We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but not the best for young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely but not the best for young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is nice. Good location very close to museums and Vondel Park. Nice Breakfast.
Rooms a bit small especially if you have a toddler sharing with you. We even upgraded to a bigger room but still too small.
Design not child friendly - very scary stairs, small lift and doors and cupboards in rooms open out on to each other so big potential for accidents. Sink not in bathroom - first time I been to hotel with that design and it is a little odd.
Very quiet area so restful nights.
Free Wifi and Tea and Coffee Facilities.
DVD player in room so can watch your own movies helpful when baby asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    173
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
47
296
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We wanted to be close to the big museums and we were--around the corner. Lovely boutique hotel, helpful staff. We should have asked for another room at check-in however--on view at all [basement]. When i mentioned something, there was only a nite left--too late. My bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Located in a very nice and quite area of Amsterdam.We arrived by tram from Amsterdam Centraal.Very nice reception and since it was early in the morning we left our luggage and started to tour the city with the city map supplied by the gentlemen at the reception.Reception area is very nice, good wi-fi and free tea/coffee at all times.Also self service bar there where you can have your drink and pay on check out.We didnt have our breakfast there but there are many nice bakery around the area.Room is comfortable,cleaned every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were offered a transfer from the Hotel Vondel which we'd originally booked as there weren't any non-street level rooms left at the Vondel when we checked in. This was great value as we had an upgrade to a queen sized room with a jacuzzi bath. The bed was really comfortable and the shower room lovely. The room on the 4th floor had his and hers sinks, plenty of space, free Internet access and lovely fluffy towels. Contemporary design but with a girder sticking outside for the hauling pulley hook typical of these buildings.
The reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful and gave us a tourist hand book of interesting places to eat, drink and visit.
We hired bikes from Reception which was really convenient. They were also happy to pre-book tickets to the Van Gogh or Rijks Museum at no extra cost. There is a laptop in reception where you can book and print your boarding cards before leaving.
There is an honesty bar in the Reception / dining area on the ground floor which is much cheaper than room prices and has more variety. Excellent range of teas and coffees, including herbal ones. Lovely breakfast with freshly prepared fruit, rolls and breads.

Room Tip: I think this hotel would always be quiet because of its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Was put in a basement room with no windows or view next to stairs and toilets.
Limited teabags had to request more. Overall a bad experience and would not go there again as it was meant to be a romantic break away

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel in the museum area of Amsterdam and very convenient for travelling around the city. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor, small but well equipped with a large window overlooking the small courtyard garden. As other reviewers have said, the bathroom arrangements are a little unusual with the washbasin in the room whilst the toilet is in the shower room. The shower door opens outwards making it rather cramped and difficult to use. No place to hang hand towels near washbasin is awkward. The bed was large and comfortable although we did not like the lumpy artificial pillows and duvet.
Cleanliness is excellent. Our room did not have room for any armchairs. The windows can be opened and heating is through air conditioners. There was no outside noise but residents above us could be clearly heard.
There is an espresso machine in the room, not always filled by housekeeping staff and fresh milk can be requested. We did not inspect the basement rooms but clearly some could not have had any natural light. At ground floor there was an honesty bar, a small lounge and an area for buffet breakfast and a small menu for other food during the day/evening. We did not feel breakfast was good value at 18 euros with poor Luke warm cooked food although there were yogurts, some fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats, pastries etc. Cafe at the Stadlijk Museum across the road we felt was much better value for breakfast, whereas cafe at the Rijk museum is very expensive. We liked the Bistro Kesyer and a lovely place called The Entrecôte and les Dames in a near by street for dinner. They only do steak or Dover sole but come by when you have finished to ask if you want another one! We also lovely the 3 small museums which were old canal side houses around the Herrengracht and the Prinsengracht. We also found the Amsterdam card excellent value for museums and travel. If you have time go to Haarlem. Lovely old town with excellent Fran's Hals museum and wonderful cafés.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were offered to transfer to Hotel JL from sister establishment Hotel Vondel, with an upgrade to an executive suite. They never said why but as it was only two roads down (they ordered a cab for us nonetheless) we decided to take them up on the offer.

The location is excellent for the Museum Quarter, just a few minutes from the main museums, as well as a stroll through the park too. It is quite far south, although Amsterdam is small enough that it you won’t take you more than 15 or 20 minutes to walk to Anne Frank’s House or Centraal. Perhaps the only downside in the location is that it’s slap bang in the middle of the designer shopping street. While this means you’re not in one of the less pleasant parts of Amsterdam, there is little in the way of bars or restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Expect a five minute walk northward to the Central Canal area for more options.

Staff members were friendly. I was fairly impressed by the room. It was not huge but very clean and had everything you could need. The bathroom was especially nice, down to the (albeit unnecessary) waterproof TV. The only negative was the walk-in shower; there was no barrier on the floor to stop the water trickling out or a fully closing door. That would not be a problem in a properly designed wet room you just end up flooding the bathroom.

There were a couple more quibbles. A Nespresso machine is all well and good but if you’re a bit outdated, like me, it is hard to understand how to use the pesky thing. I ended up fiddling with buttons trying to work it out. Other annoyance was that (after finally working out the machine) the coffee was not replenished the following day. We didn’t bother with breakfast (there was a decent bakery at the end of JL, heading south).

If you’re going to Amsterdam for the culture/museums, you can do worse than here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.