We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Twickenham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived the morning of 23rd November.
Got the free shuttle from the airport, nice touch. Got to reception and got checked in without any fuss what so ever, I thought that because we were quite early, about 09:30 we might have to wait for our room, but that wasn't the case, our
Room was ready. We had room 1116 which was a executive room at no extra charge, it was just what we'd hoped for.
The 17th floor was just great. The only thing I would say about was that its a bit far away from the city centre, but the tram stop was just outside the hotel and to about 15 minutes. If you're thinking of getting the tram, it would be a good idea to get a 3 day pass for €16 and for that you must go to Central station. On the tram you can only purchase either, a 24 hour at €7.50 or, a 1 hour for €2.70. The tram system works very well indeed.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    537
    148
    46
    39
See reviews for
135
602
46
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is a good base from which to explore the city of Amsterdam. It is on the no. 13 route from city centre or Central Station, get off at the stop called Mercatorplein, it is just opposite the hotel, you can't miss it!
The rooms are a good size and comfortable, breakfast is excellent and caters for all types of breakfast with plenty of choice. If there is anything you need the staff are very prompt to respond. We stayed for 3 nights to explore the city and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I guess the fair thing to say about this place is that it was 'fine'. It's obviously a brand new place (we were pretty sure that we were the first ones in that room ever) and I understand that not everything will be perfect. However, there were quite a few things missing / wrong with our room and when we asked about this the reaction at the reception was incredibly rude and unhelpful. To be fair, at some point we were helped by a girl who was incredibly helpful and professional. But we also encountered some terrible service, which really rubbed me the wrong way.

The location is not the best, but it's easily accessible. The big plus is the breakfast / restaurant place at the top with magnificent views.

A decent place, but they definitely still have quite a bit to learn about customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

my wife and i went for our anniversary to this hotel.we found the staff so helpful from the driver who drove courtesy bus from airport to all the staff in hotel,special mention to robert!!!.rooms were clean,warm,modern and spacious.breakfast was very good though chicken sausages were a new experience for us.people who wrote bad reviews off this hotel,what do u want???we will return to this hotel if in amsterdam again.

Room Tip: all rooms r gd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Pillows they as we were told stuffed in a case so the case stripe flows same way as bed take them out as we suffered bad necks plus we had to take middle base out bed as not comfy but suppose that a preference......if U have mobilty issues bit if a walk to tram .......apart from that xcllnt hotel great staff NATHALIE in 17 bar was a gem !!! Lovely lady....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was there all of August for business. Was put on 3rd floor in SMALL room by elevator. Since I spent an entire month there, I requested a bigger room. If you're only staying for a few days and want to save money, the small room is OK. I stay in hotels a lot and this was definitely one of the smallest rooms I had ever been in. Once in bigger room I was happier. Comfy bed, ask for different pillow as they are big and hard. Breakfast on 17th floor is not worth it's money, very basic!! For a new hotel, their fitness room is just OK. Other then that, location was pretty good, I cycled into town. Tram 13 stops running at midnight, so beware! And yes, tram does take 15 to 20 minutes into the city center...
Staff is friendly and will try to help as much as they can. Had a very pleasant experience with one of the employees at the front desk. I recall his name being Hichem. Very polite and very professional. If any problems, I found myself always going to him, as he made things happen! I would stay again...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Ramada Apollo Hotel lies directly on the circular highway of Amsterdam, 20 minutes by public transport from the city centre.
The hotel is modern and new. With its 400 rooms the service is impersonal and trimmed to cater for a maximum of guests with a minimum of staff. The rooms are small; even a cupboard could not fit and only shelves were provided to put the cloths. Instead of a double bed two single beds were pushed together. The mattresses were too soft and tend to slip off. Sleeping comfort was not the best. Wi-Fi is free and works well. The bath room is small with no toileteries provided except a squeeze bottle of shampoo/shower gel.
The breakfast is served on the 17th floor and costs € 17.50 which is expensive for the selection of food provided.
There are is no public parking space possible around the hotel which requires the use of the hotel garage at € 25.- for 24 hours.
We would stay again in this hotel but only at the promotional rate of under € 100.- which is frequently offered on specialised booking sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 8272 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the ‘highest’ level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ’s, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.