We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the best stay ever!

What a wonderderfull hotel & friendly staf!!
The reception staff helped us out with our special requirements and made our stay really pleasant!

We stayed here for 3 nights and had dinner in Floor17 every night.

Floor17 is a very nice bar & restaurant and the staff is very professional, friendly and courteous.

A very special thanks to roy & mark for making us lovely cocktails everyday!

A really big plus is the breakfast area, to wake up with fresh coffee and the best view over Amsterdam from the 17th floor is really amazing! The staff here is also really polite and friendly!

Thank you Ramada & Floor17

Room Tip: Take a top floor room for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mellin22,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

How nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course the city Amsterdam especially for your special occasion. Your kind words about the hotel itself and the bartenders Roy and Marc are really appreciated. I will make sure that Roy and Marc are informed about your positive comments. It is nice to hear the hotel met up all your expectations and that you had a great stay in Amsterdam.

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    541
    148
    46
    39
See reviews for
135
606
46
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a two night break. The free shuttle from the airport was brilliant. The unexpected free upgrade to an executive suite on the twelfth floor with its gigantic bed and stunning views was a wonderful surprise. The hotel facilities were excellent and everything was spotlessly clean. The bar on the seventeenth floor served divine cocktails, and had brilliant views of the city with a chilled out vibe ( and a smoking lounge!).
We bought 48 hour travel cards from the tourist information on arrival at Schipol for only twelve euros which meant we could hop on and off the trams all weekend. The hotel is ideally situated on line 13 and is only about fifteen minutes from Dam Square.
Really enjoyed this break, am totally chilled now! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite. I would pay the extra and book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
karen273,

Thank you for granting us the maximum score. That's a very generous gesture!

I am happy to read that you really enjoyed your break, and that you are totally chilled now!
It is the biggest compliment that you would stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre again!

Thank you so much!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ramada Apollo
Amsterdam
6 Aug. 2013
N 52 22.068
E004 50.657

Very nice hotel, Service personal very friendly and helpful. The rooms to me was 5 star ++. The wife fell in love with the bath room (WC). Breakfast was outstanding and to make it better it was on the 17th floor where you got an outstanding view of the area.
This hotel was booked by Cosmo Tours.
Thanks
Emry & Virginia Latimer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Emry L,

Thank you very much for granting Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 5 bullets! It is very important for a hotel to produce good reviews as people nowadays will check Tripadvisor first before booking a room.

Your comments about the room; that they are 5 star ++ are really appreciated!!

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and we thought our stay was very average with some good things to note and disappointments which I will list below. Our stay was from August 4th to 10th.

Pros:
- Modern and bright room with lots of electrical outlets for your laptop/mobile/ipad and even in the bathroom for the curling iron.
- Great channel options on the flat screen tv
- Comfortable bed
- Iron and ironing board in the room (but you have to take it out of the cupboard and place it on the floor so you have space to hang your clothes.
- The tram was a short, less than 5 minute walk with every 15 minute service and about 15mins to the main square (Dam Square) and 20mins to the central train station. Just beware that if you stay out past 9pm the service becomes every 30mins. Tram costs 7.50 euros daily or 12.50 euros for 48hrs or 2.80 euros for a one hour pass.
- Friendly staff for the most part.
- Convenient free shuttle from the airport and only 5euros per person for the return trip, which must be booked ahead of time. It runs every 40mins from about 6am.

