We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Experiences I've Ever Had at a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #76 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best Experiences I've Ever Had at a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I must say my stay at the Ramada Apollo Hotel in Amsterdam has to rank in the top 2 hotel experiences that I have ever had. The rooms were very clean. Hotel had great amenity options, an airport shuttle, free wifi throughout the hotel, and modern style rooms. The hotel is also located about one to two minutes walk away from the # 13 tram that takes you to Central Station (Amsterdam city centre). Train ride takes 10-15 minutes to get there. While all those things are great, what put this experience over the top was the outstanding customer service we received from the staff. Especially from Raymond and Stan. They went way above and beyond to accommodate our needs and we greatly appreciate them for it. When you are looking for a nice, clean hotel at a good value in a convenient location in Amsterdam, I recommend the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    452
    129
    42
    35
See reviews for
112
515
42
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The ramada is a very nice modern hotel. The double room was nicely decorated and very clean but perhaps a little small.

We had requested a room with a view of the park on a high floor which we got number 1608. Unfortunately this room was directly under the stairs in the skybar so heard people clunking up and down. Wasn't anything to complain about much though and we did ask for it!

The hotel is outside the city in a residential area but tram 13 takes you to central station in about 15 mins. We purchased the Iamsterdam 48 hour card at the airport which was great for getting around.

The park beside the hotel is lovely. The zoo is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear julza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service and product.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the best stay ever!

What a wonderderfull hotel & friendly staf!!
The reception staff helped us out with our special requirements and made our stay really pleasant!

We stayed here for 3 nights and had dinner in Floor17 every night.

Floor17 is a very nice bar & restaurant and the staff is very professional, friendly and courteous.

A very special thanks to roy & mark for making us lovely cocktails everyday!

A really big plus is the breakfast area, to wake up with fresh coffee and the best view over Amsterdam from the 17th floor is really amazing! The staff here is also really polite and friendly!

Thank you Ramada & Floor17

Room Tip: Take a top floor room for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mellin22,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

How nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course the city Amsterdam especially for your special occasion. Your kind words about the hotel itself and the bartenders Roy and Marc are really appreciated. I will make sure that Roy and Marc are informed about your positive comments. It is nice to hear the hotel met up all your expectations and that you had a great stay in Amsterdam.

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a two night break. The free shuttle from the airport was brilliant. The unexpected free upgrade to an executive suite on the twelfth floor with its gigantic bed and stunning views was a wonderful surprise. The hotel facilities were excellent and everything was spotlessly clean. The bar on the seventeenth floor served divine cocktails, and had brilliant views of the city with a chilled out vibe ( and a smoking lounge!).
We bought 48 hour travel cards from the tourist information on arrival at Schipol for only twelve euros which meant we could hop on and off the trams all weekend. The hotel is ideally situated on line 13 and is only about fifteen minutes from Dam Square.
Really enjoyed this break, am totally chilled now! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite. I would pay the extra and book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
karen273,

Thank you for granting us the maximum score. That's a very generous gesture!

I am happy to read that you really enjoyed your break, and that you are totally chilled now!
It is the biggest compliment that you would stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre again!

Thank you so much!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ramada Apollo
Amsterdam
6 Aug. 2013
N 52 22.068
E004 50.657

Very nice hotel, Service personal very friendly and helpful. The rooms to me was 5 star ++. The wife fell in love with the bath room (WC). Breakfast was outstanding and to make it better it was on the 17th floor where you got an outstanding view of the area.
This hotel was booked by Cosmo Tours.
Thanks
Emry & Virginia Latimer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Emry L,

Thank you very much for granting Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 5 bullets! It is very important for a hotel to produce good reviews as people nowadays will check Tripadvisor first before booking a room.

Your comments about the room; that they are 5 star ++ are really appreciated!!

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and we thought our stay was very average with some good things to note and disappointments which I will list below. Our stay was from August 4th to 10th.

Pros:
- Modern and bright room with lots of electrical outlets for your laptop/mobile/ipad and even in the bathroom for the curling iron.
- Great channel options on the flat screen tv
- Comfortable bed
- Iron and ironing board in the room (but you have to take it out of the cupboard and place it on the floor so you have space to hang your clothes.
- The tram was a short, less than 5 minute walk with every 15 minute service and about 15mins to the main square (Dam Square) and 20mins to the central train station. Just beware that if you stay out past 9pm the service becomes every 30mins. Tram costs 7.50 euros daily or 12.50 euros for 48hrs or 2.80 euros for a one hour pass.
- Friendly staff for the most part.
- Convenient free shuttle from the airport and only 5euros per person for the return trip, which must be booked ahead of time. It runs every 40mins from about 6am.

Cons:
- Hotel is located a bit outside the main area and very dark at night. It's also not convenient to drop off your shopping and head back out to the main area after being out all day due to the distance. Many times we really wished we could just relax in the hotel for an hour or so and then go back out but it didn't make sense so we just stayed out for an extra couple of hours or so.
- Not much in area for restaurants or shops
- Small, tight room for 2 people
- Poor headboard layout so both people are at far ends of the bed.
- uncomfortably soft and small pillows (got a cricked neck my first night)
- Poor customer service from just one male reception person a couple of nights ago. I asked for an extra pillow from reception as I got a cricked neck and was told to use a couple of towels! I asked to still please send up an extra pillow, which never came so I had to call again and his colleague (tall blond) brought one up personally.
- Poor room service. I left 1/2 cup of tea to come back and still find it on the desk later that night and they never remove used paper cups. They vacuumed just once during our stay. The shower dispenser soap was empty for 3 days and they also just replaced 1 small square of a bar of soap for the sink on one occasion so we used that for the shower as well.
- No room fridge
- Little options for tea and coffee.
- No mini bar
- No hotel guide/information package available. Not even a pen or pencil to write with although there was a very small notepad. There was no notation on the phone so we didn't know how to call reception (dial 9). We had to ask the next day upon heading out as we were not given the wifi code upon check-in. We also didn't know if there was room service or if there was, what was available so we just never bothered. This is a last minute wish after returning at about midnight wanting a snack.

The hotel appearance inside is a 4 star in my opinion but everything else makes it a 3.5 or a 3 star. It seem as if it's going through growing pains of staff training. I would possibly stay here again but first look for something closer to the center. I would recommend it to friends but would let them know the above.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mi_AahDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our product.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 1209 from August 04th to 10th 2013

Pros:
--shuttle bus from airport very convenient, cost only 5 euros to go back to airport
-free wi fi
-tv channels were good for English
-great view from our room
-reception staff were very polite, accommodating

Cons:
-no phone number directory in the room for hotel services...had to go down to the front desk to ask what the phone number for the front desk was (dial 9) so we could get the password for the wi fi
- as we had no other phone numbers, did not call for room service as we did not know if there even was
-room quite small
-check in is late...3:00PM
-bed was uncomfortable
-pillows were uncomfortable
-no bar fridge in our room
-cleaning was poor....floor was not vacuumed daily, paper cups provided for tea and coffee were not thrown in trash if we left them on the desk or in the bathroom. We had to clean the hot water kettle
-shower soap ran out and was not replaced for 3 days
-a bit far out of town. location not bad, but a bit far out of town...about 20 minutes by # 13 tram to downtown, 4 minute walk from hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear rnmiddleeast,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the reception employees.

The phone number directory in the room for hotel services are located on the television. I am really sorry to read that you thought there was no directory.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for this.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.