We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here on Sept. 24, 2013 after our flight back to the States was cancelled. Considered an airport hotel although it's a good 15 minutes away. We got an executive room #516, and it was very, very nice with floor to ceiling windows on 2 of the walls. A large very edgy room.....West Elm looking done in browns and limeish green. Large bathroom with double sinks, large tub and large shower. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an executive corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    546
    149
    46
    39
See reviews for
136
610
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jisp, The Netherlands
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed 24 hours in Amsterdam. The hotel is well situated; on a short distance from Schiphol Airport and very close to the inner centre (10 mins by bike/tram (stop around the corner)). Good bikes are for rent at the reception. The restaurant Floor17 has splendid 360 views, overlooking Amsterdam and surroundings. On a clear day like we had you could see as far as the dunes along the Dutch coast. Rooms are well decorated and equipped. The hotel on a whole has a pleasant atmosphere and in combination with the friendly staff it was a pleasure to stay here. Do go for a drink in the bar at the 17th floor at the end of the evening. You will not regret!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our stay at the Ramada was wonderful we were greated by Celeste who on arrival upgarded us to an executive room (great start). A short 10 min tram ride (#13) gets you to Dam square. Room was spacious, clean, bed very comfortable and fantastic view on 12th floor. Staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Overall great stay would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend it. Located in a very quiet area. Not far from the city center. Tram stop is just outside the hotel. The view on the 17th floor is amazing!!!!

Just remember that you can take the shuttle bus straight from the airport! The hotel is closer to the airport, then the Central station!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for two days with my husband. There was a queue to check in and we were then advised to come back at three pm as our room was not ready and guests dont have to. Check out until 3pm. We're given a key pass to put our luggage in storage.
When we returned and got to our room it was clean, a little on the small side but still comfortable. We didn't use any of the tea or coffee facilities but did note that they only supply paper cups.
We didn't eat any. Meals at the hotel preferring to catch the tram to the near by eating areas. Zurich restaurant that's uneasy walking distance has some amazing food at reasonable prie.
We did go to the 17th floor for cocktails on oh return to the hotel, prices here are reasonable and service was prompt and friendly even with our lack of dutch

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The best thing about this hotel as a business hotel was free hassle-free WiFi that you can connect multiple devices without problems. Thus my review is overall "average."

Location: outside the downtown, take the tram 13 to the center take about 15-20 min. They have a shuttle bus to and fro from the airport (did not use it but I guess it would be very convenient compared to a taxi).

Front desk staff was nice but didn't need their help in any thing.

Rooms: not all rooms are the same, but the room I had was tiny and worse is that there is absolutely no closet space. My 5 days I had my suitcase as the closet. Behind the bed on both sides there are tiny (I mean tiny) storage areas. You can hang couple of shirts and a suit at a height over your head. To get to the storage area you have to walk back and forth around the bed. I can't imagine who even thought of this design.
The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were essentially square hard cushions. Most of the night i slept without these hard high cushions. I asked them to change the pillows but no other options. I even thought of going out and buying a pillow.

Breakfast: was included with the room. Crowded but very good. Sometimes due to the crowd they were slow in refilling but did it. Coffee was very good. The view from the top is great you can see the flat Amsterdam terrain around you.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed in room 427, which is a corner room with two twin beds. I was travelling alone on business. The room is large for Canadian standards, let alone European ones. The room has floor-to-ceiling windows and was clean and peaceful. The bed was comfortable. The room also has a 1.5m long desk with chair, armchair, 1.5m long window seat, and enough cupboards (including an armoire!), counter space and shelves to live in the room as an apartment. The wi-fi was good and there were plenty of electrical outlets to charge my mobile devices.
Be aware: the shuttle bus does not operate after 10pm.

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, ask for a corner room with two twin beds.. You might get more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.