We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is in a great location for the major museums and the Concertgebouw. Really handy for the trams too, with number 5 only a couple of minutes walk away. Our room was spacious clean and very comfortable. Liked the nespresso in the room. The bathroom had a great spa bath and rainwater shower plus really luxurious towels.

Breakfast was very good with a great choice, can recommend the cooked to order pancakes. Will stay here on our next visit.

Honesty bar was well stocked and the lounge although quite small was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room a the front of the hotel for only a few Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ray S.,

Thank you for your great review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you judged everything of our hotel in such a good way. Especially good to hear that you appreciated the 'extra's' of our hotelroom as in Nespresso machine & Jacuzzi bath that much. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards, Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    109
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
173
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The JL hotel is a very comfortabel hotel, on a perfect location; just Behind the P.C.Hooftstraat, the most elegant shopping street of A'sterdam, close to The Concertgebouw, The well known
Vodelpark is just around the corner; very tempting for a morning walk .
Nice modern rooms, good beds and served breakfast, made my stay very worthwhile.
The JL hotel,si,located in a very quiet green street whthout through foing traffic.

Room Tip: I,prefer the rooms at the backside of the hotel, because of the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Carl S.,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and you did enjoy the location in our quiet and green street that much.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a short walk from Rijsmuseum and near tram to station/airport.
The staff on reception were so helpful we left our room key downstairs and one reception gentleman sprinted up the stairs and met us at lift. If you see how steep the stairs are that's some feat.
We had a luxury/Or slightly more expensive room not sure how these are categorised. Worth it as it has a lovely deep bath. Which was needed after much museum visiting.
Nice restaurants you can walk to in the vicinity. Didn't rate the museum cafés btw.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a bath and lovely view of the Dutch street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear MarquisofCaribas,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Hotel JL No 76! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this! Also nice to hear our reception team assisted you that well:)

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our 2nd hotel of choice after finding out that the hotel we first wanted was fully booked. Am I glad that the first hotel was booked and ended up in Hotel JL No. 76. We were, in my opinion, in the best part of our town. Located in Jan Luikenstraat, it was a few meters away from some of Amsterdam's best museums and shopping: Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, P.C. Hoofstraat (for some very good shopping) and most importantly the tram stop. Liedseplein is also probably about 500 meters away. Unless you walked towards the museum area (Rijksmusem, Van Gogh and IAMSTERDAM sign) or Liedseplein, there were hardly any tourists in the street where Hotel JL No. 76 was located. This definitely added to the charm of our stay.

Hotel JL is not your typical full service hotel. The bar is a self-service, honesty bar with a good selection of beverages. I didn't have the opportunity to take my breakfast but looking at what they offered one morning I looked at the buffet, it seemed like your typical European breakfast. It's a well designed hotel. Lobby looked very nice and even more important were the rooms, which were designed very well too. I was hoping not to be located in the basement of the hotel after reading reviews from other TripAdvisor contributors of how disappointed they were. To my surprise, it wasn't as bad. It felt like a regular room, with a small window for sunlight and of course no view. Important to note however that the sink (at least for Room 84) was in the bedroom and the toilet and shower were located inside the bathroom. In other words, if you wanted to brush your teeth, you'd have to do it in the bedroom where the sink was located. Don't worry too much about it though, it wasn't as weird after all.

Staff were all friendly, helpful and accommodating as well. They were all up to par with any 5 star hotel staff in my opinion.

I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again for my next trip to Amsterdam, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear SXMX,

Thank you for your great review on tripadvisor! We are pleased to hear that you judged everything of our hotel with such good scores. It is good to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hotel that much. Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards, Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel JL is a nice, boutique hotel. Like many other boutique hotels I've found on TripAdvisor and stayed at, the building that houses this hotel was not built to be a hotel, but someone's very large home. Personally, I find that charming but I can see how some others may prefer larger rooms and in a 'proper' hotel building. Our room faced the street and we were lucky to get a room that wasn't near the staircase or the lift. After a trip to Dublin for a friend's wedding, we decided to stop by Amsterdam to check out a few museums. We stayed at JL for two, wonderful nights and am happy with it's location in the Musuemplein as we wanted to stay away from the Red-Light district and the tourist traps.

Although we were not able to rent the bicycles that JL provides, a bit of swift planning ahead will ensure there's one reserved for you the next day. The front desk ranged from being excellent one day to slightly abrasive/impatient the next (different staff). Not sure if we just caught the clerk on a bad day or what, but one bad encounter didn't sour the rest of our trip. We had a great time! Although the rooms were small, we found that it had everything we needed to rest and recharge. Will most likely return on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms that are away from the lift and staircase offer more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear NHYL,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. I am proud to learn you enjoyed the location and the warm boutique atmosphere of our hotel.

It surprises me that you experienced some of our staff to be impatient, since they are always most appreciated by our guests. I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel in order to improve this for a future stay!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very comfortable clean bedroom with spacious bathroom, hairdryer etc.
Nice quiet locality near museums with tram stop into town nearby.
Staff helpful.Will be returning to Amsterdam later this year and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. It pleases us that you appreciate our rooms and bathroom so much, since we have chosen to offer the highest quality. All members of our team are motivated to deliver the highest possible service to our guests and I will make sure to share your positive feedback with them. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Hotel JL no 76.

Kind regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Someone lived at 76 Jan Luijkenstraat once upon a time. Someone wealthy, I would assume. And then that one went away and many years later a great big house got turned into a nifty boutique hotel; and what a hotel.

JL No. 76 is not a fancy hotel in the traditional sense of the word. There is no doorman, there is no fancy lobby. If that's what you're looking for, you need to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a great location, and a excellent, well-designed, and handsomely appointed place to base yourself while in Amsterdam, you need to give this joint a look.

The rooms are very well set up, but not well, roomy. You wouldn't expect roomy in central Amsterdam. That said, they have everything and they even throw in a nice Nespresso machine and all the coffee capsules you can consume.

They also include very good WiFi, a great big plus. The beds are comfy, the desk is functional, the service is friendly and unstuffy, and the location (2 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum) cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Benja764,

Thank you for your great review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The location is indeed perfect for visiting Amsterdam and the museums. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our rooms with Nespresso machines & wifi that much. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards, Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.