Cons:
- Hotel is located a bit outside the main area and very dark at night. It's also not convenient to drop off your shopping and head back out to the main area after being out all day due to the distance. Many times we really wished we could just relax in the hotel for an hour or so and then go back out but it didn't make sense so we just stayed out for an extra couple of hours or so.
- Not much in area for restaurants or shops
- Small, tight room for 2 people
- Poor headboard layout so both people are at far ends of the bed.
- uncomfortably soft and small pillows (got a cricked neck my first night)
- Poor customer service from just one male reception person a couple of nights ago. I asked for an extra pillow from reception as I got a cricked neck and was told to use a couple of towels! I asked to still please send up an extra pillow, which never came so I had to call again and his colleague (tall blond) brought one up personally.
- Poor room service. I left 1/2 cup of tea to come back and still find it on the desk later that night and they never remove used paper cups. They vacuumed just once during our stay. The shower dispenser soap was empty for 3 days and they also just replaced 1 small square of a bar of soap for the sink on one occasion so we used that for the shower as well.
- No room fridge
- Little options for tea and coffee.
- No mini bar
- No hotel guide/information package available. Not even a pen or pencil to write with although there was a very small notepad. There was no notation on the phone so we didn't know how to call reception (dial 9). We had to ask the next day upon heading out as we were not given the wifi code upon check-in. We also didn't know if there was room service or if there was, what was available so we just never bothered. This is a last minute wish after returning at about midnight wanting a snack.

The hotel appearance inside is a 4 star in my opinion but everything else makes it a 3.5 or a 3 star. It seem as if it's going through growing pains of staff training. I would possibly stay here again but first look for something closer to the center. I would recommend it to friends but would let them know the above.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mi_AahDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our product.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 1209 from August 04th to 10th 2013

Pros:
--shuttle bus from airport very convenient, cost only 5 euros to go back to airport
-free wi fi
-tv channels were good for English
-great view from our room
-reception staff were very polite, accommodating

Cons:
-no phone number directory in the room for hotel services...had to go down to the front desk to ask what the phone number for the front desk was (dial 9) so we could get the password for the wi fi
- as we had no other phone numbers, did not call for room service as we did not know if there even was
-room quite small
-check in is late...3:00PM
-bed was uncomfortable
-pillows were uncomfortable
-no bar fridge in our room
-cleaning was poor....floor was not vacuumed daily, paper cups provided for tea and coffee were not thrown in trash if we left them on the desk or in the bathroom. We had to clean the hot water kettle
-shower soap ran out and was not replaced for 3 days
-a bit far out of town. location not bad, but a bit far out of town...about 20 minutes by # 13 tram to downtown, 4 minute walk from hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear rnmiddleeast,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the reception employees.

The phone number directory in the room for hotel services are located on the television. I am really sorry to read that you thought there was no directory.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for this.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Apollo earlier this week with my daughter. We found it an ideal location, relatively quiet but convenient for the city centre - about 15 - 20 minutes on the number 13 tram, which was conveniently just round the corner, and ran about every 15 minutes. There is a free shuttle from the airport - you have to use the call button at the hotel shuttle stop outside the airport entrance. We were told one was already on the way, but ended up having to wait over half an hour. However, the money saved by getting the free shuttle paid for a cocktail later!! You do have to pay 5 euros for the return trip, and book in advance, but it was well worth it.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and a reasonable size. My only criticism is that, when leaning over to clean your teeth, there was a bit of a drain smell from the wash basin waste. Maybe a regular dose of bleach or soda crystals would help.
We were booked in for room only, and enquired about breakfast when we checked in. It's expensive, but 12,50 euros when booked on arrival, as opposed to 17,50 euros on the day, so we booked. Although expensive, we enjoyed it and felt the choice was good. Neither of us is keen on cooked breakfast, so can't comment on that, but we enjoyed what we had, including some delicious pancakes.
We did go into the bar on the 17th floor for a drink on a couple of evenings. It was fairly quiet, and they did check for last orders while we were there (about 11.45 I should think). Cocktails started at about 8,50 euros, and we enjoyed a glass of prosecco for 6 euros. I would say the prices were pretty typical hotel prices.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and we would certainly go back if visiting Amsterdam in the future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear mabDevon,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

It has been a pleasure to welcome you to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here late December and loved it. The hotel was modern, clean and a good price.

It is a little out of the way but we enjoyed getting the tram into the city centre. Plus, the bar had some great views and lovely cocktails!

We would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the closer you are to the bar ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Emma B,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.