We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Falote

La Falote
Roelof Hartstraat 26, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6625454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #833 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Local Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Basic food well cooked and presented - cosy and friendly place and lovely staff - owner Peter also will give you a tune as he pops in and out of the kitchen and plays the accordion - great atmosphere

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Dutch Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was our last night in Amsterdam and we wanted to try some traditional Dutch food because the other restaurants we had been to were Argentinian, Italian or Mexican. We paid around 16 euros for a set 3 course meal which was delicious. The waitresses were lovely, friendly and didn't laugh too much at our attempt at speaking Dutch!
The beef stew was so good! I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Typically Dutch food in a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This restaurant, conveniently located close to Museumplein, was recommended by the receptionist at our hotel for our first dinner in Amsterdam and we weren't disappointed with our first Dutch meal: the stew, served with boiled potatoes, green beans (a bit overcooked for my taste) and a side salad, was really delicious and we were served by very friendly staff. As we were drinking our coffee the chef/owner appeared with his accordion and did the rounds of the tables. On discovering we were English, we were serenaded with 'My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean' despite our protests that this is a Scottish song!! The place seems popular with locals - always a good sign - and was pleasantly 'buzzy', but note that it closes at 21.00, so is not for late diners

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good place to try typical dutch cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Enjoyed dinner at this dutch restaurant in Amsterdam's museum quarter. Good, friendly service. Decorations in restaurant a bit eclectic but I think overall, restaurant is cozy and worth a visit. This is the place to try typical dutch dishes that are tasty. Aside from their standard menu, they offer specials using vegetables that are in season. I believe the chef also sometimes plays the accordion but it unfortunately didn't happen during my visit. Check it out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We wanted to try some real dutch food on our trip to Amsterdam and having read rave reviews decided to try La Falote.

The food we ordered was bland, stodgy and unappealing to say the least. I'd have rather cooked myself. The onion soup I ordered barely seemed to have seen an onion and the veal meal resembled sick.

However I have to say that the staff were friendly. Although they did try to charge us for extra beers on the bill at the end.

Would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Falote also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Falote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Falote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.