We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean and modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, Amsterdam 8272, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #62 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely clean and modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancée for 4 nights this week.
As previous reviews have stated, not the nicest from the outside but the interior inside is to a high standard. All nice, clean and modern.

The room is small but the there is plenty of space for clothes, there is a couch alongside the window (we were on the 16th floor so this was great for getting comfy and looking at the views) and a desk with a chair. There was also a mirrored unit with a flat screen in the middle with plenty if channel choices. The bed is pretty big and very comfortable however the pillows were slightly uncomfortable for my liking.
The bathroom was lovely, again very clean and the shower was great.

Only downside to the room id say is we had quite a bit if noise that seemed to come from the bathroom that was quite irritating when sleeping however when the door was closed over it wasn't as loud. Think this was coming from the air conditioning?

We had breakfast there this morning and there was plenty of choice however slightly on the dear side (€35 for 2 people) so glad we only ate the once. Didn't go for dinner or drinks so can't really comment on that.

There is a team stop right outside the hotel (number 13) which takes you into the city centre in about 20 minutes however it is also a nice walk!

If you get off at the tram stop before the hotel or even walk, there is a square with a supermarket at the right hand corner which is hard to see, however we got plenty of water and got some lovely croissants for breakfast here a few mornings for next to nothing.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, the staff were helpful - we had an issue on our last night and were seen to straight away by the general manager who came to our room. Offered us to move&some drinks at the bar. When checking out we got our breakfast charge removed and again they apologised for the problem.

Overall I would recommend this hotel :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear xspider_babyx,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a Hotel Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    377
    102
    31
    28
See reviews for
89
427
35
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Petherton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Got a deal at last minute.com, just over £50 a night. Thought that was a good rate and seeing hotels in the city centre was 3 times that I thought I'd use it. I arrived early so the room wasn't ready but they kindly offered to store my case. The room was quite small but very well equipped. Everything had a place, very ingenious storage spaces. There's even a USB charging point in the desk which didn't go off when you left the room and took your key card out the holder. Views all the way into downtown across a park.

The tram stops right outside and it's about 12 minutes into town. I wasn't aware of the shuttle so took the train from the airport but will it next time. The shuttle to the airport was very efficient and took less than 15 minutes. Love the (lack of) traffic in Amsterdam.

If I had to gripe, it would be the very small pillows and the mattress topper which kept coming off in the night. Also, they don't leave very much coffee in the rooms and I had to get extra from reception.

Rooms were clean and tidy every day and one day the housekeeper even came to check if everything was order. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Antler_62,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and our location between the airport and the city center.

It is great that you will return to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre that is the biggest compliment we can get!

Warm regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very bad experience in this hotel: we booked rooms for our business guests for more than 3000€ and paying in advance. In spite of this, every guest was asked to pay for the room at check out, and every time one of he clerks apologised after having double checked with their managers. As a last straw, they checked out one guest one day in advance, his room was emptied by a service man and all his belongings were put in a bag. When he tried to enter his room, he found someone else's stuff in it. No excuses, we'll never use this hotel again

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is not the fanciest from outside but has a nice design inside. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The floors still smelled a little bit like freshly painted but this was nothing of great concern. Better than the other way round. Our room was a little bit small but quiet and comfortable with also nice modern interior and a very comfortable bed. When having breakfast the view from the 17th floor restaurant is amazing. Choice of breakfast was good although the choice of cheese and sausage was a little bit poor. Good parking facilitiy for reasonable price. We reached the centre of Amsterdam by tram within 10-15 minutes. The availability of nice restaurants around the hotel is not so good. The restaurant on 17th floor is pricy but in my opinion the quality of food is not a good value for the money. Spent 100 EUR for two persons but already had better food for that price. The cocktail bar is nice and you have a great view on Amsterdam. All together a nice hotel. We did not regret our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Ngemelis,

I really enjoyed reading your feedback about your stay. Many thanks you for all your kind words, positive feedback and suggestions. I will make sure that the entire team will be informed about this.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!


With kind regads,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great value at £62/night. slightly out of town but great tram links into the centre which run every 10mins. Small but very quiet & comfortable rooms. Shuttle service to the airport is excellent & very good value (free on arrival, €5pp return). Very friendly helpful staff, especially the shuttle drivers.
The views are outstanding, especially from the bar on the 17th floor. Drinks are a tad more expensive than town but the friendly knowledgeable staff & views make it well worth it.
We would definitely look to stay here again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found staff helpful. Breakfast on the 17th floor was great. Only negative was it's location far from the center, It took 20-30 minutes on the tram, Room was nice and clean,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we didn't really know what to expect, but over all found the hotel to be very good.

We arrived at the airport and Made our way through to the bus stops, there we found a button to press to call the hotel for a pick up. I was not sure if the button worked as I didn't hear anyone but the bus arrived within a couple of minutes and we were able to get straight on. The driver was very funny and gave us lots of useful information about the hotel and how to get around the city.

Check in was very efficient and we were in our room on the thirteenth floor very quickly, we were able to book breakfast for our three mornings during check in (€12.50 per person per day) and the return trip to the airport (€5 each). We were also asked to leave a credit card and that we would have to pay city tax on leaving, all of which I was aware of from reading reviews. Views are amazing from the higher rooms, we could see right to the city from our room, and there were pictures in the lifts pointing out the landmarks visible.

The room was a good size, and had tea, coffee, a tv with all channels, a hair dryer and iron. The room was a little dark, so it was difficult to find things in the wardrobe, but that is a minor fault.

Breakfast was a continental buffet and worth the money, the bar in the evening was quite expensive (€5 for half pint) but we found everywhere was expensive in Amsterdam, we paid €35 for a pint, 2 vodkas and a coke in Dam square when we were out. You have to choose where you eat and drink carefully!

We found the hotels location perfect for us, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but not too far, about 15 mins on the tram, passes are available from reception, we paid €16.50 for a 72 hour pass, this was great as you can hop on and off trams all day and night, also covers the metro and busses but we had no need to use them.

All in all found the hotel to be great value for money and would definately recommend it to friends and family going to Amsterdam, hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, Amsterdam 8272, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.