We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Thai place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Thai's Restaurant

Billy Thai's Restaurant
Prinsengracht 358a | 1016 ja, 1016 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20 330 42 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #490 of 2,283 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Airbnb host. It didn’t disappoint! The restaurant is small and quaint. Service was prompt and friendly. The dishes were very tasty and generous portions. Many locals actually frequent this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    25
    23
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great selection of Asian food. Visited with my wife, teenage daughter and teenage son. We very quickly attended to and looked after. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Okay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Do you know this place is friendly but just okay for food....it only takes maestro not visa so don't be caught out!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai in central Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We like our Thai food really spicy (hot), but only rarely manage to get this the first time in a restaurant. (Cooks are always afraid you don't want to eat it in the end.) But not this time! We got what we wanted. Very nice Tai duck in brilliant red curry, spicy beef salad, and extra hot vegetables, not on the menu but made according to our wishes. Plus kind and polite service, an acceptable white wine, and quite reasonable prices. So if you are looking for a nice Thai restaurant with the authentic Thai feeling in Amsterdam, go for Billy's at the Prinsengracht. I am sure they will also cook well for those of you who don't like spicy food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Thai treasure cove off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Authentic Thai cuisine cherished by the locals. I was clearly the only tourist there and was lucky to get a table on a Saturday night with no reservation. Very lucky indeed as both the service and the food were as good as in Thailand. Small venue, nice atmosphere for couples or small parties of 2-4. Not cheap but very good value for money. They do takeaway too,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Thai's Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Billy Thai's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Thai's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.