We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Ramada Apollo was a great hotel for our city break. When we arrived into Amsterdam airport, we walked out the main entrance there was a sign at the bus stop for our hotel (we would recommend the free hotel shuttle bus as other companies were going to charge 16€ each way but the hotels service is completely free, the return journey to the airport is 5€ each - make sure you book a space on the bus at reception to secure your seat). The hotel was modern and I particularly loved the reception area, it was very Christmassy! The rooms were spacious enough, good sized bathroom and a free safe to use. The rooms were cleaned daily- fresh beds/towels and the wi-if/ Tele was great with lots of UK channels to choose from. The breakfast on the 17 floor and had a good variety, the views of the city from there really make the hotel special. The locker room when we left luggage on our last day was also good and very secure. Although the hotel is around 20 mins from the centre it didn't feel that long and we enjoyed using the tram to travel into the centre (on the first night we arrived we paid 2.80€ for an hours use of the tram but the next day we bought a 3 day unlimited pass from reception for 16.50€ which was reasonable considering how many times we took advantage of it.) Some of the sights we visited were the Ryk museum and Van Gogh museum (both cost 15€ each - I was disappointed there was no discounts for students!). We really enjoyed the light festival boat ride (if you go into the ticket shops located around the city it's costs 15€ ... 17.50€ without buying from the shop). We had some lovely meals particularly a Thai restaurant near the Anne Frank museum possible called Seun but I can't quite remember. All in all a great trip to Amsterdam and we would definitely stay again/ recommend to friends !

Room Tip: On arrival there is a 150€ room deposit and a further 70€ charge (unsure what that one was for) make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Fiona H,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! A 5 bullet rating is one of the biggest compliments we can get. The fact that you might be coming back makes this review even more memorable.

I would also like to thank you for sharing all this useful information to our future guests.

Please do contact me in person in case of any future stay; I will make sure you will be looked after!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    546
    149
    46
    39
See reviews for
136
610
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Get off the plane and walk to the shuttle bus stop press the intercom and hey 10 minutes later the transport arrives and you get whisked off to the Hotel.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and well appointed with a smashing shower area, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen wall mounted tv.
Comfy, clean bed with a great view from our 15th floor room.
The tram on line 13 was just 200 yards from the Hotel foyer and a 10 minute trip to Dam Square.
For breakfast you travel to the 17th floor for fresh fruit, toast, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausages etc clean and well stocked.
All in all an ideal place

Room Tip: Book your return shuttle bus when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Alan T,

Thank you very much fort his magnificent review regarding your recent stay with us!

The shuttle service does indeed speed up your journey towards the hotel; I would like to thank you for sharing this useful information with our future guests.

A bullet rating is one of the biggest compliments we can get; hopefully we will be able to provide this service to you once more.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night last weekend with my partner.We found the room to be compact but comfortable.
Breakfast was great with a good selection of of cereals,bread,meats,juices ect.We had a couple drinks in the Sky bar that evening and really enjoyed the experience.The atmosphere and music was great.The heineken on draught was excellent and the views were spectacular.
The tram stop is conveniently located just across the road and its a pleasant fifteen minute journey into Dam square.
One thing we felt let the hotel down was the paper cups supplied for making tea/coffee in the room.
As we are kean tea drinkers this disappointed us.
Overall though we enjoyed our stay and probably would stay again in the future but would bring our own cups with us this time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kaz33osc4,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on tripadvisor. I do really appreciate the kind words provided to us regarding your recent stay in Amsterdam!

Concerning the paper cups, these are provided due to our Golden Green Key, which is the highest certificate in sustainability. Please do contact our reception team in case of any future stay so we will be able to find a solution for this inconvenience.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recently I slept for the first time in the Ramada Hotel where it was an amazing experience from the moment I stepped into the lobby till the moment I checked out. The check in was very welcoming, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We first had a reservation for a different restaurant, although the view blew me away and therefore I insisted on having dinner at Floor17 which was delicious. The location was also perfect as the tram which goes to the city center stops nearly in front of the door.
I had an amazing stay with my partner...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Google Translation
Beste G G,

Hartelijk dank voor het plaatsen van deze prachtige review op tripadvisor!

Ik ben in het bijzonder zeer blij met u complimenten betreffende het personeel. Ik zal deze vriendelijke woorden zeker overdragen aan het gehele Ramada team.

Wederom, hartelijk dank voor uw review en hopelijk mogen wij u in de nabije toekomst nogmaals verwelkomen als gast.


Met vriendelijke groet,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location is ideal - tram stop just outside the grounds of the hotel where you can get to Dam sq in under 20 minutes.
The hotel itself is very modern, clean and the views from the higher floors are outstanding.
The room we had was roomy and the decor, with its Van Gogh reference in particular was really special. The service was impeccable, from the shuttle service to the reception, restaurant and bar staff.
All in all I would say this place is faultless, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Steph M,

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5 bullet rating, this really means the world to us!

As mentioned in some previous reviews, I’m really delighted with the compliments regarding our staff. I will definitely share your review during our employee meetings.

The fact that you would not hesitate to stay with us again is definitely one of the biggest compliments we can get!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was a perfect choice. The staff were superb, especially Hans on reception. He made us feel extremely welcome. We had a wonderful corner room on the 16th floor, with an amazing view over the city from both sides. The room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were excellent, very supportive and we slept excellently in the peace and quiet. The shower was great, gallons of hot water. It really was peaceful, there was no intrusive noise at all. The bed linen was good quality. The duvets were the perfect weight for this time of year. One improvement could be made with the towels as they were rather small for bath towels. Breakfast was wonderful, on the 17th floor with great views and a huge delicious buffet and friendly staff. The location is great, a tram stops nearby (number 13) very frequently, and takes you straight into the centre of town. We loved it here and when we return to Amsterdam we will definitely come here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Coolkoala,

Thank you very much for taking time to write us such a wonderful review!

I’m especially delighted with your compliments regarding our members of staff; this is definitely a big compliment to me! I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback, please do contact the Duty Manager in case of any next stay so we will be able to provide you with the desired towels.

Again, many thanks for your lovely review and I do sincerely hope do welcome you back as a guest once more.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Initially we booked here because of the great value for money price. My partner & i we're visiting for our first trip to Amsterdam & decided to stay here. Best decision we've made!!! Yes it's a little way out of the main area of town but there's a very near by tram stop or just do what we do & take an enjoyable 30/40 minute walk (near enough a straight road) up to by the train station.

The hotel facilities were great - ESP. the Floor17 bar. Amazing views, staff who can't do enough for you & apple martini's to die for!!!

Already planning our return in May :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Laura C,

Your headline is already one of the most positives ever seen; this really means the world to us!

It is always a pleasure reading a review like yours, especially when your return is already under construction. Please do contact me in person when visiting Amsterdam again; I will make sure the same apple martini will be served to you!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.