We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margot B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Margot B&B
Save Saved
You added Margot B&B to your Saves list
129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The walk from the station is an easy 10mins. Margot was there to welcome us and show us our lovely, clean and comfortable room overlooking the canal Singel. The cases up the steep stairs was a bit of an effort, but only needs to be done once. Margots breakfasts are excellent and she is so helpful with bookings and local advice. Margot's B&B is in a great location for exploring beautiful Amsterdam and we enjoyed coming back to our comfortable quiet room with a great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located at Singel canal, give us great canal view from the room. It take 10 mins to walk from Central station, or take tram for 1 stop only. And we enjoyed delicious breakfast prepared by Margot, and when we check out, she helped us to carry luggage down the steep staircase. Thank you Margot for the great hospitality!! ^^

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Upon arriving Margot upgraded us to an apartment of our own for the same price and gave us lovely local foods to make breakfast with. She even Included a bottle of champagne and strawberries since it was our Honeymoon!! What a surprise! She was very helpful in telling us some great places to eat. Awesome local Thai food just around the corner! Great weekend experience in Amsterdam, always felt safe and it was just a short walk from the train station and local shopping and dining. Thanks Margot!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Margot is a wonderful Resource for finding just the right activities in Amsterdam. Just let her know what you are interested in, and she knows where to go and what to do. The rooms were spotless, quiet, and the breakfasts were exceptional. It is quiet, yet just a short walk away from the Dam, trams, and all the Centraal station. If you come to beautiful Amsterdam, stay here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed with Margot for 3 nights, a lovely B&B ideally close for walking round Amsterdam, however located in a quiet area of the Singel.
The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, breakfasts beautiful and the view from the rooms over the canal is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After reading many trip advisor reviews and looking for a good central location I decided on Margot's B&B. My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights and I was concerned that it might be too noisy on the canal during the summer, however it was quiet and the ideal location! Located on Singel, it was an easy walk from the train station and a great location to explore the city. Close to Anne Frank House and many other sites.
We stayed in the lower room which connects to the only bathroom and even though it was shared one night with another couple it was clean and the other guests were very considerate. The stairs are extremely narrow and step, so that must be a consideration for some people, however Margot was a wonderful host she even carried our bags for us up the stairs. The room was comfortable and the view over the canal was fabulous. The breakfasts were great and we loved Margot's homemade jams and her suggestions for sight seeing and restaurants.
It was wonderful to stay in Margot's home and feel like you are a local even for a short time. It was a very nice experience of Amsterdam and I highly recommend it. We will definatley stay her again when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Two Rooms, both face the canal, the lower room is next to the only bathroom so it is most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here with our two young kids and my brother and his wife and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Margot was extremely friendly and helpful and provided a number of great suggestions for things for us to do, some of which we would not have probably considered, all of which were great.

The accomodation is of a very high standard and the breakfast was also great. I will certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Margot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot B&B

Address: 129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margot B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.