We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Brilliant hotel. Rooms are clean, well furnished and equipped, kettle, (always good for the English abroad!) comfy bed, good air con and so quiet. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was delicious, eat as much as you want, continental or cooked. Hotel is in a quiet, quite posh part of the city but within very easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and all the tourist sites, we walked everywhere and saw all we wanted to see. Not our usual type of hotel but so glad we stayed here it really made our holiday great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear 174jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are pleased to hear you appreciated our hotel and our location and you have rewarded us with the maximum score on Tripadvisor.

Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset. We are also happy to read that our rooms suited you well and that our breakfast was to your wishes.

Thank you for your kind words.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
205
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very conveniently located close to the museum area, rooms are pretty, clean, large and well furnished. We spent one night in Amsterdam and enjoyed the stay a lot. The staff is young and caring. I strongly recomend it expecially rooms on the upper floors.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Massimo A,

Dear,
We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL no.76.

It is also very nice to hear that you liked the service of our staff so much. Thank you very much for your great review on this website.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back when you are in Amsterdam again.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL76,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is not Canal House, let's make sure that this is clear. However, the value is very good here. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and really go the extra mile to help you--and it seems genuine. The location is actually excellent--a welcome break from the crowds in the canal belt, yet just a few minutes away from the city center by tram (which stops 1 block from the hotel). Also, 1 block from Museumplein. Great garden in back. The price is excellent for Amsterdam. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear annusd66,

Thank you very much for the great review you wrote and that you gave us such a great score on Tripadvisor. Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our location in the museum district close to everything that you might need.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again when you plan to come back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL No 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a find! Wonderful staff. Very cozy on a quiet street one block from Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh. All the tourist pleasures are here -- canal boats, bars, high end shopping -- but it's one block away down a quiet street. Honor bar offers beer, wine, cheese and desserts. Best place I've stayed in Amsterdam -- wish i could clone this in Paris and new York! Very comfortable staying here as a solo woman traveler

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear G94549,

We are very glad to hear that you find our hotel so cozy and wonderful, and we kindly thank you for sharing these impressions on TripAdvisor with a "five dot review".

What a great complement that you would like to clone our hotel in Paris and New York. We hope that we may welcome you back in our hotel when you are in Amsterdam again!

Best regards,

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The initial impression is of a very stylish hotel with helpful staff.
The room we had was similarly impressive with TV to watch from the Jacuzzi bath, decent sized shower and a balcony.
The hotel is excellently located for the museums and local park and has a good selection of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. It is also very close to tram stops to take you into the central areas in the city, railway station and close to the bus for the airport.
We would definitely return to the hotel and would certainly recommend it to friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear, Titus_Twinkle

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. And what a review it is, a "five dot review". We are very pleased that you like out hotel and our so much.

Also our location is something that we are very proud of and it is very nice to read that you also think that the hotel is excellently located.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is as good, if not better than alot of hotels we have stayed in. the staff were so helpful, the location is perfect, right in the meusum area, a short walk to the tram stop and only 5min walk to the main bar and eating area. My wife doesnt drink milk and they even went out and bought soya milk for her. The room was very large and spotless clean, the room was quite and you could hear any of the other guest. Well recommened and thanks to the staff again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for the Dueluz suite, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear MScoyne,

Thank you very much for your fantastic "5 dot review" on Tripadvisor! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this. Also it is good to hear that you liked our location in the museum district and our rooms of course.

We hope your wife liked the soya milk, and if you are planning to come back to Amsterdam we would be happy get some more soya milk for her!

Thank you for your lovely words on behalf of the staff.

Best regards,

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My father and I were traveling to Amsterdam on vacation and Hotel JL No76 suited our needs perfectly! The rooms were comfortable, not outrageously large but not too small either. The location couldn't have been better; Amsterdam is a fairly raucous city, especially on weekends, and being tucked back in a beautiful quiet street was a precious respite from the hustle and bustle. It is located close to a set of great museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum) and Vondelpark.

Likely the most notable feature of this hotel is the kindness and graciousness of the staff. Flexible and accommodating in many ways, I almost felt like I became friends with several of them as we were able to relax and watch a World Cup match (Holland beat Costa Rica!) and chat about a number of things.

Could not have been more pleased and I recommend Hotel JL No76 thoroughly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Beck D,

First of all, we hope you had a save trip back to USA. We enjoyed it very much that you stayed with us!

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL No 76 and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on this website! We are very pleased with the "five dot rating" that you gave us.

When you planning to come back to Amsterdam we hope to welcome you back in Hotel JL No 76.

We wish you all the best.
Kind regards,

The Hotel JL 76 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.