We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Save Saved
You added Hotel JL No76 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel in the museum area of Amsterdam and very convenient for travelling around the city. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor, small but well equipped with a large window overlooking the small courtyard garden. As other reviewers have said, the bathroom arrangements are a little unusual with the washbasin in the room whilst the toilet is in the shower room. The shower door opens outwards making it rather cramped and difficult to use. No place to hang hand towels near washbasin is awkward. The bed was large and comfortable although we did not like the lumpy artificial pillows and duvet.
Cleanliness is excellent. Our room did not have room for any armchairs. The windows can be opened and heating is through air conditioners. There was no outside noise but residents above us could be clearly heard.
There is an espresso machine in the room, not always filled by housekeeping staff and fresh milk can be requested. We did not inspect the basement rooms but clearly some could not have had any natural light. At ground floor there was an honesty bar, a small lounge and an area for buffet breakfast and a small menu for other food during the day/evening. We did not feel breakfast was good value at 18 euros with poor Luke warm cooked food although there were yogurts, some fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats, pastries etc. Cafe at the Stadlijk Museum across the road we felt was much better value for breakfast, whereas cafe at the Rijk museum is very expensive. We liked the Bistro Kesyer and a lovely place called The Entrecôte and les Dames in a near by street for dinner. They only do steak or Dover sole but come by when you have finished to ask if you want another one! We also lovely the 3 small museums which were old canal side houses around the Herrengracht and the Prinsengracht. We also found the Amsterdam card excellent value for museums and travel. If you have time go to Haarlem. Lovely old town with excellent Fran's Hals museum and wonderful cafés.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    112
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
180
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were offered to transfer to Hotel JL from sister establishment Hotel Vondel, with an upgrade to an executive suite. They never said why but as it was only two roads down (they ordered a cab for us nonetheless) we decided to take them up on the offer.

The location is excellent for the Museum Quarter, just a few minutes from the main museums, as well as a stroll through the park too. It is quite far south, although Amsterdam is small enough that it you won’t take you more than 15 or 20 minutes to walk to Anne Frank’s House or Centraal. Perhaps the only downside in the location is that it’s slap bang in the middle of the designer shopping street. While this means you’re not in one of the less pleasant parts of Amsterdam, there is little in the way of bars or restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Expect a five minute walk northward to the Central Canal area for more options.

Staff members were friendly. I was fairly impressed by the room. It was not huge but very clean and had everything you could need. The bathroom was especially nice, down to the (albeit unnecessary) waterproof TV. The only negative was the walk-in shower; there was no barrier on the floor to stop the water trickling out or a fully closing door. That would not be a problem in a properly designed wet room you just end up flooding the bathroom.

There were a couple more quibbles. A Nespresso machine is all well and good but if you’re a bit outdated, like me, it is hard to understand how to use the pesky thing. I ended up fiddling with buttons trying to work it out. Other annoyance was that (after finally working out the machine) the coffee was not replenished the following day. We didn’t bother with breakfast (there was a decent bakery at the end of JL, heading south).

If you’re going to Amsterdam for the culture/museums, you can do worse than here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned home after spending 4 nights at this hotel. We can't recommend it enough. The room was stylish and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is within a 5 min walk of 3 of the major museums. We would also recommend having dinner at the Keyzer restaurant next to the concert hall. The food was great and the service amazing. We will return to both hotel and restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and again a pleasant experience. The neighborhood is perfect, 5 minutes walk to three of the major museums in Amsterdam and with very easy access to public transport including bus no 197 to the airport. Very quiet too, the street in front of the hotel has very little traffic and the rooms facing the back are absolutely quiet.
The design of the hotel is interesting with the odd feature of having the sink inside the room, in the entrance hallway and the bathtub and toilet in the bathroom. We stayed only in executive and executive deluxe rooms which have very nice jacuzzi bathtubs and bathrooms TVs.
Good quality beds. Espresso and tea making facilities in room and free WiFi. You also have access to a computer and printer in the lobby, handy for printing boarding passes.
Breakfast has a quite limited choice but everything is fresh and you can order eggs and pancakes from the a la carte menu at no extra cost.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have the highest ceilings. Room 106 is a very nice executive room and 107 a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a hotel that is well located for all the museums and is still only a 15 min walk to the canals and Anne Frank House, The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are stylish, quiet, clean and well laid out. The lobby lounge is a comfortable, easy place to have a coffee etc. Faultless!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice and comfortable modern small hotel right in the centre of upscale part of Amsterdam. Very friendly staff and super clean cosy rooms. Beds were awesome (comfy and fluffy). Hotel is located on a very quiet street so you can sleep without earplugs. Parking in front is only possible when you're lucky but I recommend public transport. Easy to reach by both tram and bus (only 3min walk).
Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Leidseplein are within 10min walk. So plenty of options for dinner, entertainment and bars.
one down-point is that breakfast is extremely expensive (20 euro each). We walked to the bakery at the end of the street instead...
Overall great choice when you arrive by public transport and want to go for an all Amsterdam city experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a small and well run hotel with very stylish bedrooms and sleek bathrooms. We had the cheapest room which was comfortable and cosy on the cold winter nights. The reception staff are exceptionally helpful .... top marks to Thomas who recommended and booked tables in nearby restaurants. Do try the local Indonesian restaurant Sama Sebo and go for the 'rice table' or rijsstafel when a delicious array of dishes are presented. We did not have breakfast here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone’s throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JL No76, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.