We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at around 7pm and immediately upon exiting the airport we found the hotel transfer car, so no problem there. Whilst checking in we overheard the couple in front of us being asked for a £200 security deposit, which we (and they) were unaware of, this wasn't an issue for us however if you don't know about this in advance it could really put a downer on your stay (we saw a few other people arguing with reception about this as we passed also). We checked in with no issues, staff were polite but aloof and besides checking in and checking out we had no contact with them whatsoever, although on check in the lady did give us a city map and directions to the tram etc we noticed the people in front didn't get this treatment maybe due to their complaining about the deposit.
First impressions of the room and we were really impressed. The tv was on playing nice music and the view of the city (we were on the 11th floor) was spectacular. The room was clean and brand new,the tv was great and we loved all the mirrors.
Now for the bad points; I had the worst nights sleep ever as the bed was quite uncomfy, the pillows are ridiculous and incredibly hard to sleep with, the windows don't open, there was no hand soap or shower gel in the bathroom (the bottles were empty and not replaced throughout) and after the second day (we stayed 4 nights) our disposable coffee cups were not replaced meaning if we wanted coffee we had to use the glasses from the bathroom and there were times when it felt the person cleaning the room had been distracted half way through and forgot to come back. In fairness I'm sure at least some of these issues could have been resolved by talking to the reception staff however by this stage we were pretty incapable of human interaction... We went up to the 17th floor bar late one night to find four members of staff standing around chatting, we asked If the bar was still open to which they replied yes, but the staff seemed so pretentious, unfriendly and unwelcoming we didn't go in for a drink.
Good points: free wifi, iron and board in the room, hair dryer, easy to use safe in the room and free luggage storage if you have a late flight.
Location wise the 13 tram stop is right outside and takes about 10 mins in to town centre although you can walk it in about half an hour if you like. The location has good and bad points, it's kind of nice to be slightly out of the centre but its a hassle to get back if you're feeling a little worse for wear. There's nothing around the immediate area except a KFC and a nice looking swimming pool.
Overall I don't think I'd stay here again, now I know the city a bit better I'd probably stay a bit closer to town...

Now for a mans view...

Liked it.




Lol

No...really it was ok,modern, smoky glassed room, clean. Stupid indented hole were the head board should have been so found when lying on the bed we where forced apart. No mini bar in our room. We were on the 11th floor. Think the deposit was for the strict no smoking policy. Smoking anything apart from cigarettes was frowned upon. The tv was a HDTV 1080p MTV and also uk tv bbc1 itv etc. KFC was 5min down road drive through but open till 22:00 (they wont serve u after even if you pretend to be a car). And €20 for two of us well expensive. The trip into town was a nice walk you see some cool places it feels more urban than the Leicester square like town centre. Tram easy ( you pay on them, to a man in a booth). This was my second time to the dam. I didn't remember much of the first one. But this was awesome got a real feel for the place rather than its seedy attractions. Think being a little further out helped with this, as was afraid I'd lose 4days of my life again. Not that that's a bad thing here, you just miss out all the dutchness if that makes sense.

Also airport transfer on leaving costs 5 euros each.

Room Tip: The higher up the better I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    522
    143
    46
    38
See reviews for
134
578
44
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great hotel and great service. Hotel is in nice location and was really close to the city centre, easy access to the public transportation was another plus point. Restaurant floor 17 was amazing with amazing food and amazing view. staffs were helpful and service oriented. will recommond other to visit this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an excellent modern hotel. If you can persuade the receptionist to give you a corner upper floor, these are large rooms with windows on 2 sides with large TV and tea/coffee facilities and lounge type seating. We were on the 12th floor.
The restaurant/ bar is on the 17th floor with panoramic views
There is a tram stop about 100 metres from the hotel that takes you into the heart of the city.
The only complaint!!! we had was at a weekend the buffet breakfast was a bit chaotic
Their airport transfer service is worth the cost

Room Tip: The higher corner rooms are the best if you can get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel overall was amazing. I did not like the 10 euro per a trip for room service, I think this is a bit excessive and I never heard of this in any other hotel.The hotel itself is a bit far out from the main area ie. Red Light District ETC but luckily there is a tram right outside hotel which heads straight into the main area.The staff could of been a bit friendlier and more helpful.
The fact you can smoke green in the smoking room is great and the floor 17 is very relaxing and warm.
The hotel was clean and inviting, the food was great.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at thsi hotel and will defiantly stay there again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Ramada Hotel is quite far out of Amsterdam City Centre which, makes it very peaceful and quiet away from the hussel and bussel. On arrival we checked in early at about 9oclock and they had rooms already prepared for us. The Reception was clean and the staff were very helpful. There are 17floors and we were located on the 2nd floor - The rooms were clean and tidy. A double room is made up of two single beds pushed together equiped with a safe, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, shower only (no bath), desk and a sofa looking out to Amsterdam City. The beds are extremely soft which I personally found uncomfortable as they were made up on what seems to be a thick sofa with a thick layer of memory foam on the top. One morning we overslept and had the housekeeping come in to try and clean our room, we sent them away and the room never got cleaned that day so we had to re-use the towels from the day before.

17th Floor - Looks over the whole of Amsterdam and its beautiful just like all the other reviews. There is a smoking room on the 17th floor (Ciggarettes Only) and they serve cocktails/meals and also the breakfasts. We ate dinner one night and i found there was nothing on the menu that was just plain and simple. It was all a la cart and very expensive. There are telescopes located at all four corners of the 17th floor but, the only downfall were the prices of the drinks and the prices of the food.

THERE IS A FREE SHUTTLE BUS DIRECT FROM AIRPORT TO HOTEL! IT COMES EVERY 40MINS! (the bus says Ramada Hotel on it, can't miss it) There is a cost of 5 euros for it to drop you back at the airport and you need to book at reception in advance. When ordering room service there is a 10euro charge per plate!! Also when you check out there are tax charges per room per day which is automatically charged onto your credit card when checking out the hotel - we we told that these are tourist charges that the hotel have to pay direct to their government so beware.

Room Tip: Rooms Facing Amsterdam City Centre - Of course go on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after Christmas. Airport transfer was great to and from airport. Room was small but decent and clean. Tram is easy to and from the city centre, though would probably spend a bit extra next time and stay closer to the city as the hotel is about 15/20 mins tram to the city which becomes a chore after a couple of days. Breakfast is awesome and comprehensive though too expensive at 35 euros for 2 ppl.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights between Christmas and New Year 2012. All staff very friendly & helpful. Room on 14th floor had splendid panoramic view of the city. Building recently converted to a hotel and decor, fixtures & fittings all new and modern. WiFi worked well and easy to connect, TV had good range of UK channels including BBC 1, 2, World, ITV 1,2+1 and C4, E4 & Film4. Breakfast was included in our deal and was of good quality. Tram service is excellent and Amsterdam is a highly entertaining city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.