We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific for close museum access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific for close museum access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This small boutique hotel is in a quiet neighborhood that's a 10-minute tram ride or 45-minute walk from the city center of Amsterdam. But if your main purpose is to go to the major art museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and the Stajdmuseum) then this is an outstanding choice because it's just steps away from all of those sites.

The hotel has a great staff and a lot of personal attention. I was impressed by how eager they were to help if I had a question about bike rental, buying a Museumkaart (which was a terrific deal, incidentally), or booking a canal tour.

The hotel is near a lot of restaurants in the museum area, which is a little expensive, but if you're willing to walk just a bit farther to the Leidesplein area there are many dining options, some of which are cheaper. It's about a 7- to 10-minute walk to the Leidesplein. Also, just off the Leidesplein is an entrance to Vondelpark, which was a BEAUTIFUL park. Riding a bike there on a Sunday morning as the city was waking up will be one of my favorite memories of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is a small courtyard behind the hotel, with tables for smokers and people who want to take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jana R,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff and location so much.

Also nice to hear you experienced ´the Dutch bicycle culture´ so close to our hotel

We hope that we may welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    161
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
43
283
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel near the museums and not far from the canals. Our room was in the basement with no view which wasn't great, but the room was large and the bathroom was nice. My husband and I were only there for 2 nights and have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear EFClark,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experiences.
Comments from our guests, both positive and negative, are very important to us and allow us to optimize our hotel and service.

We hope you have enjoyed the museums.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel JL no.76

Kind regards,

Team Hotel JL no.76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for our first trip to Amsterdam with a group of friends who had been before and also stayed here. We arrived all together and the staff were really welcoming and helpful, storing our bags hours before check in so that we could go back into the city without having to carry them around.
We checked in later and took the option of upgrading to Deluxe rooms (do it!). We had a super king size bed, jacuzzi bath with a TV (and waterproof remote control) in the bathroom in a beautiful room. Our friends had fantastic rooms too, high ceilings, a beautiful balcony, each room was a little bit different but really well presented, clean and seriously comfortable.
In the lobby area there is the honesty bar which was well used by our group for the 4 nights we stayed! A huge range of drinks for all tastes, free nuts and iced water with lemon or mint and cucumber (very welcome when you've walked miles during the day).
Unfortunately we had no option of booking breakfast with our travel provider but we could do it at the hotel each morning, we chose not to as we felt 18 euros each was a bit on the expensive side for breakfast (although seeing what our friends had for breakfast and what was on offer will definitely make me choose bed and breakfast when coming back here again).
We stayed during the World Cup and became true Holland supporters for the duration, having watched them win at the quarter final stage and coming back home in the very early hours, the staff were always attentive and really friendly - no matter what time of day (or night!).
Amsterdam is such a short flight from England it's so easy to come over for a few days, we will certainly be back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone new to the city or who has been before. The location is brilliant, in a quiet street but so close to a tram stop that will take you all over the city, it's also just around the corner to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay and first time to Amsterdam a brilliant one! See you again!!

Room Tip: Opt for the Deluxe if you can - a little bit more but those jets in the jacuzzi bath are perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear GEMG85,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendly and helpful service.

The price for breakfast is not only for the buffet, the A La Carte is included in the price as well. You can pre-book it at the Reception Desk if you would like.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved Hotel JL No76's convenient location in the heart of the museum and fashion district, the excellent breakfast buffet, the artworks around the dining area, the warm and knowledgeable staff, the very reasonably priced honesty bar, the quality menu, the incredibly comfy bed, the spacious bathroom, the quiet street of artists' townhouses, the good toiletries, the huge bay window in our bedroom, the proximity to the tram stop, the Nespresso machine, the large safe, the ample storage space, the wing chairs in reception and the cleanliness.

A fantastic small hotel and we would love to return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Devon1964,

Thank you very much for your nice words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Hotel JL No 76! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this! Also nice to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, honesty bar and menu that much!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Best regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fantastic location, a nicely modern hotel, with clean and cosy feel.

Rooms were not huge, but well planned and general a good finish all over.

Would recommend for someone staying in Amsterdam and wanting to be very close to all the major museums.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Raj S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our location! We hope that we may welcome you again soon in Hotel JL no 76.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tania, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in late June. Lovely hotel, comfortable bedroom and nice bathroom. Didn't eat breakfast but it looked good and was served in nice surroundings. Location quiet but still easy for the rest of Amsterdam and convenient for tram stops, including the airport bus.
All staff were really nice and especially helpful.

Room Tip: 3rd flor was nice, views to garden and terrace at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel JL no.76 at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Angelatheskier,
Thank you for your great review on this website.

We are pleased to hear that you judged everything of our hotel with the maximum score.

Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards,

Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at JL No76 which is in a nice area, the museums are on your doorstep although it takes only a few minutes to walk into the more central areas. The hotel has modern decor, very clean with high quality furnishings. The room (superior with spa bath) was a great size - especially for Amsterdam. Will go back next time.

Room Tip: See if any upgrade is available - I would imagine the basement rooms aren't as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Croatiatastic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our interior and our location. We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.