We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ideal for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a long weekend holiday. I'd recommend this hotel.

Even though the hotel is a little bit out of city center, it is very easy to travel to the center (Central Station, Dam Square etc.) via Tram 13. The tram stop is just in front of the hotel. It takes 15-25 min depending on when you go to the center.

Hotel looks and feels very new. Rooms are kind of small but sufficient for a young couple.

There is a complimentary shuttle service from Schiphol Airport. But they charge 5 Eur/p.p. to bring back you to the airport. I think it is a very reasonable price considering the effort and money you would spend taking taxi or public transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    498
    136
    46
    37
See reviews for
128
554
43
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had the most excellent martini on the 17th Floor at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam. One that even 007 would be more than impressed by. Mr Mark Horne (actual name) reputation is internationally acclaimed apparently and the results are in my opinion a most definite YES!! He works in the top echelon of the industry and if you ever find this guy I suggest you experience his skill and am certain Daniel Craig would like to meet and experience his Vespa's, he's the best in the world and I travel I! Stirred, not shaken of course. Mitch

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

it 's the first time i been here.good location and wonderful room.The room look really nice and have a big bathroom. Big and good breakfast. easy public transport we had a great time in this wonderful city,bathroom is great, always clean, amazing huge shower. plenty of soap thanked to a very clever and nice dispensable soap mechanism. you won't run out of soap by those little bottle you find in every hotel ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam; we wanted to relax, go to gym and enjoy the city attractions. The hotel is very easy to reach although it is a bit far from the most touristic area. On the other hand, museums, stadium and other places can be reached by the effective tram system, so no problem. The hotel is very modern, wifi works well and room was very nice. We had chosen a bit more expensive corner room: it was very spacious in all respect and offered a wonderful view over Amsterdam.

The Floor 17 restaurant is an absolute delight. Although expensive, the kitchen is excellent and scenery truly wonderful. The service is excellent. During the weekend, it is advisable to make a reservation ahead.

The gym is adequate: there are several cardio exercise equipment but only one multipurpose equipment for muscle exercise. If there are several people at the same time, it might be awkward to wait for the muscle workout. During our stay, the gym was not crowded at all.
BUT: there is an incomprehensible lack of attention to detail. I would expect that a hotel of this standard really shows the quality in all respects. First of all: the reception is friendly but unhelpful. We asked several times for somebody to come and check the room temperature as it kept low despite our attempts to adjust it. Secondly: the hotel provides paper cups for coffee and two plastic cups in the bathroom. Paper cups were replaced every day, plastic cups never. Also, one set of toiletries was provided on the first day, then nothing. This is incomprehensible lack of attention to detail for a hotel that charges 200+ euros for a night.

If you don't care about details, this would certainly be worth of 'excellent'. For me, 'excellent' demands all details right.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room, the rooms in the corner have a clever 'sleeping area' and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best service i found in my life in a hotel... A big thanks to the receptionists, particular to the Hichem. The room look really nice and have a big bathroom. Big and good breakfast, but do not eat pizza from the bar/restaurant because was really... But the rest is Top!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremelo, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Celebrating twenty years of marriage in Amsterdam, we had the pleasure to stay in this fine, modern looking hotel.
With an excellent location & easy public transport we had a great time in this wonderful city.
Nicely decorated rooms and a awesome view when having breakfast.
We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Distance was a concerned when I booked this hotel but I went for it because of the very good price and look of it. I do not regret any single choice.
Position is outside the centre of AMS, really far, but the tram stop is right behind the corner out of the hotel (line 13) and it brings you directly to Magna plaza, right next to Dam plein, in just 10 mins.
Rooms are very nice, comfortable, not very big but enough to move around. We were at the 10th floor and the view is amazing. bathroom is great, always clean, amazing huge shower. plenty of soap thanked to a very clever and nice dispensable soap mechanism. you won't run out of soap by those little bottle you find in every hotel ;-)
I found it (personal opinion) hard to sleep due to the elevators (they have 6 of them) basically always going but I think that is because our room was right outside where you take the elevator. Nothing crazy but if you have light sleep or problem sleeping it's a downside. So if you can ask for a room far away from them (if you have trouble sleeping).
Breakfast is absolutely great, a continental plus I'd say. You'll find almost everything and of very good quality.
They took a deposit of 150 EUR from the CC when we arrived.
All in all a very good experience and I would return there right away if I had to go back to AMS!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.