We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margot B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margot B&B
Save
You added Margot B&B to your Saves list
129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“welcoming hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Being picked up from the airport by a prearranged car and deposited was a welcome relief after a long day traveling. Margot was a fantastic hostess and all her recommendations were spot on! She baby sat our bags for our last morning so we could make the most of it, despite having more guests arriving. Breakfast was great, the stairs an experience!!! (Good ;))

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Margot B&B represents good value. Within walking distance of the railway station and central to most Amsterdam sights and amenities. The hostess is also very knowledgeable on what visitors ought to see whilst in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We arrived after our trans-Atlantic flight to put down our bags and go explore until jet lag caught up with us. We were able to walk from the train station but it was very quiet. Margot had the room ready before we finished our coffee down the street. She was very kind about accommodations for me in my second trimester and had great information about the city. The room was bright, cozy, comfortable, and had such a wonderful view. We were very happy to have found this gem, and at such an affordable price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at Margot B&B and had a very pleasant experience.

The location is wonderful! The room overlooked the picturesque Singel canal & it was fun to leave the windows open and just people watch. It is a short walk to the train station, the Anne Frank House as well as Dam Square and the Red Light District.

Margot is very friendly and accommodating. She even helped get the luggage up the steep stairs! Breakfast was always delicious & there were plenty of options to choose from. Sharing a bathroom was never an issue.

If you plan on visiting Amsterdam, I would recommend staying at Margot B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Margot B&B for two nights last September and could not have had a better stay! Margot was a wonderful host. Before arriving, I emailed Margot to see if we could leave our bags with her in the morning (even though check-in wasn't until midday) as our flight got in very early. She did not mind at all! This enabled us to explore the city without all our luggage and then come back for check-in at the appropriate time. Margot was extremely welcoming. She cooked a homemade breakfast for us each morning and it was delicious! Our room was on the top floor and very spacious. The bathroom was on the floor below and was shared with one other couple. However, there was never an issue getting in and out of the bathroom and we only saw the other couple during breakfast time. Additionally, the location of this B&B is great. It's maybe a 10 minute walk to the heart of Amsterdam! I would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay. I found staying here to be a much more personal experience than a hotel. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This B&B is in the perfect location for everything, close to all the action but still quiet and easy walking distance from Central Station. Choose Margot's home for a proper Dutch experience, her house has character! She will make you feel welcome and is very accommodating and helpful. Yes, the stairs are very steep but they are authentic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and it's a charming place to stay and Margot is a wonderful host. The room we were in overlooked the canal and it was so nice to open the windows. We did share a bathroom with other's but this was no problem. Margot keeps the place immaculate and there is even a cat that will come visit you lol Warning as in most places in Amsterdam the stairs are pretty steep lol In fact with a bad knee they were a little difficult for me to maneuver with my suitcase but Margot was kind enough to take it upstairs for me. The Location is perfect and walking distance to many sites, restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. i would not hesitate to stay here and again and thank Margot for her hospitality. Oh and the breakfast was AMAZING...fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, bread and eggs etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot B&B

Address: 129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margot B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.