We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #63 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Suffolk
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Myself and 3 friends have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Its a little further from the centre than we originally wanted, but after reading the reviews we decided to book it.
I am glad we did, as its a lovely hotel and with tram 13 just around the corner, it made it so easy to get around and at 16.50 Euro for a 3 day pass, it was great value. The rooms were lovely, everything clean. Just a few things which stopped me from giving it a 5 rating, firstly, the restaurant has a very limited choice & is not cheap, I paid 22 Euro for a Hamburger and chips but the quality was good. I think if they widened the choice more quests would eat there. Secondly, the cleaners did unfortunately leave my door open all day while I was out. Luckily nothing was taken & the reception were very apologetic. Lastly, its a shame you can not purchase a coffee in the lobby area. If you want a coffee you have to go up to the bar on the 17 floor, its a lovely area, but not enough seats to relax and have a coffee with friends when its busy.
The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, their pancakes were delicious. Nearly all the staff were lovely especially Gina who greeted quests every morning. Also a waiter called Tieste (i think) was lovely. Staff such as these should be acknowledged as it makes a stay so much more pleasant and helps a hotels reputation. The waiter called Mark at the bar could learn something from the others, as he defiantly needs his people skills improving. The hotel lays on a free shuttle from the airport to hotel, but it costs 5 Euro each to return to the airport, this was very handy.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would defiantly recommend this hotel to others.
I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    638
    173
    52
    44
See reviews for
162
716
59
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Absolutely loved the hotel from the second i stepped in the door. Staff were always there helping out if needed. Rooms were lovely and I like the personal message on the television when we checked in. Brilliant service and hotel would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights in February for his 40th birthday. Amazing views from this hotel. Staff are very officiant & polite. Rooms were lovely with modern deco & cleaned everyday with clean sheets & towels. The 17th floor bar & restaraunt was lovely.continental Breakfast was great & refreshed all the time with plenty of choice. The tram stop is just across the road which was very convenient to get you straight into dam square within 10mins. Overall lovely place & have already recommended this hotel to friends & family. We would definitely book this hotel if we were to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I picked the hotel by searching hotels four or more stars, and picked this because it was the best deal (€189 for 3 nights) and had relatively cheap (€15) parking. After arriving, I was even more pleased by the view from the high floors (I was on floor 16 of 18), the cleanliness, and the overall friendliness of the staff. I chose a basic double room which was very pleasant but I would have chosen a deluxe room had one been available with a double bed. The breakfast was very nice and they provided gluten and lactose free foods for my traveling companion as well. I agreed to take the breakfast my entire three-day stay and the price for the breakfast was reduced to €12 per day.

My main complaint, if I have to find one, is that you have to take a tram (only a short walk to the station) or a taxi to reach the entertaining part of Amsterdam.

Overall I would happily stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of March and cannot wait to go back again! Lovely hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. Reception staff advised on trams etc and provided a map of Amsterdam which was very useful getting around the city. The shuttle bus was well worth using as it was free from the airport and only 5 euros each for the return journey.

We had a super room with great views which was very comfortable - our only complaint is that they could do with more cleaning staff as one day our room did not get serviced until early evening! Our room also did not get vacuumed for the whole stay nor did the corridor outside our room and we had plaster dust on the wallpaper where the air conditioning had been repaired previously and housekeeping staff had not cleaned up afterwards. Breakfast was a bit chaotic on the Sunday due to the high number of guests arriving at the same time - went earlier from then on and it was a lot quieter. Did not dine in the restaurant as the prices were a bit steep (22 euros for a burger!) so made good use of the KFC just up the road!

Would definately recommend the hotel especially since it is located beside a lovely park where we enjoyed some nice walks but also within easy reach of Amsterdam - the tram stop is just up the road. Hope to visit again next year and will stay at the Ramada Apollo for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels but I dont think any is going to top this. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms were perfect with an excellent view of Amsterdam Centre etc. and very clean! Shower & bath and his n her sinks but best of all was we had the best nights sleep ever!! Wanted to take the bed with us lol. Only small complaint I have is bar is expensive but then you do expect that with the quality of the hotel & staff upstairs at Bar 17 could have been a little friendlier, if they were as friendly as reception staff then we would have no complaints at all. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Ramada Apollo for 3 nights at the beginning of march and we had a lovely stay.
The hotel was about 15 mins from the airport and the hotel offer a shuttle service which is totally worth using as the taxi drivers will charge up to 45 euros and completely rip you off!
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful giving us a map and telling us lots of useful information regarding the trams, sight seeing etc.
Our room was really nice, very clean and modern with a fantastic view across Amsterdam.
We settled in and headed straight into the city centre. The tram stops 2 minutes walk from the hotel, number 13. Very frequent and took us about 15-20 minutes to get into the centre which was not too far.
Breakfast finished at 10am which was fine as we were up and ready to sight see. The breakfast was buffet style so you could help yourself which we loved. Lots of choice, from pancakes to fruit, sausages and egg... Anything you would want really. Again great views from the 17th floor whilst enjoying a good quality breakfast.
There was a hair dryer provided in the bathroom so no need to bring that with you. Also we forgot an adapter and reception provided us with one for a deposit which we got back.
The bar and restaurant looked lovely in the evening. We only stopped for a drink the first night but it was a lovely bar area.

We had a really lovely trip and were extremely impressed with the hotel. I found a great deal so we got a bargain for a really great hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

Just a few tips, make sure you book a place on the hotel shuttle to make sure you can get on. It's 5 euros each.
It's worth getting a 3 day pass for the tram which you can get by central station. Also Saturday morning was really busy at breakfast so it might be worth trying to get us as early as poss to avoid the crowds!
Also bring lots of spends, it is quite expensive to eat, drink and sightsee in the city. A pint of lager was 7 or 8 euro.

We really enjoyed the Heineken experience and the canal tour which did a museum route and you could hop on and off all day. The Anne Frank house was really interesting although the queue was very long for this so be warned.


I hope you have found this useful and enjoy your stay at the Ramada Apollo as much as we did :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.