We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic accomodation in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margot B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margot B&B
Save Saved
You added Margot B&B to your Saves list
129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic accomodation in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here with our two young kids and my brother and his wife and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Margot was extremely friendly and helpful and provided a number of great suggestions for things for us to do, some of which we would not have probably considered, all of which were great.

The accomodation is of a very high standard and the breakfast was also great. I will certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Margot's B & B! The location is excellent, and close to everything. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed waking up to a view of the canal each morning. Margot's breakfasts were delicious, and we especially liked her homemade fruit preserves. Margot was an excellent host, we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This little B & B has only two rooms and it is right on a canal. The location is perfect and in walking distance to everything. Margot is lovely and very helpful, we loved the breakfast. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. There is one shared bathroom for the two rooms. I can only say positive things about our two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Margot's B&B in Amsterdam is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Margot is very welcoming and the breakfast she provides each morning is top notch. The canal room has a lovely view of the canal and was both comfortable and very clean. There is a shared bathroom which is very nice also.
The location is ideal, it's quite central but also very quiet and calm and nearby some lovely bars and restaurants. Margot will also recommend good spots and things to do as well.
Lovely! I especially liked her lovely little cat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Margot's B&B in October, and loved it! The location of this B&B couldn't be better. The room is beautiful and overlooks the canal. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This beautiful historic canal-house on a peaceful stretch of the famous canal ring is the perfect home away from home. The large and airy canal-view room has loftily high ceilings, and floor-to-ceiling windows span the entire canal-side wall. The room is tastefully decorated, the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the windows can be swung wide open so that you are practically floating above the canal. Complementary beverages from coffee and tea to water and wine are stocked in the room, and the breakfast is taken downstairs at the kitchen table. Margot prepares a fantastic spread of fresh bread, coffee, hand squeezed orange juice, fruits, cheese, yogurt and more. The very large bathroom is impeccably clean and spotless and includes a tub and shower, but it is shared which may be an issue for the most particular folks. Also, the historic staircase is steep and could be an issue for someone with major mobility issues.

As a traveler who appreciates the charming and unique over the corporate and generic, I could not have been more pleased with this arrangement. Overall this is by far the most enjoyable place I have stayed in many years of coming to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot B&B

Address: 129 Singel, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margot B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.