We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The initial impression is of a very stylish hotel with helpful staff.
The room we had was similarly impressive with TV to watch from the Jacuzzi bath, decent sized shower and a balcony.
The hotel is excellently located for the museums and local park and has a good selection of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. It is also very close to tram stops to take you into the central areas in the city, railway station and close to the bus for the airport.
We would definitely return to the hotel and would certainly recommend it to friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear, Titus_Twinkle

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. And what a review it is, a "five dot review". We are very pleased that you like out hotel and our so much.

Also our location is something that we are very proud of and it is very nice to read that you also think that the hotel is excellently located.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    144
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
240
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is as good, if not better than alot of hotels we have stayed in. the staff were so helpful, the location is perfect, right in the meusum area, a short walk to the tram stop and only 5min walk to the main bar and eating area. My wife doesnt drink milk and they even went out and bought soya milk for her. The room was very large and spotless clean, the room was quite and you could hear any of the other guest. Well recommened and thanks to the staff again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for the Dueluz suite, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear MScoyne,

Thank you very much for your fantastic "5 dot review" on Tripadvisor! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this. Also it is good to hear that you liked our location in the museum district and our rooms of course.

We hope your wife liked the soya milk, and if you are planning to come back to Amsterdam we would be happy get some more soya milk for her!

Thank you for your lovely words on behalf of the staff.

Best regards,

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My father and I were traveling to Amsterdam on vacation and Hotel JL No76 suited our needs perfectly! The rooms were comfortable, not outrageously large but not too small either. The location couldn't have been better; Amsterdam is a fairly raucous city, especially on weekends, and being tucked back in a beautiful quiet street was a precious respite from the hustle and bustle. It is located close to a set of great museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum) and Vondelpark.

Likely the most notable feature of this hotel is the kindness and graciousness of the staff. Flexible and accommodating in many ways, I almost felt like I became friends with several of them as we were able to relax and watch a World Cup match (Holland beat Costa Rica!) and chat about a number of things.

Could not have been more pleased and I recommend Hotel JL No76 thoroughly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Beck D,

First of all, we hope you had a save trip back to USA. We enjoyed it very much that you stayed with us!

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL No 76 and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on this website! We are very pleased with the "five dot rating" that you gave us.

When you planning to come back to Amsterdam we hope to welcome you back in Hotel JL No 76.

We wish you all the best.
Kind regards,

The Hotel JL 76 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived a little early for check in to be offered rooms at another hotel (sister hotel but a long way from JL location) we were told this was due to a mix up with bookings. We booked through Expedia early in the year so was a little surprised.We declined the offer and ended up with two rooms, one on the ground floor next to the lift and stairs and one on the second floor in the same position. This meant quite a bit of noise from people using the small, hard floor stairs. Also lots of noise from the room above, so in hindsight I would request an upper floor room, not next to stairs. The room itself was fine, two single bed pushed together, did request a double but not a big issue that this request was not applied.
Location was really good and we enjoyed the walk into and back from the centre. Helpful staff on the reception, every question or request was dealt with and storage of our bags on our final day was a great help.

Room Tip: Upper floor/away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jack2902,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and our staff of course!

We are sorry to hear that you had quite a bit of noise from the stair and from the room above. But we can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and we are going to look in to this problem!

We would like to thank you for the "four dot rating" that you gave us.
When you are planning to visit Amsterdam again we hope that you think about the JL No 76 Hotel.

Best regards,
Team JL 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to it's location near the museums, but an added bonus is it's a quiet street. The room was compact and unbelievably functional in it's layout. Staff could not be more helpful. The food was great, bed excellent (including the pillows). This would be my first pick for Amsterdam in future. The only criticism is that the shower needs a much better steam extractor fan, but this is a problem throughout Britain and Europe.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear cheopsfamily,

We are delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL no.76 and that you liked the room and location so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel when you are back in Amsterdam. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation.

Best regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a pleasant stay. Overall it is a very convenient hotel, the location is perfect easy access to everywhere. I am delighted I chose this hotel, it's closed to all main museums, main concert hall, tram No. 2 and 5 take you to everywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. Located in the very quiet and safe area, just right behind the high brand designers shopping street, 5 mins walk to vondelpark, 8 mins to the large supermarket.

I found this hotel is very modern, clean and new, provided all amenities we need, including Nespresso machine and nice kettle in room. I got the room on 3th floor with very nice street view, feel like being at home. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

The only dislike thing is the unstable wifi connection during 2 days of our stay, which has been solved eventually.

One more strange thing, there were two guests in room but only one pair of slippers provided the whole stay, which however, we didn't request for another pair from the hotel.

If you are looking for a nice and quiet hotel in very good area and neighborhoodt, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room here should be quiet but choose the room on upper floor and far from the elevator. Front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear petites_people,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel so much and our location in the museum district.

We are very sorry about the wifi problems in the hotel but we can assure you that we took care of the problems that we had and luckily everything is working perfectly again. We hope it was not to much of a problem for you.

We truly appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. We are hoping to welcome you back in the future when you are in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Although we were not staying at this hotel, we bumped into the sign indicating the coffee bar that the hotel has, where you can make your own coffee and set up drinks. staff was kind enough to attend us and let us in even late at night (I believe they forgot to take the sign out of the street). We wanted coffee with stroopwaffle but ended up having wine, chocolate cake and of course the stroopwaffle. Really charming, hotel decoration and garden is a plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear CarolYokomizo,

Thank you very much for visiting our Hotel lounge at Hotel JL no.76.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the wine, chocolate cake and ofcourse the ´Dutch stroopwaffles´.

We hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel or lovely garden.

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.