We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Charmant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Houseboat Little Amstel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added B&B Houseboat Little Amstel to your Saves list
B&B Houseboat Little Amstel
Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tres Charmant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As charming as it gets, Imagine waking up in the morning to boats flowing past you with people waving out. Little Amstel is a charming charming boat-house in the centre of Amsterdam. Superbly done interiors, a good breakfast and a very polite nice lady who runs the boat-house. Internet is super-fast.

Some of the minuses are the following: It could be a little tough to find, but this is temporary owing to the area undergoing some development. I had some issues with there being no cutlery with my breakfast, a wrong lock-code and a Nespresso machine which wasn't working. The place is a little expensive but if you're in Amsterdam for a short while - its well worth it.

Room Tip: Take the Standard Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

just stayed at the little amstel house boat for a week - had a fantastic stay
we stayed in the deluxe room - which was perfect
spacious, comfortable, and amazing views of the river amstel!
location is good - just a short tram ride to the centre of amsterdam yet the houseboat is situated in a peaceful area - best of both worlds

if you are travelling as a couple then i definitely recommend - we will be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on this beautiful houseboat beginning of May. We'd travelled with friends who have previously visited Amsterdam. Wonderful views, breakfast was outstanding. I enjoyed just looking out of the window at night, as you were going to sleep, watching the water. (And the ducks!!) Everything is im easy reach, and you can walk if you prefer. We would love to come back here, what a wonderful experience!! Charmaine and Simon UK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the Basic Room. Very compact but there is everything you need. Mirjam was very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast sat outside in the sunshine. Breakfast included bread rolls, various spreads and juice. Coffee and tea is provided in the room. We used the coffee machine and it was very acceptable coffee.
The houseboat is situated in a quiet area but there is a tram stop 5 minutes away and there is also the metro about 10 minutes. We purchased a 72 hour GVB ticket that is valid on the trams and metro (I think the buses also) and we managed to get around fine.
Friends stayed in the corner Standard Room and seemed to love it. They enjoyed waking up and seeing the view across the river.
This was my first time on a house boat and I would definately repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Corner Standard Room has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had two nights here an enjoyed the houseboat experience

Clean comfortable room very clever use of the compact space in the corner room

The bed in the corner room is two singles pushed together

.great to be able to watch the activity on the river from the bed and also being able to feed the swans from the window
Was cosy and the heating came on and got warm really quickly

Suprisingly quiet considering the boat is moored just below the bridge of a fairly major road

Breakfast was disappointing I'd seen pictures showing rolls and fruit and cold meats in a hamper ,the reality was rolls and various spreads plus juice in individual portions in a take away bag

Initially felt the location was not as convenient as would have liked but soon got our bearings and realised you can get around everywhere from the tram or the underground system at the top of the road..about 10min walk

Tea drinkers beware there were only infusion and green tea bags provided on the boat

We did ask for and were given ordinary tea but no milk ...we forgot to ask for that and generally our experience of having cup of tea was to be given hot water and told to choose your tea bag type
And then having to ask for milk

Go to the Ann frank house late evening ..queues are dreadful in daytime

Beware of the bikes and their owners they fly around really fast and don't seem to stop for anyone

The holland pass is good value and saved us some money

Great city with lots to do .3 full days wasn't nearly enough

Room Tip: Corner room was lovely as had windows on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Metro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

W spent three nights in the small room on Mirjam's houseboat and absolutely loved it. Although the room is small, it is very well designed & laid out to make you feel comfortable. THE VIEW!!... It makes breakfast so enjoyable...especially when the ducks come up and ask for some of the bread you were given at breakfast.

Location is great since it is in a quiet area, so it's not overly touristy but close to get you to everything in the city, and what a great city to stay in (especially on a houseboat). Would definitely come again and stay on the Little Amstel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In those little rooms, we have a wonderful view on a one a the numerous river of Amsterdam. The location is good with metro or tramway stations and a big theatre with restaurants around.

The room itself is simply gorgeous. A little small but very well accomodated, it faces east and the sunrise. Having ducks and other birds a few meters from you while breafasting is great.

The breakfast itself, as long as the warm welcome and the availability of Mirjam made that experience a must-go for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Houseboat Little Amstel

Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern designed bed and breakfast rooms with en-suite bathrooms and private entrances on a luxurious houseboat in the centre of Amsterdam. The houseboat is moorded along the Amstel River in the heart of downtown Amsterdam and offers 2 modern designed bed and breakfast rooms. Each room has its own en-suite bathroom and private entrance to ensure your privacy and is suitable for a couple or two singles. The rooms are equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay comfortable, like a fridge, coffee- an tea making faccilites, flatscreen TV, complete bathroom, luxurious beds etc. Every morning there is breakfast delivery at your door and when the weather is nice, you can eat out on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Houseboat Little Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.