We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and clean - it may be a little out but its a very short walk to the Tram stop and we bought a 3 day Tram pass for 16.50 Euro's each (we got these from reception) and managed to get everywhere very easily - the only gripe would be full size pillows would be nice

Room Tip: Buy your tram ticket from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Owner at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Garrych,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on tripadvisor!

I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback. This will certainly be discussed with the persons responsible.

It has been a pleasure welcoming you as a guest and hopefully it will be again in the future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    540
    148
    46
    39
See reviews for
135
606
46
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Dont be panic with the location. you have under your nose Tram num 13 that take you every 8-12 min to the center and from there to anywhere with other tram.
nice breakfast, very good attitude. the rooms are too dark, that the only problem with this hotel.

Room Tip: try to ask for high floor. the view is more amazing from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ido Y,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Next to this, I would like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback, this will definitely be discussed among all departmental managers.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was booked for me via travel agent. Upon arrival we were given a room with a double be instead what was oredered two tin beds,.The receptionist said we had been given what was ordered, We then booked another room at 120 euros which was much more than I had paid originally. The receptionist later said it had been her fault and she would speak to the manager which she failed to do. I asked for the general managers contact which I received a email saying he cannot be contacted Then contacted the Chief Executive of the group and again received no answer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Hammers2020,

My sincere apologies for this inconvenience, this is definitely no our expected level of service.

I do think that you might have a wrong e-mail address; please contact the hotel and I’m sure my colleagues will provide you with the right contact details.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in this hotel , No complaints at all, Shuttle service to and from airport is really good , saves time and money. Hotel really clean and tidy , Tram stop a 2 minute walk and tram takes about 10 minutes into the city centre. Good selection for breakfast.
Could not have asked any more for our short break.
Thank you Apollo !

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear IanMandy1709,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a beautiful review regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I will definitely share your positive words and your 5 bullet rating with my team.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My sister in Law and I have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam we are in our young 60s !Right from stepping out of the Airport and Catching the free shuttle we loved the R Apollo.Our room on the 12th floor had amazing views,it was stylish clean ,had a great bath room and best of all the MOST comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel.!The breakfast on the 17th floor was absolutely marvellous,every thing you could wish for,so fresh too.I would really recommend this fabulous base for a break to Amsterdam,the tram 13stops outside of the back of the hotel 16 50 euros for 3days brilliant ,use as much as you like.Go and see Ann Franks house located off the 13tram route they will announce it ,very moving.All in all a great trip thanks to the Ramada Apollo,we will be back!

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be good,I have travelled a great deal and this is at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Jean S,

What a fantastic review regarding your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre! Next to this I would like to thank you for this 5 bullet review! This really means the world to me and my team.

Your comment regarding our beds is from a high importance to me, also your positive experience regarding the breakfast is highly appreciated.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future and we will do our outmost best to make your next stay even more memorable.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is modern and newly furnished. Deluxe room is comfortable and warm during winter snow season. Airport to hotel transfer was free and is around 15 minutes ride.

Resturant and bar at top floor is very good and good value. There is a steam room in basement level open until 10pm. There is a storage facility in the basement to storage personal belongings in case you plan to travel around europe and return to the hotel later in the trip before flying home.

The hotel is located 15mins tram ride from Amsterdam city. After a certain time at night might have to catch a bus or taxi as trams only operate within certain time. Location is also good for those to are not too keen being close to the city red light or green light district.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Michael T,

Thank you very much for sharing such useful information regarding the hotels facilities and the transportation options.

On behalf of my team I would like to mention our gratitude for having you as our guest. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went as a couple (in our fourties) late November, four nights. Second year running we've stayed here. Great value (booked with Travel Republic 6 months in advance) inc.breakfast. Excellent choice for breakfast, from fruit, hot buffet, pancakes with various toppings to choose from. Lovely city views from restaurant.

Great location - tram 13 from virtually outside the hotel to Dam Square/Central. Frequent service runs til approx 12.30am. 4 day tram pass 21 Euros. Staff can vary but most are helpful. Tip - if you want the airport shuttle on departure, book in advance (soon after you arrive) as it's a minibus and gets full up quickly (approx 8-10 seats). Shuttle free on arrival (stop A9 at airport) and 5 Euros pp for the return journey.

Room - housekeeping staff very good (better than last year!) very clean room, towels changed daily - room on 15th floor, great views, beds comfy. Mirror in bathroom has a heated? area that stays steam free after shower - very handy!! Corner room as we requested a quiet room away from the lifts. Noticed airline crews use this hotel - a good sign!

We plan to return to Amsterdam and would definately stay here again!

Tip - join Wyndam Rewards for free prior to staying there and they should give you a free bottle of water and snack if you print/show your (paper ok) card.

Room Tip: Corner, if you want a quiet room away from lifts. High floor - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Lamby41,

Thank you very much for choosing the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre twice already! This is definitely a big compliment to all of my colleagues.

I would also like to thank you for sharing such detailed travel information and room suggestions.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again next year and we will certainly try to make you next stay even more memorable.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.