We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is 1 block from Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the luxury brands stores street. Also is very near the Vondelpark. If you want to go to Dam or Central Station is also very easy to take the train.
The rooms have a good size and are confortable with soft bed and sheets. The only two problems we found is that the shower is too weak and the staff are very nice but they do
not have good tips of places to go.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Vivi K,

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Comments from our guests, both positive and less positive, are very important to us and enable us to optimize our hotel and service.

Thank you for your compliments on our hotel. Our sincere apologies that your stay was not to your entire satisfaction. We will do our utmost to train our staff in giving good recommendations.

As well for the water pressure the technical department will have a look at it.

We would like to thank you again for your time and effort to inform your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Dave Blokpoel
Assistent Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    161
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
279
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Hotel JL76 is close to the Rijksmuseum and other Amsterdam museums. The service is excellent with friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed although having the wash basin in the room and not the bath room took getting used to. Food is available in the evenings but the choice is very limited. The staff will suggest and book alternative if required. A well stocked honesty bar is available which is very handy. A most enjoyable stay was had.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are in the basement so go for a better room. Top floor if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear KJMW44,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our Honesty Bar and our location in the museum district. Thank you also for…
Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Dave Blokpoel
Assistent Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Just spent three nights here, one room for us, one for the kids. A really nice boutique hotel, good rooms, friendly helpful service. Not cheap, but very good value. Quietly situated, but perfect for the museums and park, with easy access to city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear notalwaysmoaning,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you appreciated our hotel, rooms, staff and location so much.

We hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Dave Blokpoel
Assistent Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It's amazing what a little service can do to make your stay amazing! I accidentally booked a room in the basement which would be fine for most, (the room was amazing itself!) but I really need natural light in the morning because I suffer from depression. The hotel not only offered me a new room the second day but also comped my breakfast after I showed them the description of what I had booked-- which was supposed to have a window and view. They really care about you getting what you expect and being happy. Especially Andre, who did a little endzone dance when I told him I slept really well the second night. Also, Thomas, the afternoon concierge is also great and deserves a raise. He is simultaneously at your service and a perpetual student, wanting only to get it right, whether it's a phrase in your native language or the practicalities of your reservation.

The amenities are also top rate. The wifi is free, reliable, and you can have as many devices as you want. The breakfast is a little pricey, but worth it, especially if you order fresh Dutch pancakes and sit outside in the garden. Oh, and the bathrooms are sublime. I've never taken as many bubble baths as I did at this hotel because of their gorgeous deep jacuzzi tubs with built-in TV's! The only thing is that if you're under 5'8", like most women in the world, then be prepared to only see the very top of your head in the bathroom mirrors. I'm 5'3" and I couldn't even see my eyes. Those dang, gorgeous, tall Dutch people! They should cut the rest of us some slack and put in some mirror extensions for us dumpier folks. ;) Otherwise, this hotel was perfection.

Room Tip: Guests should know that this hotel has rooms in the basement, which is not super clear on their webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear CASSIE-SFP,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the jacuzzi and the Dutch pancakes.

Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset. I have told Andre and Thomas that you where really satisfied about the service they provided.

Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you will visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards,

Dave Blokpoel
Assistent Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Brilliant hotel. Rooms are clean, well furnished and equipped, kettle, (always good for the English abroad!) comfy bed, good air con and so quiet. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was delicious, eat as much as you want, continental or cooked. Hotel is in a quiet, quite posh part of the city but within very easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and all the tourist sites, we walked everywhere and saw all we wanted to see. Not our usual type of hotel but so glad we stayed here it really made our holiday great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear 174jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are pleased to hear you appreciated our hotel and our location and you have rewarded us with the maximum score on Tripadvisor.

Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset. We are also happy to read that our rooms suited you well and that our breakfast was to your wishes.

Thank you for your kind words.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very conveniently located close to the museum area, rooms are pretty, clean, large and well furnished. We spent one night in Amsterdam and enjoyed the stay a lot. The staff is young and caring. I strongly recomend it expecially rooms on the upper floors.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Massimo A,

Dear,
We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL no.76.

It is also very nice to hear that you liked the service of our staff so much. Thank you very much for your great review on this website.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back when you are in Amsterdam again.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL76,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is not Canal House, let's make sure that this is clear. However, the value is very good here. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and really go the extra mile to help you--and it seems genuine. The location is actually excellent--a welcome break from the crowds in the canal belt, yet just a few minutes away from the city center by tram (which stops 1 block from the hotel). Also, 1 block from Museumplein. Great garden in back. The price is excellent for Amsterdam. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear annusd66,

Thank you very much for the great review you wrote and that you gave us such a great score on Tripadvisor. Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our location in the museum district close to everything that you might need.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again when you plan to come back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL No 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.