemed quicker back. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views and grab a window seat in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thank you very much for these wonderful words on tripadvisor! Your review describes all the important aspects of the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I’m sorry to hear about the confusion during check-out, but I do believe this has been sorted quickly.

It was a real pleasure welcoming such a positive guest and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.