We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, very comfortable and great location - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Superb staff, very comfortable and great location - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was a perfect choice. The staff were superb, especially Hans on reception. He made us feel extremely welcome. We had a wonderful corner room on the 16th floor, with an amazing view over the city from both sides. The room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were excellent, very supportive and we slept excellently in the peace and quiet. The shower was great, gallons of hot water. It really was peaceful, there was no intrusive noise at all. The bed linen was good quality. The duvets were the perfect weight for this time of year. One improvement could be made with the towels as they were rather small for bath towels. Breakfast was wonderful, on the 17th floor with great views and a huge delicious buffet and friendly staff. The location is great, a tram stops nearby (number 13) very frequently, and takes you straight into the centre of town. We loved it here and when we return to Amsterdam we will definitely come here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Coolkoala,

Thank you very much for taking time to write us such a wonderful review!

I’m especially delighted with your compliments regarding our members of staff; this is definitely a big compliment to me! I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback, please do contact the Duty Manager in case of any next stay so we will be able to provide you with the desired towels.

Again, many thanks for your lovely review and I do sincerely hope do welcome you back as a guest once more.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    442
    123
    40
    35
See reviews for
102
496
38
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Initially we booked here because of the great value for money price. My partner & i we're visiting for our first trip to Amsterdam & decided to stay here. Best decision we've made!!! Yes it's a little way out of the main area of town but there's a very near by tram stop or just do what we do & take an enjoyable 30/40 minute walk (near enough a straight road) up to by the train station.

The hotel facilities were great - ESP. the Floor17 bar. Amazing views, staff who can't do enough for you & apple martini's to die for!!!

Already planning our return in May :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Laura C,

Your headline is already one of the most positives ever seen; this really means the world to us!

It is always a pleasure reading a review like yours, especially when your return is already under construction. Please do contact me in person when visiting Amsterdam again; I will make sure the same apple martini will be served to you!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very nice close to the highway located hotel, very nice renovated office building. Inside very luxurious. Rooms a little bit small but very useful. With a bike you are the king, within 15 minutes riding on a bike path you can reach the center very easily. Amsterdam by bike is the best way I think.
We visit a few ramada's and this was also a very good choice.

Room Tip: Higher flours and city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear RobertMaastricht,

Thank you very much for taking to wo write us a review.

Next to this, I do highly appreciate your suggestions regarding bike rental for our future guests. You can also choose to take a route trhough the beautiful Rembrandtpark and Vondelpark. Than, your journey will take 10 minutes more.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel was15 mins on the tram to city centre, rooms were a good size, the breakfast was brilliant and the view from there was amazing. The room had everything u need with spare pillow and a great help was an iron and ironing board! The staff very friendly, helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Ask for a hard bed and a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Caspercat2013,

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for taking time to write us such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback regarding the bed. In case of any future stay, please contact me in person so we can look into it.

Again, thank you very much for this 5 bullet rating and I do hope to welcome you back any time soon!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lovely modern hotel located on outskirts of Amsterdam - easy access to town centre by Tram 13. Had to change rooms when we checked in as the room we got was very small but 2nd room ideal. Comfortable beds, warm and cosy room, blackout curtains, nice bathroom with good shower.

Hotel reception staff, bar staff and breakfast area staff all very friendly and helpful. We really liked Hans on the front desk who helped with lots of information and tips. We also availed of the courtesy transfer service from Schipol Airport, the driver was very nice and helpful too.

Icing on the cake was the 17th floor bar with stunning views over Amsterdam - nice atmosphere - good music - the only negative we could say about the hotel was one night we went for a nightcap to 17 floor and there was a Doorman who was very rude and basically told us it didnt matter is we were hotel guests or not - if there was no room to sit in the bar area we werent getting in !!!! And we had to give our coats to cloakroom - in itself not a bad idea but 1 hour later there was no staff member to give them back and we had to dig them out ourselves. However this is a very small negative is an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Wozdemir,

Thank you very much for this wonderful rating on tripadvisor.

I’m especially delighted with your comnpliments regarding our staff and I will definitely pass on these kind words.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the (near) future!


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is very clean and in a fairly good location. 11 stops on the tram from Centraal station.. The room was very nice, quite spacious and a nice 32" TV if you want to watch anything. My only problem was when we arrived and the man at the frontdesk said they didnt take debit cards and that I would need to walk for 20 minutes to go draw cash. We then were served by a lady who immediately tried my debit card and it worked 100%. We were on a tight time limit and this delayed us by quite a bit. Overall I would recommend this hotel but think the staff some training.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Geoff W,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

I’m very sorry to hear about you inconvenience during check-in. We do indeed ask for a guarantee of €50 per night. I’m glad; your debit card did work eventually. The cash machine is actually just a 7 minute walk, right next to tram stop 7 which takes you to the Leidseplein and the Museumdistrict.

Again, many thanks for sharing your experiences and I will certainly discuss you constructive feedback with my team.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying for two nights in that beautiful new hotel and it was a pleasure to stay there. As we had some issues with our luggage being delayed by the airline, the staff was very nice helping us out with everything we needed. There are good transportation options to the city center with a tram station right at the corner and an airport shuttle. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you very much for your excellent rating on tripadvisor!

I’m especially delighted with your compliments regarding our staff. I will definitely pass on your message to my team.

Again, many thanks for this wonderful review and I hope we are able to welcome you back as a guest in the future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.