We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Thai's Restaurant

Billy Thai's Restaurant
Prinsengracht 358a | 1016 ja, 1016 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20 330 42 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Class Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited Billy Thai's on a Saturday night. Fortunately we had booked as it was very busy. We didn't fancy wandering aimlessly looking for a restaurant on a Saturday night when we arrived so booked by email before we visited Amsterdam, they responded quickly and table was ready and waiting when we arrived.

We are vegetarian and there was a very good vegetarian selection on the menu. The food was fantastic, the flavours were really vibrant, the green and red curries were hot but not ridiculously so, the Pad Thai (I stole some of my son's) was the best I have ever tasted. The restaurant is small and informal, the staff are friendly and attentive, the portions are generous and the prices are reasonable. Highly recommended if you can get a table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Airbnb host. It didn’t disappoint! The restaurant is small and quaint. Service was prompt and friendly. The dishes were very tasty and generous portions. Many locals actually frequent this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great selection of Asian food. Visited with my wife, teenage daughter and teenage son. We very quickly attended to and looked after. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Do you know this place is friendly but just okay for food....it only takes maestro not visa so don't be caught out!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai in central Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We like our Thai food really spicy (hot), but only rarely manage to get this the first time in a restaurant. (Cooks are always afraid you don't want to eat it in the end.) But not this time! We got what we wanted. Very nice Tai duck in brilliant red curry, spicy beef salad, and extra hot vegetables, not on the menu but made according to our wishes. Plus kind and polite service, an acceptable white wine, and quite reasonable prices. So if you are looking for a nice Thai restaurant with the authentic Thai feeling in Amsterdam, go for Billy's at the Prinsengracht. I am sure they will also cook well for those of you who don't like spicy food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Thai's Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Billy Thai's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Thai's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.