We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Arrived a little early for check in to be offered rooms at another hotel (sister hotel but a long way from JL location) we were told this was due to a mix up with bookings. We booked through Expedia early in the year so was a little surprised.We declined the offer and ended up with two rooms, one on the ground floor next to the lift and stairs and one on the second floor in the same position. This meant quite a bit of noise from people using the small, hard floor stairs. Also lots of noise from the room above, so in hindsight I would request an upper floor room, not next to stairs. The room itself was fine, two single bed pushed together, did request a double but not a big issue that this request was not applied.
Location was really good and we enjoyed the walk into and back from the centre. Helpful staff on the reception, every question or request was dealt with and storage of our bags on our final day was a great help.

Room Tip: Upper floor/away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jack2902,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and our staff of course!

We are sorry to hear that you had quite a bit of noise from the stair and from the room above. But we can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and we are going to look in to this problem!

We would like to thank you for the "four dot rating" that you gave us.
When you are planning to visit Amsterdam again we hope that you think about the JL No 76 Hotel.

Best regards,
Team JL 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    142
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
238
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to it's location near the museums, but an added bonus is it's a quiet street. The room was compact and unbelievably functional in it's layout. Staff could not be more helpful. The food was great, bed excellent (including the pillows). This would be my first pick for Amsterdam in future. The only criticism is that the shower needs a much better steam extractor fan, but this is a problem throughout Britain and Europe.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear cheopsfamily,

We are delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL no.76 and that you liked the room and location so much.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel when you are back in Amsterdam. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation.

Best regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a pleasant stay. Overall it is a very convenient hotel, the location is perfect easy access to everywhere. I am delighted I chose this hotel, it's closed to all main museums, main concert hall, tram No. 2 and 5 take you to everywhere you want to go in Amsterdam. Located in the very quiet and safe area, just right behind the high brand designers shopping street, 5 mins walk to vondelpark, 8 mins to the large supermarket.

I found this hotel is very modern, clean and new, provided all amenities we need, including Nespresso machine and nice kettle in room. I got the room on 3th floor with very nice street view, feel like being at home. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

The only dislike thing is the unstable wifi connection during 2 days of our stay, which has been solved eventually.

One more strange thing, there were two guests in room but only one pair of slippers provided the whole stay, which however, we didn't request for another pair from the hotel.

If you are looking for a nice and quiet hotel in very good area and neighborhoodt, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room here should be quiet but choose the room on upper floor and far from the elevator. Front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear petites_people,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel so much and our location in the museum district.

We are very sorry about the wifi problems in the hotel but we can assure you that we took care of the problems that we had and luckily everything is working perfectly again. We hope it was not to much of a problem for you.

We truly appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. We are hoping to welcome you back in the future when you are in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Although we were not staying at this hotel, we bumped into the sign indicating the coffee bar that the hotel has, where you can make your own coffee and set up drinks. staff was kind enough to attend us and let us in even late at night (I believe they forgot to take the sign out of the street). We wanted coffee with stroopwaffle but ended up having wine, chocolate cake and of course the stroopwaffle. Really charming, hotel decoration and garden is a plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear CarolYokomizo,

Thank you very much for visiting our Hotel lounge at Hotel JL no.76.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the wine, chocolate cake and ofcourse the ´Dutch stroopwaffles´.

We hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel or lovely garden.

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This small boutique hotel is in a quiet neighborhood that's a 10-minute tram ride or 45-minute walk from the city center of Amsterdam. But if your main purpose is to go to the major art museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and the Stajdmuseum) then this is an outstanding choice because it's just steps away from all of those sites.

The hotel has a great staff and a lot of personal attention. I was impressed by how eager they were to help if I had a question about bike rental, buying a Museumkaart (which was a terrific deal, incidentally), or booking a canal tour.

The hotel is near a lot of restaurants in the museum area, which is a little expensive, but if you're willing to walk just a bit farther to the Leidesplein area there are many dining options, some of which are cheaper. It's about a 7- to 10-minute walk to the Leidesplein. Also, just off the Leidesplein is an entrance to Vondelpark, which was a BEAUTIFUL park. Riding a bike there on a Sunday morning as the city was waking up will be one of my favorite memories of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is a small courtyard behind the hotel, with tables for smokers and people who want to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jana R,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff and location so much.

Also nice to hear you experienced ´the Dutch bicycle culture´ so close to our hotel

We hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel near the museums and not far from the canals. Our room was in the basement with no view which wasn't great, but the room was large and the bathroom was nice. My husband and I were only there for 2 nights and have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear EFClark,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experiences.
Comments from our guests, both positive and negative, are very important to us and allow us to optimize our hotel and service.

We hope you have enjoyed the museums.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel JL no.76

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam with a group of friends who had been before and also stayed here. We arrived all together and the staff were really welcoming and helpful, storing our bags hours before check in so that we could go back into the city without having to carry them around.
We checked in later and took the option of upgrading to Deluxe rooms (do it!). We had a super king size bed, jacuzzi bath with a TV (and waterproof remote control) in the bathroom in a beautiful room. Our friends had fantastic rooms too, high ceilings, a beautiful balcony, each room was a little bit different but really well presented, clean and seriously comfortable.
In the lobby area there is the honesty bar which was well used by our group for the 4 nights we stayed! A huge range of drinks for all tastes, free nuts and iced water with lemon or mint and cucumber (very welcome when you've walked miles during the day).
Unfortunately we had no option of booking breakfast with our travel provider but we could do it at the hotel each morning, we chose not to as we felt 18 euros each was a bit on the expensive side for breakfast (although seeing what our friends had for breakfast and what was on offer will definitely make me choose bed and breakfast when coming back here again).
We stayed during the World Cup and became true Holland supporters for the duration, having watched them win at the quarter final stage and coming back home in the very early hours, the staff were always attentive and really friendly - no matter what time of day (or night!).
Amsterdam is such a short flight from England it's so easy to come over for a few days, we will certainly be back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone new to the city or who has been before. The location is brilliant, in a quiet street but so close to a tram stop that will take you all over the city, it's also just around the corner to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay and first time to Amsterdam a brilliant one! See you again!!

Room Tip: Opt for the Deluxe if you can - a little bit more but those jets in the jacuzzi bath are perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear GEMG85,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendly and helpful service.

The price for breakfast is not only for the buffet, the A La Carte is included in the price as well. You can pre-book it at the Reception Desk if you would like.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.