We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and really friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Oundle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and really friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found everyone was really friendly. Perfectly located for culture and 20 walk for more city centre delights. They found out it was my birthday and gave me a card and a bottle of wine. Nice touch. Good clean rooms, comfy beds and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendliness. It is good to hear you appreciated the little birthday gift.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    106
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
170
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had an excellent experience with Hotel JL no 76. As we arrived early, we were offered a room at their sister hotel, Hotel Vondel. This would have been an upgrade from a standard to executive room, but after seeing the room at Hotel Vondel we felt that JL had more character (though Vondel seemed lovely too!)
On our first night we were upgraded to an executive family room, which was lovely. On our second night we were upgraded to an executive deluxe room on the top floor - this was superb. We had wonderful views across the city and a huge bed. The jacuzzi bath and bathside tv were an added bonus!
Great location, close to Vondelpark and the museums. Also very easy to get to from the airport by bus- it only took us 40 minutes.
It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and I can't wait to return. My only slight quibble would be the bedding and towels - I think something of better quality would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel JL No 76 as your preferred place to stay for this visit! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in the museum quarter of Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this. It is also very nice to hear that you appreciated the upgrade to the room with jacuzzi & tv in the bathroom. Regarding the towels: we are changing all our bathtowels this week for new & better ones, just to let you know we are busy with this! I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We researched hotels in Amsterdam for a couple of months before booking this and as a result feel very disappointed with the treatment we were given.

Although we booked 4 months in advance I definitely felt that we were given the only room they had left when we checked in at 11pm. When I questioned if it was a 'superior deluxe' room they assured me it was, and as they were full we couldn't upgrade anyway. However by the time we returned from a few drinks out they had found a slightly better room, moved our luggage and offered us a drink from the bar as a way of apology.
The second room was located on the ground floor, underneath the stairs, (and not overlooking the street as described) it was really noisy from people using the stairs, the jacuzzi bath didn't work, the room was not serviced, no fresh towels offered, and no bath robes supplied.
Given all this we persevered and found the staff very helpful with arranging tickets and providing various information during our stay. In my opinion this is a 3/4 star hotel at best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences, your feedback is of the outmost important for me and for the team of Hotel JL No 76. My sincere apologies your stay was not what is should have been.

We tried to give you a more spacious room as you requested at check-in, but indeed this was a souterrain room with less view. Of course I will contacted different departments to get to know exactly what happened with the towels & bathrobes, and most important, make sure this never happens again. Did you also asked for our help with the jacuzzi? We would have been more than happy to explain you how it works.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance to prove we can deliver the service that you may expect from us. Please let me know when you’re in Amsterdam again, I’ll make sure we will provide a nice room for you. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any service.

Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here with the family for a long weekend. The hotel is well located for the cultural side of amsterdam. We had the family room in the basement which includes a television and a dvd player in the main room. Another television in the children's bed area and another in the Jacuzzi bath(which both the children loved after all the sightseeing they did). mini bar etc. Very comfortable beds. Free wifi. Lovely courtyard garden for the guests.
The staff really made the stay at the hotel special. They helped us with numerous requests and were great with the children. The cab service they use is also very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We upgraded to the executive rooms from a standard room. I asked what the difference was and the hotel said that it was a much larger room. It was great. The hotel is a boutique hotel, ideal for couples. It is in an excellent location which is close to the museums, the canal boats, Vondel Park and one of the main streets (Leidseplein) where you can shop, watch the canals, go to the flower market and Spui, which has the bars and pubs. The hotel is also close to the main night clubs and bars, but is away from all the noise and hussle and bustle. The main trams are no 2 & 5 that go straight to Centraal station and Damrak which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. All the designer shops are around the corner to the hotel. The location is the equivalent mix to being near Hyde Park and Bond Street, London. Hotel JL 76 staff are very helpful and you will love the art work in reception.

Room Tip: Uogarde to Exec or Deluxe rooms. They all have a jacuzzi bath so that you can relax after a hard day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is nice. Good location very close to museums and Vondel Park. Nice Breakfast.
Rooms a bit small especially if you have a toddler sharing with you. We even upgraded to a bigger room but still too small.
Design not child friendly - very scary stairs, small lift and doors and cupboards in rooms open out on to each other so big potential for accidents. Sink not in bathroom - first time I been to hotel with that design and it is a little odd.
Very quiet area so restful nights.
Free Wifi and Tea and Coffee Facilities.
DVD player in room so can watch your own movies helpful when baby asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We wanted to be close to the big museums and we were--around the corner. Lovely boutique hotel, helpful staff. We should have asked for another room at check-in however--on view at all [basement]. When i mentioned something, there was only a nite left--too late. My bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.