We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Earn 500 BPS
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for two days with my husband. There was a queue to check in and we were then advised to come back at three pm as our room was not ready and guests dont have to. Check out until 3pm. We're given a key pass to put our luggage in storage.
When we returned and got to our room it was clean, a little on the small side but still comfortable. We didn't use any of the tea or coffee facilities but did note that they only supply paper cups.
We didn't eat any. Meals at the hotel preferring to catch the tram to the near by eating areas. Zurich restaurant that's uneasy walking distance has some amazing food at reasonable prie.
We did go to the 17th floor for cocktails on oh return to the hotel, prices here are reasonable and service was prompt and friendly even with our lack of dutch

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    485
    132
    42
    36
See reviews for
124
539
43
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The best thing about this hotel as a business hotel was free hassle-free WiFi that you can connect multiple devices without problems. Thus my review is overall "average."

Location: outside the downtown, take the tram 13 to the center take about 15-20 min. They have a shuttle bus to and fro from the airport (did not use it but I guess it would be very convenient compared to a taxi).

Front desk staff was nice but didn't need their help in any thing.

Rooms: not all rooms are the same, but the room I had was tiny and worse is that there is absolutely no closet space. My 5 days I had my suitcase as the closet. Behind the bed on both sides there are tiny (I mean tiny) storage areas. You can hang couple of shirts and a suit at a height over your head. To get to the storage area you have to walk back and forth around the bed. I can't imagine who even thought of this design.
The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were essentially square hard cushions. Most of the night i slept without these hard high cushions. I asked them to change the pillows but no other options. I even thought of going out and buying a pillow.

Breakfast: was included with the room. Crowded but very good. Sometimes due to the crowd they were slow in refilling but did it. Coffee was very good. The view from the top is great you can see the flat Amsterdam terrain around you.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed in room 427, which is a corner room with two twin beds. I was travelling alone on business. The room is large for Canadian standards, let alone European ones. The room has floor-to-ceiling windows and was clean and peaceful. The bed was comfortable. The room also has a 1.5m long desk with chair, armchair, 1.5m long window seat, and enough cupboards (including an armoire!), counter space and shelves to live in the room as an apartment. The wi-fi was good and there were plenty of electrical outlets to charge my mobile devices.
Be aware: the shuttle bus does not operate after 10pm.

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, ask for a corner room with two twin beds.. You might get more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pros:
Free shuttle from Schiphol Airport and in 10-15 mins we were in the Hotel. (But trip TO the airport is 5 Euros) Located just out of the hubub near Rembrandtpark on a convenient tramline (#13). Room was small, but well-appointed. We only had two small suitcases so space was no problem. Front-desk staff were very courteous and got us extra coffee packets when we asked for it. The electric kettle was super handy for us coffee addicts, we just got instant coffee, sugar and cream packets from Albert Heijn (supermarket) and life was perfect. Nice views from 13th floor of Rembrandtpark. Comfortable bathroom, slight issue with water splashing from the shower since there is not shower door/curtain, just a partial glass wall. But we got used to it easily. TV with lots of familiar English channels.

Although the hotel is outside the main city area, it was super-convenient. Tram #13 runs almost every 15mins, we got the I AMSTERDAM Card and it had a travel OV Chipkaart which gave us unlimited access to trams and GVB buses. We used only the trams and managed great for 3 days. (I-Amsterdam card was a good value for the museums, free boat ride, etc etc.) The hotel is very peaceful and quiet and there are eating places of all kinds just a few tram stops away - from Shawarma places to Indian restaurants to the more touristy places in town. We like to live like the locals when we can, so we got supplies from the local supermarket and avoided a lot of the tourist trap food when we could. Albert Heijn seems like a popular market and had all the supplies you expect, especially fresh fruit, breads, etc.

Cons:
There was a strand of hair in the sink. Not a major issue really, but sloppy housekeeping and makes a terrible first impression.

Room Tip: 13th floor with Rembrandtpark views was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the panoramic city view from the 17th floor bar and restaurant. But it is a view from a distance as you are several miles outside the centre in a dull suburb off the city ring road.

The room was reasonable except for the uncomfortable bed and pillow. Really all you ask from a hotel like this is a good bed and it failed. A minibar would also be nice.

Food in the restaurant was good but expensive. They do have quite a captive market...

Service was efficient and polite.

Overall, not a disaster but there are many better for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is not clean and the toiletries are not good. When I get into the toilet, I saw a hair on the bottom part of the body on the top of the toilet and I have to b the one who put it in the bin. Very terrible for me. Didn't expect to this kind of terrible cleaning service in a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W6
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

perfect location, large comfortable rooms. bar with a perfect view. all the amenities you need and more (usb charge point)
tram stop just round the corner and bike to hire at reasonable prices.
would recommend for all trips.

Room Tip: views are lovely if your not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.