We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Ramada !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is not Ramada !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at other Ramada hotels, but this, doesn't look to be, a Ramada hotel.
We have stayed here for a few days. When we arrived, we were charged with 150€ deposit, in case we will drink something at the bar ( because in the room, you don't have fridge with sweets or drinks ). After a day, we have talked with a couple from the hotel, and they told us, that they didn't pay that deposit. When I asked the staff from the reception, the answer was "maybe my collegue made an exception, and they didn't had to pay". Oh, really?! Only some of the people in this hotel are paying this deposit?!
After this, I have called at the reception to ask for a tv remote, because we didn't had one in the room. She told us, that in 10 minutes somebody will bring me a tv remote..nobody came !! Dear Ramada..please teach your staff to be more efficient.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Denysse7,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review.

Regarding the deposit I can inform you that we always ask a credit card or cash deposit upon arrival to guarantee incidental costs like bar and restaurant. We have this policy, like most hotels, in place to allow guests to charge incidentals to their room and to avoid that guests leave without paying their invoice. Unfortunately this happens a lot without this policy.

We do make an exception when there is a group arrival and the company or agency guarantees the incidentals for the bookings. I do apologize for the remote control and I will discuss this with our team and will take steps to make improvements.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    546
    149
    46
    39
See reviews for
136
610
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

For a four star hotel the amenities are very basic. Not a great experience. He dining area is an accident waiting to happen. The tables with the low hung lamps are dangerous. The food is basic. The curtains dont darken the room. Hard to sleep during the day. No wardrobe space so dont stay for kore than a day here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Daniel W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our product.

I am really surprised to read that the curtains did not darken the room because in all of our hotel rooms we have blackout curtains.

Your remarks are very much appreciated and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The location isn't great being well outside the centre of Amsterdam, the rooms are no bigger than glorified cupboards, the bathroom has a built in trip step and the shower isn't finished having only half a glass door/wall. The complimentary tea and coffees are meagrely and only available in paper cups. This is is hardly 4 Star stuff - not even a twinkle.
Another bugbear is the willingness to charge for absolutely everything - 15 euros a day for parking, 10 euros room service charge, you get the picture. The place has seriously misplaced delusions of grandeur.
But it's the lack of freely available information about what's available that really marks this tower block architectural design disaster down. Amsterdam is a liberal city and we visited in sunny weather so when, as residents, we not allowed access to the bar, hardly itself the preserve of the city elite claimed by a dreamy bar manager, because we were wearing relaxing flip-flops it was the last straw. All we wanted was to exercise our supposed rights as residents to have a late evening coffee but were prevented by a "rule" that was nowhere to be found in any place on the hotel website or on the so-called information channel.
The least the manager could have done was offer us a free one but even this simple bit of customer service eluded him so we left angry and disappointed.
No way is this a 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear DodgerW3,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

I'm distressed to learn of your dissatisfaction as we strive to fulfill and meet the needs of all our guests.

I'm sorry to read that you had some difficulties with our location. Unfortunately I can't change the location, I can only emphasize that the City Centre is only 10 minutes by tram (Dam) On a bicycle (which we provide for rent) it is also only 10 minutes to the City Center.

Regarding the paper cups I can inform you that we have a high focus on sustainability this is also rewarded with the Golden Green Key. Therefor we use cups that can be recycled.

The fee to park your car is much cheaper than the parking fees in the neighborhood and the city centre ( € 4,- per hour)

I am sorry to read your dissatisfaction about our restaurant. We do have a dress code but I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will take steps to make improvements..

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pinte Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed three nights in the hotel. The room was excellent. Hotel has a very good parking. Breakfast is ok. With the tram the centre of town is easily reachable. Improvements are ; the hotel should organise the sale of multi-days-tickets for the tram (GVB). This would make a unnecessary trip to the central station no longer necessary. The dinner possibility on the 17 th floor should be more variable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear rorub,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with the entire team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.


Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As this was our first trip to Amsterdam we had taken great care to select our accommodation. We booked the Ramada Apollo many months ago and e-mailed a week prior to arrival to confirm that all was in order. However, on arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked and that we were being transferred to their "sister" hotel which was "even more luxurious". A taxi was ordered and we were summarily despatched to the Wyndham Apollo on the other side of the City. We will post a review on the Wyndham Apollo's website, but suffice it to say our weekend was a disaster and "luxury" is clearly a subjective term. Be warned, the staff at the Wyndham advised us that this is a regular occurrence - guests booked into the Ramada Apollo are transferred to the Wyndham (some 60 places further down the Tripadvisor ratings!!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Queenshill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service.

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
Because of a system error we had to book you out to our sister hotel. I am genuinely sorry for that.

We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Rude staff ...word of warning charge 50 euros a day ie... incase you do a runner or trash the place do not stay at this hotel you have been warned utter tosh..50 euros a day just is stupid no justification in in whatsoever ....the hotel itself is quite nice and only 15 min tram ride to the centre there are alot of hotels who don't charge this and that is why i will never return to this hotel change your policy and i may consider returning

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear riffraff78,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I would encourage you to write directly to me to expand on exactly why you think our staff is rude. My team is dedicated to a superior service culture so I apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced.

With regards to the deposit I can inform you that we always ask a credit card or cash deposit upon arrival to guarantee incidental costs like bar and restaurant. We have this policy, like most hotels, in place to allow guests to charge incidentals to their room and to avoid that guests leave without paying their invoice. Unfortunately this happens a lot without this policy.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not the most centrally located place, but take it for the quiet neighborhood with the parks nearby. Rates were fair and definitely cheaper than in-town. The tram to Centraal Station is a 2 minute walk and a 12 minute ride. It is not a hard trip at all. There are several restaurants within a 10 minute walk as well on the main boulevard of the hotel. The front desk staff, who are excellent and very knowledgeable will assist with restaurant suggestions.

The rooms are relatively spacious and very very clean. They were very late cleaning rooms because of the crush of groups which use the hotel, but they're forgiven as it was handled well and with extreme apologies.

Restaurant is too gourmet and too expensive for dinner, but there is a small plate menu in the bar. Breakfast was ample and, at least for us, included in the room rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Marc R,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I'm delighted to read your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.